Contribute
Register

Slugnet's Video Editor - GA-Z77X-UD5H, i7-3770k, Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 Ti

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,782
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How do you do a clean install of the Clover/ bootloader stuff? Or maybe not mess with that?
I just use the most current version of MultiBeast if I'm only updating Clover >
Bootloaders > Clover UEFI Boot Mode​
Build > Install​
Reboot when MultiBeast completes the Clover installation.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
57
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel Core I7-3770K 3.5Ghz Box Socket 1155
Graphics
GigaByte GV-N670OC-2GD - Tarjeta gráfica, 2 GB, PCI Express 3.0, 6008 MHz
Updated with 32MB of RAM. All OK.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 650 Ti
Decided to update to Mojave 10.14.6 today. Runs solid.

My dumb*ss clicked something incorrectly in MultiBeast, and now my second display isn't working. Any suggestions on what to do? Searched the forum but couldn't figure it out with this build.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
107
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H rev1.1 F16j
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Decided to update to Mojave 10.14.6 today. Runs solid.

My dumb*ss clicked something incorrectly in MultiBeast, and now my second display isn't working. Any suggestions on what to do? Searched the forum but couldn't figure it out with this build.
I upgraded to 10.14.6 and added the RX580 at that time. No Idea if it would work in 10.12.6.

I wanted to keep using iMac 13,2 and had to buy a Fenvi-HB1200 card b/c my old card (it was presumed to be an Apple BRCM94331CD, recycled/used off Ebay, from China) would only work with SMBIOS 14,2. I may try to use the HD4000 in headless mode, therefore I wanted to be as true to the real iMac as possible and that's 13,2.

I am still ironing things out myself. The RX580 is working well so far. No 2nd monitor yet and I haven't edited any video yet. I did all this b/c my GTRX 1050ti was failing on all MPEG2-DVD renders since the last security update and Nvidia driver update. Always because a Adobe Lumetri effect. H264 rendered fine, but, it was time. Pereimere would occasionally quit displaying video and the logs showed it was the Nvidia driver. Stork actually said he gave up on the HD4000 b/c he found it wasn't stable enough.

@hendersonphoto In 10.14.6 Did you get USB working perfectly? I understand from Stork we need to Hackintool to get this working. I am trying to follow his guide (halfway down the page) https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-build-i5-3570k-ga-z77x-up5-th-gtx-760.73112/ but in reading the documentation in Hackintool, it's actually much more complex than what he describes.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 650 Ti
I upgraded to 10.14.6 and added the RX580 at that time. No Idea if it would work in 10.12.6.

I wanted to keep using iMac 13,2 and had to buy a Fenvi-HB1200 card b/c my old card (it was presumed to be an Apple BRCM94331CD, used off Ebay, from China) would only work with SMBIOS 14,2. I may try to use the HD4000 in headless mode, therefore I wanted to be as true to the real iMac as possible and that's 13,2.

I am still ironing things out myself. The RX580 is working well so far. No 2nd monitor yet and I haven't edited any video yet. I did all this b/c my GTRX 1050ti was failing on all MPEG2-DVD renders since the last security update and Nvidia driver update. Always because a Adobe Lumetri effect. H264 rendered fine, but, it was time. Pereimere would occasionally quit displaying video and the logs showed it was the Nvidia driver. Stork actually said he gave up on the HD4000 b/c he found it wasn't stable enough.

@hendersonphoto In 10.14.6 Did you get USB working perfectly? I understand from Stork we need to Hackintool to get this working. I am trying to follow his guide (halfway down the page) https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-build-i5-3570k-ga-z77x-up5-th-gtx-760.73112/ but in reading the documentation in Hackintool, it's actually much more complex than what he describes.

The USB seems to be working. I ordered the RX580 yesterday so I should have it in a few days.

I'm pretty sure I followed Stork's settings. I might have ticked extra things in Multibeast. Since it has been 2 years since I used it, can I just re-run Multibeast again to fix the setting or do I need to do something different?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
107
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H rev1.1 F16j
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The USB seems to be working. I ordered the RX580 yesterday so I should have it in a few days.

I'm pretty sure I followed Stork's settings. I might have ticked extra things in Multibeast. Since it has been 2 years since I used it, can I just re-run Multibeast again to fix the setting or do I need to do something different?
When setting things up, I use Carbon Copy Cloner to make a clone after each successful step. Therefore, it's easy to roll back, if you see something isn't working.

