Contribute
Register

[solved] Brightness is changing 3 times per on key click

Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
23
Motherboard
MSI Gp72
CPU
i7 5700HQ
Graphics
Hd 5600
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I managed to get the brightness on my laptop (MSI gp72 2qe Leopard Pro) and tried to enable the brightness keys with this Method.
My keys are handled via ACPI and the code for brightness up is _QB7(fn+up arrow) and for brightness down _QB8(fn+down arrow).

The keys are working but they are changing the brightness 3 times which you can see in the video in the attachments.

I applied this patch here:
Code:
into method label _QB7 replace_content
begin
// Brightness Down\n
    Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.PS2K, 0x0405)\n
end;
into method label _QB8 replace_content
begin
// Brightness Up\n
    Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.PS2K, 0x0406)\n
end;
How can I fix this?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
16,806
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I managed to get the brightness on my laptop (MSI gp72 2qe Leopard Pro) and tried to enable the brightness keys with this Method.
My keys are handled via ACPI and the code for brightness up is _QB7(fn+up arrow) and for brightness down _QB8(fn+down arrow).

The keys are working but they are changing the brightness the times which you can see in the video in the attachments.

I applied this patch here:
Code:
into method label _QB7 replace_content
begin
// Brightness Down\n
    Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.PS2K, 0x0405)\n
end;
into method label _QB8 replace_content
begin
// Brightness Up\n
    Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.PS2K, 0x0406)\n
end;
How can I fix this?
i have moved your post to laptop support
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
189,144
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I managed to get the brightness on my laptop (MSI gp72 2qe Leopard Pro) and tried to enable the brightness keys with this Method.
My keys are handled via ACPI and the code for brightness up is _QB7(fn+up arrow) and for brightness down _QB8(fn+down arrow).

The keys are working but they are changing the brightness the times which you can see in the video in the attachments.

I applied this patch here:
Code:
into method label _QB7 replace_content
begin
// Brightness Down\n
    Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.PS2K, 0x0405)\n
end;
into method label _QB8 replace_content
begin
// Brightness Up\n
    Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.PS2K, 0x0406)\n
end;
How can I fix this?
What do you mean by "brightness the times"?
What do you mean by "video in the attachments"? (there is no attached video).

In the future, please do not attach the entire EFI folder. Attach only EFI/Clover without themes, as per FAQ:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capita...faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.html
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
23
Motherboard
MSI Gp72
CPU
i7 5700HQ
Graphics
Hd 5600
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
189,144
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
MSI GP62MVR 6RF
CPU
i7 6700HQ
Graphics
GTX-1060
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
It's same with my MSI GP62MVR 6RF, the brightness change 3 times with one key click. Alternative solution is using F14/F15 button (scroll lock/pause break in my keyboard layout) to change the brightness.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
189,144
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I managed to get the brightness on my laptop (MSI gp72 2qe Leopard Pro) and tried to enable the brightness keys with this Method.
My keys are handled via ACPI and the code for brightness up is _QB7(fn+up arrow) and for brightness down _QB8(fn+down arrow).

The keys are working but they are changing the brightness 3 times which you can see in the video in the attachments.

I applied this patch here:
Code:
into method label _QB7 replace_content
begin
// Brightness Down\n
    Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.PS2K, 0x0405)\n
end;
into method label _QB8 replace_content
begin
// Brightness Up\n
    Notify(\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.PS2K, 0x0406)\n
end;
How can I fix this?
Your kextcache output proves kexts are not installed correctly.
All kexts you need must be installed to the system volume.
Read post #2 of the Clover guide for details:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/

It's same with my MSI GP62MVR 6RF, the brightness change 3 times with one key click. Alternative solution is using F14/F15 button (scroll lock/pause break in my keyboard layout) to change the brightness.
ACPI not patched correctly. No evidence of "OS Check Fix" patch.
See guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-patching-laptop-dsdt-ssdts.152573/
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
23
Motherboard
MSI Gp72
CPU
i7 5700HQ
Graphics
Hd 5600
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Your kextcache output proves kexts are not installed correctly.
All kexts you need must be installed to the system volume.
Read post #2 of the Clover guide for details:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/



ACPI not patched correctly. No evidence of "OS Check Fix" patch.
See guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-patching-laptop-dsdt-ssdts.152573/
I have moved the kexts and added the OS Check Fix(Win 10).
Which Windows Version should I use for the OS Check Fix?
Or should I use all versions which were available (Linux,Windows)?
 
Last edited:
Top