Contribute
Register

Compatible Operating System?

  • MAC OS Yosemite or el Capitan

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Windows 10

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other Operating System

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0
Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Multimedia - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770k
Graphics
(2) 660 ti 02G-P4-3664-KR
Mac
  1. MacBook
I'm looking at building a desktop with the following parts.
Not all parts are listed or currently available in Buyer's Guide, or available to purchase as new.

MOBO: GA-B75M-D3H
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4315#ov

RAM: Crucial CT16G3ERSLD4160B, 16 gb
http://www.provantage.com/crucial-technology-ct16g3ersld4160b~7CIAL6UM.htm

Processor: i7-3770K
http://ark.intel.com/products/65523/Intel-Core-i7-3770K-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_90-GHz

Cooler: Corsair 110i gt liquid cooler
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...gclid=CIDc9Kvl_MwCFQ9Zhgod7aAKvA&gclsrc=aw.ds

SSD: Sandisk 250 gb

I have not picked a video card or case as of yet.
But as the specifications of the parts provided via the links.

Could this part list setup work?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,475
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm looking at building a desktop with the following parts.
Not all parts are listed or currently available in Buyer's Guide, or available to purchase as new.

MOBO: GA-B75M-D3H
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4315#ov

RAM: Crucial CT16G3ERSLD4160B, 16 gb
http://www.provantage.com/crucial-technology-ct16g3ersld4160b~7CIAL6UM.htm

Processor: i7-3770K
http://ark.intel.com/products/65523/Intel-Core-i7-3770K-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_90-GHz

Cooler: Corsair 110i gt liquid cooler
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835181088&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-PC&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-PC-_-pla-_-Liquid+/+Water+Cooling-_-N82E16835181088&gclid=CIDc9Kvl_MwCFQ9Zhgod7aAKvA&gclsrc=aw.ds

SSD: Sandisk 250 gb

I have not picked a video card or case as of yet.
But as the specifications of the parts provided via the links.

Could this part list setup work?
Yes, it should work. Have you tried the forum search?
Success: GA-B75M-D3H + 3770K is search box gets http://tonymacx86.com/search/199179/?q=Success:+GA-B75M-D3H+++3770K&o=date
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Multimedia - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770k
Graphics
(2) 660 ti 02G-P4-3664-KR
Mac
  1. MacBook
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,366
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
I am most concerned about the style of ram I found. if four 16 gb ddr3 sdram are installed will it be compatible with Mac OS?

The Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H board supports a maximum of 8GB RAM per slot (total 32GB)
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4139#sp

Supported RAM is listed by Gigabyte, you can access the list from this page:
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4139#

You can find out from different RAM manufacturers, exactly what RAM modules they recommend for your board:
http://uk.crucial.com/gbr/en/compatible-upgrade-for/Giga-Byte/ga-b75m-d3h

Ivy Bridge RAM modules differ in specification to SandyBridge and Haswell. There are some modules that may be interchangeable and will work, but there are many that will cause probems or may not allow the board to post. Match RAM with your board. Windows, Linux and OS X will run fine when you have the correct hardware for your board.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Multimedia - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770k
Graphics
(2) 660 ti 02G-P4-3664-KR
Mac
  1. MacBook
The Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H board supports a maximum of 8GB RAM per slot (total 32GB)
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4139#sp

Supported RAM is listed by Gigabyte, you can access the list from this page:
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4139#

You can find out from different RAM manufacturers, exactly what RAM modules they recommend for your board:
http://uk.crucial.com/gbr/en/compatible-upgrade-for/Giga-Byte/ga-b75m-d3h

Ivy Bridge RAM modules differ in specification to SandyBridge and Haswell. There are some modules that may be interchangeable and will work, but there are many that will cause probems or may not allow the board to post. Match RAM with your board. Windows, Linux and OS X will run fine when you have the correct hardware for your board.

I understand that, and thanks for the information.
As I interpret the following site: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4150#sp
"
  1. 4 x 1.5V DDR3 DIMM sockets supporting up to 32 GB of system memory
    * Due to Windows 32-bit operating system limitation, when more than 4 GB of physical memory is installed, the actual memory size displayed will be less than 4 GB.
  2. Dual channel memory architecture
  3. Support for DDR3 2200(OC)/1600/1333/1066 MHz memory modules
    * To support DDR3 1600 MHz, you must install an Intel® 22nm (Ivy Bridge) CPU that supports DDR3 1600 MHz.
  4. Support for non-ECC memory modules
  5. Support for Extreme Memory Profile (XMP) memory modules
    * To support XMP memory, you must install an Intel® 22nm (Ivy Bridge) CPU that supports DDR3 1600 MHz."
DUE to the windows 32 bit if I do purchase the Crucial CT16G3ERSLD4160B 16 GB, windows will display them as less than 4 GB.
So, dual booting to windows could work hypothetically. But my main concern is on the MAC side where I plan to run the machine the most.

The intel site: http://ark.intel.com/products/65523/Intel-Core-i7-3770K-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_90-GHz
has the following ram
Max Memory Size (dependent on memory type) 32 GB
Memory Types DDR3 1333/1600
Max # of Memory Channels 2
Max Memory Bandwidth 25.6 GB/s
ECC Memory Supported ‡
No

and the Crucial RAM:

Memory Size 16 GB
Memory Technology DDR3 SDRAM
Memory Voltage 1.35 V
Number of Modules 1 x 16 GB
Memory Speed 1600 MHz
Memory Standard DDR3-1600/PC3-12800
Error Checking ECC
Signal Processing Registered
CAS Latency CL9
Physical Characteristics
Number of Pins 240-pin


So if the Crucial RAM states Error checking ECC and Intel states ECC memory supported : NO.
Then this type of ram even though a 1600 MHz 240 pin DDR3 SDRAM and matches with the specifications of Intel and the motherboard.
Due to the ECC the RAM would not be compatible with the Processor and would not display greater than 4 GB even if another processor was chosen when in windows.

I have made the decision to purchase and build with the following parts:

i7 - 3770k
GA-B75M-D3H
G.skil 2 x 8 GB
:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&cm_re=(2_x_8GB)_16_GB-_-20-231-489-_-Product

Corsair 660w PSU
Corsair 110i gt liquid cooler
Custom case modified xbox 360 slim
Seagate 250 GB Solid State
Nvidia 960 p4-3969-kr 4 gb
3M Twin Axial PCI express x16 extender cable due to physical limitations of case
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,366
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Use Windows in 64 bit specification to allow it to be able to use all 16GB of RAM. 32 Bit computing technology is limited to a maximum of 4 GB RAM - this was not an issue 10 years ago. 64 bit has been standard for some time. make sure that your windows licence is 64 bit - if not update to 64bit and install UEFI.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top