If you clicked off something extra and your 2nd monitor stopped working, I believe parts of MultiBeast (MB) are installing Kexts, you can see in the description of each, what it's going to do. You could screenshot (on the computer or with your phone) your choices if you're unsure of what things mean, then you'll know at least what you did. I'm thinking you might need to remove a kext that got added when you checked it off in MB? Maybe you can view them by "Date Added" and figure out which one. Open MB and see where it's installing them to (Probably ~/L/E) then go there, add the view option I mentioned and sort by "date added". If you manually delete a kext you probably need to rebuild the kext cache, and I'd recommend you read up on all that business. I see in DPCI manager 1.5 there is a button to "Rebuild Cache" perhaps that's all that you need to do, but, please do your research.

I took @pastrychef advice and put all my kexts into EFI>CLOVER>kexts>other to save the need of rebuilding it with each change. Later you can put them all back into /L/E/ if you want to, using the appropriate method, of course. I am very much a noob, haven't touched MB in 2 years, always hope to find a guide, so please don't take my word as an authority, but, that's how I go about it.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 650 Ti
When setting things up, I use Carbon Copy Cloner to make a clone after each successful step. Therefore, it's easy to roll back, if you see something isn't working.

If you clicked off something extra and your 2nd monitor stopped working, I believe parts of MultiBeast (MB) are installing Kexts, you can see in the description of each, what it's going to do. You could screenshot (on the computer or with your phone) your choices if you're unsure of what things mean, then you'll know at least what you did. I'm thinking you might need to remove a kext that got added when you checked it off in MB? Maybe you can view them by "Date Added" and figure out which one. Open MB and see where it's installing them to (Probably ~/L/E) then go there, add the view option I mentioned and sort by "date added". If you manually delete a kext you probably need to rebuild the kext cache, and I'd recommend you read up on all that business. I see in DPCI manager 1.5 there is a button to "Rebuild Cache" perhaps that's all that you need to do, but, please do your research.

I took @pastrychef advice and put all my kexts into EFI>CLOVER>kexts>other to save the need of rebuilding it with each change. Later you can put them all back into /L/E/ if you want to, using the appropriate method, of course. I am very much a noob, haven't touched MB in 2 years, always hope to find a guide, so please don't take my word as an authority, but, that's how I go about it.

I ended up posting in this thread:


I haven't been able to get past the black Apple screen with the 580 yet...
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
107
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H rev1.1 F16j
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I ended up posting in this thread:


I haven't been able to get past the black Apple screen with the 580 yet...
I followed post #1 of Stork's UP5-TH mobo thread where, Stork goes through everything you need to do on your UP5-TH board. I set mine up (UD5H board), like his, using the onboard graphics HD4000 to start. Once all was working, I followed his post #1109 in that thread that takes you to his My Hero II build link: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...s-z370-hero-x-i7-8700k-amd-rx-580.245074/#580 for instructions to add the RX580. It's not headless mode but it works in my single monitor set up. He states that the HD4000 was never that stable for him in headless mode. I found something similar in 10.12.6 with a GTX 1050 Ti once I engaged headless mode: Graphics processing issues in Adobe Premiere!

Honestly, @hendersonphoto you are extremely lucky there are complete instructions for your Mobo available with 10.14 nicely documented by @Stork . If it's not working and you didn't start with his instructions, and if you are currently stuck, maybe starting over with his instructions would be the best thing at this point? It may take you 2-3 hours to do, but, it's better than losing another day!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 650 Ti
I followed post #1 of Stork's UP5-TH mobo thread where, Stork goes through everything you need to do on your UP5-TH board. I set mine up (UD5H board), like his, using the onboard graphics HD4000 to start. Once all was working, I followed his post #1109 in that thread that takes you to his My Hero II build link: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...s-z370-hero-x-i7-8700k-amd-rx-580.245074/#580 for instructions to add the RX580. It's not headless mode but it works in my single monitor set up. He states that the HD4000 was never that stable for him in headless mode. I found something similar in 10.12.6 with a GTX 1050ti once I engaged headless mode: Graphics processing issues in Adobe Premiere!

Honestly, @hendersonphoto you are extremely lucky there are complete instructions for your Mobo available with 10.14 nicely documented by @Stork . If it's not working and you didn't start with his instructions, and if you are currently stuck, maybe starting over with his instructions would be the best thing at this point? It may take you 2-3 hours too do, but, better than losing another day!
I am pretty sure I followed all that to a T. The only thing I can think of is when I initially set everything up it wasn’t through HD4000. It was through the GTX 660 Ti.

I will start over again though and see where it takes me. It seems no matter what I do, I cannot get past the black Apple screen without it going completely black.

At what point did you plug in the RX 580? You didn’t get the black screen at all?
 
Top