Contribute
Register

[SOLVED] Black screen with Dual Monitor connected

Joined
Feb 17, 2014
Messages
17
Motherboard
GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 6500
Graphics
Intel HD 530, GeForce® GTX 1050 Ti G1 Gaming 4G
After a few hours of hacking the config here's what worked for me:

Graphics card: GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1050 Ti Windforce OC 4GB
Driver: 387.10.10.10.30.103 macOS 10.13.4 High Sierra (17E199)
OS: High Sierra 10.13.4 (17E199)

Code:
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BootDisplay</key>
        <integer>2</integer>
        <key>DualLink</key>
        <integer>1</integer>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <false/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>NvidiaGeneric</key>
        <false/>
        <key>NvidiaSingle</key>
        <false/>
        <key>VRAM</key>
        <integer>4095</integer>
        <key>VideoPorts</key>
        <integer>2</integer>
    </dict>
I use 2 monitors, one monitor plugged into 1st HDMI port and second into the DP port. The graphics card had 3 HDMI ports but only the first one works.

If you think it's because I've set VideoPorts to 2, is not, I've set it to various numbers and only the above combination seems to work.
@navaru, Thanks, you saved my life. My Dual monitor setup is now working fine now.

I am using
Graphics Card: GeForce® GTX 1050 Ti G1 Gaming 4G
Driver version: 387.10.10.10.30.106
OS: 10.13.4 (17E199)
Monitors are plugged in: 1st HDMI and DP Port
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
3
Motherboard
Q77
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
NVIDIA 1050 TI
Are you using
key>NvidiaWeb</key>
<true/>
?
thank you
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 3, 2017
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX970
After I had to restore my system from backup I also have the problem that both screens go black after booting. Before everything was fine. I'm on Sierra and run gtx 970. I tried everything I found on the net but nothing works. Its really annoying to pull the plug of my dp monitor before booting and than stick it back in. That sucks. I tried every smbios, lilu and NvidiaGraphicsFixup, pike alpha, nothing works............
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2016
Messages
97
Motherboard
z170i
CPU
6700K
Graphics
Radeon 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've got a similar issue. Booting with a monitor plugged into the DVI and 1st DisplayPort of my 980Ti yields a two black screens on startup. The interesting thing is that if I cold boot immediately, the machine will boot with the main screen set as the DVI screen. I tried playing with the Graphics settings in the config.plst, but nothing seems to work. Thoughts? Thank you.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2017
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX970
Startup with both monitors connected is working now for me. What solved the issue for me was to turn on CSM Support in my BIOS. Read that in another thread luckily. Some people there said they refuse to do that because it prolongs boot time. I can't make out any difference. Even if that was true I would prefer that against pulling the cable out every time. To be honest I was even thinking about installing Windows if I could not solve this issue.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2016
Messages
97
Motherboard
z170i
CPU
6700K
Graphics
Radeon 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Startup with both monitors connected is working now for me. What solved the issue for me was to turn on CSM Support in my BIOS. Read that in another thread luckily. Some people there said they refuse to do that because it prolongs boot time. I can't make out any difference. Even if that was true I would prefer that against pulling the cable out every time. To be honest I was even thinking about installing Windows if I could not solve this issue.
That did it. POST times are slower, but thats fine by me. Any way to choose which monitor is chosen as the primary?
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2017
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX970
That did it. POST times are slower, but thats fine by me. Any way to choose which monitor is chosen as the primary?
not for startup but in OSX of course its possible in the display settings
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
1
Motherboard
gigabyte Z 390
CPU
I9
Graphics
gigabyte geforce gtx 1650
Mac
MacBook Air
Good news! My Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4095 MB works perfectly with dual monitor at boot!
I had to set my config.plist in this way to enable both monitor :

</dict>
<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
<key>BootDisplay</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>DualLink</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Inject</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<false/>
<key>Intel</key>
<false/>
<key>NVidia</key>
<true/>
</dict>
<key>NvidiaSingle</key>
<false/>
<key>VRAM</key>
<integer>4095</integer>
<key>VideoPorts</key>
<integer>3</integer>
</dict>

Initially did not work because I leave Inject/Nvidia/False.
Strangely I had to set Inject/Nvidia/True I don't know why! :confused: Now my hackintosh works so good!
Thanks to MacPack and Asgalor for the support without you I would not have been succesful.
Hi every boby!
do I insert this text in existing config.plist with plistedit pro?
Or do i creat a new one with plisteditpro?
Thanks in advance...
 

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,526
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 970
@sagasamy, please update your profile (personal details) with your Motherboard, CPU and iGPU or Graphics Card.
If you have a prebuilt computer enter make and model instead of motherboard (Mobo).
The Rules said:
Profiles are mandatory so that others can assist you.
 
Top