[Solved] audio via DP on Asus z97-a + GTX980

Discussion in 'HDMI Audio' started by asheenlevrai, Oct 31, 2017.

  1. asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 6, 2017 at 4:15 PM #11
    asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Doing this and then installing Soundflower + Soundflowerbed solved my problem (I added SoundflowerBed into the login items list in account settings).

    Thank you VERY MUCH toleda! Your talent and your work is greatly appreciated!

    Best,
    -a-

    EDIT: Actually Soundflower + SoundflowerBed don't seem to work very reliably. Sometimes audio stops working and a reboot is required to get it back. Occasionally, only selecting a different output in SFB and then back to DP works...

    I am currently looking for a better free alternative to SF + SFB... Don't know if there is one. Any suggestion is greatly welcome :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2017
  2. hahala

    hahala

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Mobo:
    ASUS B250M Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7500 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro P600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Nov 8, 2017 at 2:49 PM #12
    hahala

    hahala

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Mobo:
    ASUS B250M Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7500 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro P600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Hi asheenlevraiand toleda , I am exactly coming across the same problem as you. I have an asus b250m mainboard and a NVIDIA Quadro P600 video card(with 4 minidp ) working on 10.12.6 . I want my 4k display make a sound with its built-in speaker.
    I looked into the post where you have a try,without luck ,I failed.
    Here what I did:

    1.Mount EFI
    2.Download "audio_cloverHDMI-130_v0.6.command"
    3.Double click
    4.Type "y"...
    5.Generate SSDT-HDMI-NVIDIA-PEG0.aml
    6.reboot

    em,nothing changes.Did I missed something?

    Thank you so much in advance for your help.


    With necessary files attached .....
     

    Attached Files:

  3. asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 8, 2017 at 4:12 PM #13
    asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Did you check in the audio settings to see if there is now a DP output option available?

    Good luck
    -a-
     
  4. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    22,091
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 8, 2017 at 4:38 PM #14
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    22,091
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Do not hijack another user's thread. Different problem; same motherboard rarely means same solution.
    Ran cloverHDMI after you made IOReg, boot log, etc.; useless
    Post to HDMI Audio AppleHDA with all new files
     
  5. hahala

    hahala

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Mobo:
    ASUS B250M Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7500 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro P600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Nov 8, 2017 at 11:37 PM #15
    hahala

    hahala

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Mobo:
    ASUS B250M Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7500 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro P600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Big thanks for ur reply . I will work on it until it works:)
     
  6. hahala

    hahala

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Mobo:
    ASUS B250M Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7500 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro P600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Nov 8, 2017 at 11:49 PM #16
    hahala

    hahala

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Mobo:
    ASUS B250M Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7500 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro P600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Ok I get it. I upload new files here#94. Plz check.
    Thanks..
     
  7. asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 14, 2017 at 10:22 PM #17
    asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    As personal "bookmarks" (for future reference) I post these free solutions here:
    1)
    Demo version is free forever and apparently does the job

    2) (controls via app or keyboard shortcuts, not via dedicated apple keyboard keys: F10-F12)
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/a-small-utility-to-adjust-hdmi-and-displayport-volume.229156/
    fork1 (Bluejamesbond) : https://github.com/bluejamesbond/MonitorControl.OSX
    fork2 (Tyilo) : https://github.com/Tyilo/MonitorControl.OSX
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017
  8. asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 15, 2017 at 1:47 PM #18
    asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Turns out to be super buggy in my case. Worse than SoundFlower :(
     
  9. tarvi48

    tarvi48

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170-A
    CPU:
    i5 Skylake
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 16, 2017 at 12:50 PM #19
    tarvi48

    tarvi48

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170-A
    CPU:
    i5 Skylake
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi!

    I'm using this software: https://staticz.com/soundcontrol/. It cost's about 10euros.
    Works perfectly, controls my DP and HDMI sound.
     
  10. asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 17, 2017 at 9:11 AM #20
    asheenlevrai

    asheenlevrai

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Mobo:
    Asus Z370-A
    CPU:
    Intel i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GTX1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Thanks :)

    I installed the trial version already. It seems to work a bit better than SoundFlower but there are also hiccups with audio. Maybe like every 30-60 seconds the sound stops for a few seconds...

    These audio problems persist even when SoundControl is off. I need to uninstall it in order to get proper DP audio back. The same was true with AudioSiphon. I guess some of the kexts that are installed by these apps mess up with my hackintosh or with the HDMI/DP audio patch from Toleda...

    However, I can unfortunately not justify to spend any money for such software since my superiors don't care about audio on our computers. Especially if the solution is not perfect...

    But thank you very much for your input. I appreciate it.

    Best,
    -a-
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2017

Share This Page