Small issues with Clover that I'd like help with fixing

Discussion in 'Yosemite Laptop Support' started by Sans-Serif, May 8, 2016.

  1. Sans-Serif

    Sans-Serif

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    May 8, 2016 at 3:18 AM #1
    Sans-Serif

    Sans-Serif

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Laptop: Toshiba Satellite S40-B

    So, I'm currently trying to switch to Clover. I'm having two issues at the moment:

    ACPIBatteryManager not loading/working properly: In Chameleon, the kext loads properly and battery status works perfectly. But when trying to load in Clover, with the kext in both S/L/E and the Clover 10.10 kexts folder, battery status doesn't work at all.

    Slight graphical glitch on stage 2 of booting (when the progress bar quickly accelerates): This happens with Chameleon as well. When I try to patch the IOGraphicsFamily kext (a supposed fix) directly, then fix permissions, it breaks or fails to load properly, and OS X won't boot. If I try patch it through Clover's kext patching, it doesn't do anything and still glitches. This image illustrates the problem pretty well.

    Specs:
    i5 4200u (Haswell)
    HD 4400 iGPU
    4GB RAM

    I've patched my DSDT for iGPU and battery status. What's confusing me is that the battery status works perfectly fine in Chameleon, but not Clover.

    If I could get help with this, that'd be really great. Thanks!
     
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,339
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 8, 2016 at 6:17 AM #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,339
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    See guide, post #1, "Problem Reporting".

    http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-how-to-patch-dsdt-for-working-battery-status.175790/
     
  3. Sans-Serif

    Sans-Serif

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    May 8, 2016 at 7:23 AM #3
    Sans-Serif

    Sans-Serif

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 8, 2016
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,339
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 8, 2016 at 2:44 PM #4
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,339
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    kextcache shows ACPIBatteryManager.kext not installed. It also shows a patched AppleACPIPlatform.kext installed. Install ACPIBatteryManager.kext to the system volume, restore AppleACPIPlatform.kext to vanilla (run the OS X installer).

    Your DSDT is not patched for battery status. Refer to the guide already linked.
     
  5. Sans-Serif

    Sans-Serif

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    May 9, 2016 at 5:37 AM #5
    Sans-Serif

    Sans-Serif

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Err... ACPIBatteryManager is definitely installed. It works perfectly fine on Chameleon. It's even in my Clover force-load settings.
    Resorting a vanilla ACPIPlatform kext also didn't help.
    From what I had gone through in the guide, it didn't seem like my DSDT needed patching. The values were already 8-bit, from what I could tell. And Chameleon worked anyway.
     
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,339
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 9, 2016 at 2:37 PM #6
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,339
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    All kexts should be installed to the system volume. Clover injection is only for the installer and recovery partion.

    There are multibyte EC fields in your DSDT.
     
  7. Sans-Serif

    Sans-Serif

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    May 10, 2016 at 6:18 AM #7
    Sans-Serif

    Sans-Serif

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    No, I mean that it's installed to S/L/E, as I said, and set to force load.

    EDIT: I had a look through my DSDT again. The EmbeddedControl region ECOR is used only once on the next line, and the identifiers are:

    CDTD, 8
    HKEN, 1

    These are not accessed anywhere after. However, below that Operation Region there is another named SystemMemory, ECW1. A number of the values in the next line field are >8.

    Do I need to patch these SystemMemory regions? There are 119 in total.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2016
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,339
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 10, 2016 at 2:14 PM #8
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,339
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You must also install FakeSMC to the system volume to avoid having duplicate kexts being injected.

    That's what I mean by "all kexts"...

    Only multibyte EC fields need patching. Other OperationRegion types do not need patching.
     
  9. Sans-Serif

    Sans-Serif

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    May 11, 2016 at 8:23 AM #9
    Sans-Serif

    Sans-Serif

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    There are no kexts in the Clover folder, they are all in the S/L/E folder. And as I said before, I don't see a *single* EC field that is >8.
     
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,339
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 11, 2016 at 2:21 PM #10
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,339
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice