Contribute
Register

[Solved] Can't update to High Sierra

Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
77
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello,

I've tried to update directly from Sierra to high Sierra, I followed the guide, https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/update-directly-to-macos-high-sierra.232707/

I've tried the APFS method and the HFS+ method, (I have one SSD for the system and one HD for data), without success.

All works good till I try to reach the installer, on: Boot macOS Install from Macintosh HD, after that I have infinite reboots of system without success, always looking the apple scrollbar get to the middle.

The clover version is: 4359

How can I solve this?
My config is attached,
Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    7 KB · Views: 214
Last edited:

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,966
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Not a Desktop Guide - Moved to Desktop Support.

Note : The MacPro5,1 system definition is inappropriate for your hardware configuration.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
77
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Note : The MacPro5,1 system definition is inappropriate for your hardware configuration.

How can edit it to have an appropriate system definition?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,966
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How can edit it to have an appropriate system definition?
There are many ways :
It can be done from the Clover boot loader screen.
Clover Configurator can generate new SMBIOS information.
MultiBeast can change the system definition.
You could edit the config.plist with a plist editor.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
77
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
There are many ways :
It can be done from the Clover boot loader screen.
Clover Configurator can generate new SMBIOS information.
MultiBeast can change the system definition.
You could edit the config.plist with a plist editor.

Thanks, I will done it with Clover Configurator, what system definition you recommend to my system?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,966
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks, I will done it with Clover Configurator, what system definition you recommend to my system?
The choice is yours.
You can use the free Mactracker app to find a Mac that matches your hardware as closely as possible or you can gather the same information at everymac.com.

Previously we used MacPro3,1 as the definition that worked for most people but since it no longer qualifies for OS upgrades we now recommend iMac14,2.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
77
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The choice is yours.
You can use the free Mactracker app to find a Mac that matches your hardware as closely as possible or you can gather the same information at everymac.com.

Previously we used MacPro3,1 as the definition that worked for most people but since it no longer qualifies for OS upgrades we now recommend iMac14,2.

Thanks P1LGRIM, I changed my system definition, now I have an iMac 14,2 running High Sierra without problems.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
77
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The choice is yours.
You can use the free Mactracker app to find a Mac that matches your hardware as closely as possible or you can gather the same information at everymac.com.

Previously we used MacPro3,1 as the definition that worked for most people but since it no longer qualifies for OS upgrades we now recommend iMac14,2.

Now I haved a small problem at time to install High Sierra, I've done it without convert my SSD to APFS, I can done it now? having already the High Sierra install?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,966
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Now I haved a small problem at time to install High Sierra, I've done it without convert my SSD to APFS, I can done it now? having already the High Sierra install?
You may if you wish.

Boot from the Recovery partition (you will need to have FakeSMC.kext in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other to do so).
Open Disk Utility, Select your boot volume, select Edit and Convert to APFS.
 
Top