Contribute
Register

[solved] Boot Glitch and Screen Flickering with the HD4600 Mobile

Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Laptop: Asus GL551JW (Clover)
CPU
I7 4720HQ (2.6GHz, max 3.6GHz)
Graphics
Nvidia 960M/Intel HD4600, 1920x1080
Here is my complete CLOVER folder. Everything should work except WiFi and probably HDMI audio because I didn't bother with that. If you get a scrambled screen upon startup you will have to put it to sleep and wake it up. After you wake it up screen should be fine.
Thanks!

Already got Wi-Fi going - had to swap the card though.

Do you regularly get the scrambled screen or just on and off? Try CSM as @RehabMan suggested. Hopefully it won't cause flickering. Else you can try setting Clover to 1024x768, which seems to fix it.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Laptop: Asus GL551JW (Clover)
CPU
I7 4720HQ (2.6GHz, max 3.6GHz)
Graphics
Nvidia 960M/Intel HD4600, 1920x1080
Hiya again.

Finally managed to get it all working, albeit one manageable bug.

First off, I've attached the Clover folder, Patchmatic folder, and the output of the various commands (in the text file). DSDT/SSDTs are entirely hotpatched, the source for which is in the src directory under ACPI.

My issue is surrounding brightness control. For some reason about halfway to full, there is a patch where brightness is at maximum, for no apparent reason. I'm not sure if this is due to my misconfiguration or not, but if you could take a look, that would be great.

On a sidenote, regarding the boot glitch, I think it is solely based on resolution, as CSM also changes that, and seems to solve it too. I'm just wondering if there's any idea as to a more aesthetic fix, rather than having the Clover UI and following loading screen stretched out?
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    2.2 MB · Views: 87
  • commands.txt
    7.1 KB · Views: 116
  • RehabMan.zip
    50.8 KB · Views: 41
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,149
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hiya again.

Finally managed to get it all working, albeit one manageable bug.

First off, I've attached the Clover folder, Patchmatic folder, and the output of the various commands (in the text file). DSDT/SSDTs are entirely hotpatched, the source for which is in the src directory under ACPI.

My issue is surrounding brightness control. For some reason about halfway to full, there is a patch where brightness is at maximum, for no apparent reason. I'm not sure if this is due to my misconfiguration or not, but if you could take a look, that would be great.

On a sidenote, regarding the boot glitch, I think it is solely based on resolution, as CSM also changes that, and seems to solve it too. I'm just wondering if there's any idea as to a more aesthetic fix, rather than having the Clover UI and following loading screen stretched out?

"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Laptop: Asus GL551JW (Clover)
CPU
I7 4720HQ (2.6GHz, max 3.6GHz)
Graphics
Nvidia 960M/Intel HD4600, 1920x1080

Attachments

  • laptop.ioreg
    6.2 MB · Views: 81

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,149
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hiya again.

Finally managed to get it all working, albeit one manageable bug.

First off, I've attached the Clover folder, Patchmatic folder, and the output of the various commands (in the text file). DSDT/SSDTs are entirely hotpatched, the source for which is in the src directory under ACPI.

My issue is surrounding brightness control. For some reason about halfway to full, there is a patch where brightness is at maximum, for no apparent reason. I'm not sure if this is due to my misconfiguration or not, but if you could take a look, that would be great.

On a sidenote, regarding the boot glitch, I think it is solely based on resolution, as CSM also changes that, and seems to solve it too. I'm just wondering if there's any idea as to a more aesthetic fix, rather than having the Clover UI and following loading screen stretched out?
Woops sorry, here's the ioreg.

Fixed in AppleBacklightInjector.kext (there were a couple of levels not scaled up correctly).
Checked into probook github.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Laptop: Asus GL551JW (Clover)
CPU
I7 4720HQ (2.6GHz, max 3.6GHz)
Graphics
Nvidia 960M/Intel HD4600, 1920x1080
Fixed in AppleBacklightInjector.kext (there were a couple of levels not scaled up correctly).
Checked into probook github.
Sweet that's fixed it!
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2017
Messages
3
Motherboard
HM86
CPU
Intel Core i7 4720HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 + nVidia GTX860M, Full HD 1920x1080
I have the VN7-791G and having exact the same problem with garbled screen at boot since High Sierra which gets normal when i press sleep and wake the laptop directly. With Sierra and older it was working fine.

You can fix it if you set clover screen resolution to 1024x768

Can you provide me with steps to get it working with Intel HD4600. I have been trial and error-ing for hours trying to get mine to work and I always end up at weird display glitches. I've reached the Install screen but it's glitchy. My laptop brand is same as yours with the same processor and intel graphics only I'm running the nvidia 860M. Help me out thanks! :D
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Laptop: Asus GL551JW (Clover)
CPU
I7 4720HQ (2.6GHz, max 3.6GHz)
Graphics
Nvidia 960M/Intel HD4600, 1920x1080
Can you provide me with steps to get it working with Intel HD4600. I have been trial and error-ing for hours trying to get mine to work and I always end up at weird display glitches. I've reached the Install screen but it's glitchy. My laptop brand is same as yours with the same processor and intel graphics only I'm running the nvidia 860M. Help me out thanks! :D
Your laptop sounds very similar to mine (same CPU and Intel graphics). I'll post a guide tomorrow on how I managed to get it all working.
 
Top