Contribute
Register

[SOLVED] ASRock Thunderbolt 3 AIC only working after restart from BIOS

Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi everyone,

I'm currently building a hackintosh with the Asus Prime Z370 A and ASRock's Thunderbolt 3 AIC.

BIOS version 1002
OSX Sierra 10.13.5
Clover version 4458 (Latest version gets stuck at the plus signs every time)

The card works perfectly on Windows, on Mac it behaves very weirdly:


- Thunderbolt devices will be recognized on OSX if the system was previously booted in Windows

- OSX won't boot if it gets "cold booted", it will just get stuck at "Couldn't allocate runtime area"

- OSX WILL BOOT WITH WORKING THUNDERBOLT every time if I get into BIOS, hit "save changes and reset" (Even with no changes)

- OSX WILL BOOT WITH WORKING THUNDERBOLT if I boot from USB Installer Bootloader


I will keep updating you as I experiment and try to get this working properly, If anyone has suggestions they would be really appreciated!

UPDATE 13/07/2018:

The problem seems to be the memory below 4GB is too fragmented to allocate the memory needed.

I tried all versions of AptioFix to no avail, also tried with LowMemFix, Fix2Drv-Free2000.efi and Test2.efi

These are the outputs from various combinations:

  • LOWMEMFIX + CLEAR CMOS: Failed to allocate 0x11eca pages at 0x##### - NEVER BOOTS

  • FREE2000.EFI + CLEAR CMOS: Failed to allocate 0x11ecb pages at 0x##### / BOOTS MOST OFTEN

  • TEST2.EFI + APTIOFIX1 + CLEAR CMOS: MEMORY EXCEEDS OUR ALLOCATED RELOCATION BLOCK (even if the size of the reallocation block seems like it should be large enough)

  • TEST2.EFI + APTIOFIX2 + CLEAR CMOS: SOMETIMES BOOTS

  • TEST2.EFI + APTIOFIX3 + CLEAR CMOS: REBOOTS TO CLOVER / ERROR ALLOCATING 0x11ece AT 0x#####

  • TEST2.EFI + CLEAR CMOS: REBOOTS TO CLOVER / ERROR ALLOCATING 0x11ece AT 0x####
Every time the OS boots the Thunderbolt card works perfectly. Is there any way to override the 4GB limit?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
UPDATE
 
Last edited:

ONS

Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 - A
CPU
Intel Core i3 8100
Graphics
MSI Radeon RX560
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi did you try changing the drivers from OsxAptioFix2Drv-64 to OsxAptioFixDrv-64 ?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi did you try changing the drivers from OsxAptioFix2Drv-64 to OsxAptioFixDrv-64 ?
In the end I solved it with AptioMemoryFix!
 

ONS

Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 - A
CPU
Intel Core i3 8100
Graphics
MSI Radeon RX560
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Cool, yeah that seems to be a common problem with that card but with a easy fix, mine is working perfectly too, the only thing left for me to fix is imessage.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
111
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix x99 Gaming
CPU
Xeon E5-2696v3 OEM
Graphics
MSI RX480 (on RX580 bios)
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I need help, did you get the card working??
Mine is working fine in Windows but i can get it to work on macOS 10.13.6
I tried several things that i fond here on tonymac but for a reason i can only get it to work with usb tools... or maybe it is a Antelope Audio thing...
The other Thunderbolt device that i own is my macbook pro 2011 and can not add this as a thunderbolt harddisk too...
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
ASRock Taichi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580 Nitro+
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I need help, did you get the card working??
Mine is working fine in Windows but i can get it to work on macOS 10.13.6
I tried several things that i fond here on tonymac but for a reason i can only get it to work with usb tools... or maybe it is a Antelope Audio thing...
The other Thunderbolt device that i own is my macbook pro 2011 and can not add this as a thunderbolt harddisk too...
Hey ajschot I have a similar ASrRock build to yours.I have managed to get everything working with AsRock AIC Thunderbolt 3 card but I need to boot into Windows first then restart into OSX 10.13.6 without powering down.Perhaps my bios settings & Clover.plist will help you if you haven't solved your issue as yet.Im running TB3- Universal Audio Apollo / OWC Helios with UAD 2 Card / OWC Thunderbay 4 /Apogee Symphony Via Thunderbridge with no issues.So happy with this build and the performance is incredible.Just need to solve this Windows then OS X boot issue.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
226
Motherboard
Asrock Z370 Taichi
CPU
8700K
Graphics
AMD Fury X/Intel UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have an Asrock Taichi Z370. The Thunderbolt card has to be installed in PCIE slot 5. I boot with OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi
I have the top of usable lower Dram set to 1gb in the bios. My Thunderbolt card seems to work normally. The Thunderbolt Display camera, Ethernet, and Firewire all work via the thunderbolt connection. I don't have an external thunderbolt device to test.
 
Top