Contribute
Register

Small issues with Clover that I'd like help with fixing

Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
9
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite S40-B

So, I'm currently trying to switch to Clover. I'm having two issues at the moment:

ACPIBatteryManager not loading/working properly: In Chameleon, the kext loads properly and battery status works perfectly. But when trying to load in Clover, with the kext in both S/L/E and the Clover 10.10 kexts folder, battery status doesn't work at all.

Slight graphical glitch on stage 2 of booting (when the progress bar quickly accelerates): This happens with Chameleon as well. When I try to patch the IOGraphicsFamily kext (a supposed fix) directly, then fix permissions, it breaks or fails to load properly, and OS X won't boot. If I try patch it through Clover's kext patching, it doesn't do anything and still glitches. This image illustrates the problem pretty well.

Specs:
i5 4200u (Haswell)
HD 4400 iGPU
4GB RAM

I've patched my DSDT for iGPU and battery status. What's confusing me is that the battery status works perfectly fine in Chameleon, but not Clover.

If I could get help with this, that'd be really great. Thanks!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,719
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite S40-B

So, I'm currently trying to switch to Clover. I'm having two issues at the moment:

ACPIBatteryManager not loading/working properly: In Chameleon, the kext loads properly and battery status works perfectly. But when trying to load in Clover, with the kext in both S/L/E and the Clover 10.10 kexts folder, battery status doesn't work at all.

Slight graphical glitch on stage 2 of booting (when the progress bar quickly accelerates): This happens with Chameleon as well. When I try to patch the IOGraphicsFamily kext (a supposed fix) directly, then fix permissions, it breaks or fails to load properly, and OS X won't boot. If I try patch it through Clover's kext patching, it doesn't do anything and still glitches. This image illustrates the problem pretty well.

Specs:
i5 4200u (Haswell)
HD 4400 iGPU
4GB RAM

I've patched my DSDT for iGPU and battery status. What's confusing me is that the battery status works perfectly fine in Chameleon, but not Clover.

If I could get help with this, that'd be really great. Thanks!
See guide, post #1, "Problem Reporting".

http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-how-to-patch-dsdt-for-working-battery-status.175790/
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,719
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Done! ^-^

EDIT: Forgot to attach the Clover EFI folder, sorry.
kextcache shows ACPIBatteryManager.kext not installed. It also shows a patched AppleACPIPlatform.kext installed. Install ACPIBatteryManager.kext to the system volume, restore AppleACPIPlatform.kext to vanilla (run the OS X installer).

Your DSDT is not patched for battery status. Refer to the guide already linked.
 
Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
9
kextcache shows ACPIBatteryManager.kext not installed. It also shows a patched AppleACPIPlatform.kext installed. Install ACPIBatteryManager.kext to the system volume, restore AppleACPIPlatform.kext to vanilla (run the OS X installer).

Your DSDT is not patched for battery status. Refer to the guide already linked.
Err... ACPIBatteryManager is definitely installed. It works perfectly fine on Chameleon. It's even in my Clover force-load settings.
Resorting a vanilla ACPIPlatform kext also didn't help.
From what I had gone through in the guide, it didn't seem like my DSDT needed patching. The values were already 8-bit, from what I could tell. And Chameleon worked anyway.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,719
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Err... ACPIBatteryManager is definitely installed. It works perfectly fine on Chameleon. It's even in my Clover force-load settings.
All kexts should be installed to the system volume. Clover injection is only for the installer and recovery partion.

From what I had gone through in the guide, it didn't seem like my DSDT needed patching. The values were already 8-bit, from what I could tell. And Chameleon worked anyway.
There are multibyte EC fields in your DSDT.
 
Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
9
All kexts should be installed to the system volume. Clover injection is only for the installer and recovery partion.



There are multibyte EC fields in your DSDT.
No, I mean that it's installed to S/L/E, as I said, and set to force load.

EDIT: I had a look through my DSDT again. The EmbeddedControl region ECOR is used only once on the next line, and the identifiers are:

CDTD, 8
HKEN, 1

These are not accessed anywhere after. However, below that Operation Region there is another named SystemMemory, ECW1. A number of the values in the next line field are >8.

Do I need to patch these SystemMemory regions? There are 119 in total.
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,719
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
No, I mean that it's installed to S/L/E, as I said, and set to force load.
You must also install FakeSMC to the system volume to avoid having duplicate kexts being injected.

That's what I mean by "all kexts"...

EDIT: I had a look through my DSDT again. The EmbeddedControl region ECOR is used only once on the next line, and the identifiers are:

CDTD, 8
HKEN, 1

These are not accessed anywhere after. However, below that Operation Region there is another named SystemMemory, ECW1. A number of the values in the next line field are >8.

Do I need to patch these SystemMemory regions? There are 119 in total.
Only multibyte EC fields need patching. Other OperationRegion types do not need patching.
 
Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
9
You must also install FakeSMC to the system volume to avoid having duplicate kexts being injected.

That's what I mean by "all kexts"...



Only multibyte EC fields need patching. Other OperationRegion types do not need patching.
There are no kexts in the Clover folder, they are all in the S/L/E folder. And as I said before, I don't see a *single* EC field that is >8.
 
Top