Contribute
Register

[Solved] Anyone shed some light on these APFS errors on boot up?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 22, 2016
Messages
284
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH (F22g)
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Ever since I first installed the official release of High Sierra and subsequently the supplemental update I get these messages prior to booting Clover. The system boots fine so these warnings can't be very serious. I was wondering if there was anyway to resolve them? It wasn't easy capturing it on the iPhone. Thanks for any help with this matter. Running Disk Util seems to have no effect on resolving the matter. It looks however to be a container issue and disk util doesn't run on a container. Any ideas? I tried reformatting the SSD and doing the supplemental install from a USB drive but it makes no difference. My SSD is a OCZ-TRION150. Is anyone else with the same motherboard (Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH) and using APFS seeing a similar symptom?

IMG_2011.JPG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2016
Messages
284
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH (F22g)
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
HD 530
IMG_2057.JPG


Update:
Last night I created a new USB High Sierra Sup Update drive via Unibeast 8.0. I also reverted back to 10.12.5. If I boot
the USB and press escape at the Clover boot screen I get a small window that opens on the left upper side of the screen that scrolls some container info and then closes. Each time I hit the escape screen that windows opens, spits out some container info and closes. I suspect there is an incompatibly here. Any ideas?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2016
Messages
60
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z170-D3H-F22f
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Its just the apfs.efi loading up. No need to worry.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2016
Messages
284
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH (F22g)
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Granted, but unforunately that doesn't resolve the matter. There are ways to turn off verbose mode and here is one of them (thanks to another board and one of its members for pointing me to it). :) Attached is an apfs.efi with verbose mode turned off. Note, use at your own risk but it fixed the issue here. BTW, I'm running the Supplemental Update here. Hopefully, Clover will add an option in an upcoming version to address this issue. :)
 

Attachments

  • apfs.efi
    547.8 KB · Views: 216
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
MSI Radeon RX 5700XT Evoke + UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
There is an easy way to get rid of the verbose outputs with every revision of apfs.efi.

sudo perl -i -pe 's|\x00\x74\x07\xb8\xff\xff|\x00\x90\x90\xb8\xff\xff|sg' /path/to/your/APFS.efi
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2016
Messages
284
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH (F22g)
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
HD 530
That assumes the code placement isn't going to change with each release which unfortunately I don't think will be the case. Thanks, I've been aware of this patch and technique and have used it already here. It was originally intended for 10.13.1 and luckily still works with 10.13.2. :)
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,320
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Path to APFS.efi in clover or S/L/E?
Under no circumstances should you install apfs.efi to /S/L/E.
The correct location is /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
78
Motherboard
Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
I5-2500K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Under no circumstances should you install apfs.efi to /S/L/E.
The correct location is /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI.
Correct. I just am not sure which apfs.efi to patch. I assume it is the one installed for clover since these errors show up on boot and not the one installed by macos in S/L/E.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,320
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Correct. I just am not sure which apfs.efi to patch. I assume it is the one installed for clover since these errors show up on boot and not the one installed by macos in S/L/E.
macOS does not install apfs.efi to /S/L/E.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top