Contribute
Register

Slugnet's Video Editor - GA-Z77X-UD5H, i7-3770k, Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 Ti

Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
7
Motherboard
MBP
CPU
2.4ghz
Graphics
na
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yes, I followed the guide on this page here.

I installed CUDA 8 for Cinema 4D. But the 980Tis work without that. I just noticed that the front panel USB ports are also not working. Will need to do some tweaking...
Thanks! Do you think the 650ti graphics card is worth updating? I spend 90% of my time using Adobe Lightroom while running an older 30 inch Apple monitor and a 27 inch Dell. The newer versions of Lightroom allow you to use the graphics card to accelerate the speed of the program. I looked into the 980Tis but I can't justify the cost. Something like a 750TI with 4gb ram is more within budget, unless you have another recommendation. I would like to have the computer apart once and work out any bugs over the next month before work gets crazy again.
 
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
24
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
I was in the same situation and after a power outage had corrupted by BIOS I went from 10.10.5 to 10.12.3 last weekend.
I put in a single fresh SSD, all other drives disconnected, loaded optimized defaults in the BIOS, and went straight from there with a Unibeast/Multibeast install. Had to install NVIDIA web driver for the 980Tis after that.

Imported my user data from the old startup disk via Migration Assistant and that's it. Everything works except wake from sleep. Even Audio and Messages.
When you did a fresh install,, Did you have to update the BIOS at all? I have this same build that has always worked. Im on 10.10.5, but want to update to at least El Cap. Can I just start fresh and install on new SSD without updating any BIOS Settings?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2011
Messages
59
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H 10.13.6
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
2x GTX 980 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
When you did a fresh install,, Did you have to update the BIOS at all? I have this same build that has always worked. Im on 10.10.5, but want to update to at least El Cap. Can I just start fresh and install on new SSD without updating any BIOS Settings?
My MB came with BIOS version F14. I don't have any issues that I would blame on the BIOS and therefore I never updated it (I think F16 is current).
I have to say though that I tweaked the BIOS in the past, mainly to overclock RAM and CPU. That was before I switched to a GPU render engine. When I tried an El Cap Clover install a while ago with my old BIOS settings the install failed. I never bothered figuring out why... I just left it there.
For Sierra I loaded the 'optimized defaults' simply because I didn't want to deal with BIOS tweaking anymore and no longer rely on the extra speed from overclocked RAM and CPU.
If you are on 10.10.5 like I was, you probably boot in legacy mode and not UEFI. That's an option you have to decide upon during the install.
Other than that: Just pop in a new SSD, disconnect power to all other drives and you are good to go.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
7
Motherboard
MBP
CPU
2.4ghz
Graphics
na
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I did the update yesterday. Everything ran smoothly and seems to be working perfectly. Thanks to everyone for their wisdom!
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7- 3770k
Graphics
EVGA GT650
I can't believe that 5 years has gone by since my copy of this build, which has been pretty solid under Mountain Lion. But the time has come to upgrade the GPU.

Since this is a dual/triple boot set up, I have been doing some light gaming and heavy flight sim (prepar3d and Xplane 11) on the windows 250 GB EVO PRO SSD and considering a GTX 1080 TI GPU so I can drive a 2k/4k monitor set up.

My plan is to do a clean install on a new SSD of Sierra so I can use the Navida 10 series drivers. anyone see any issues or have been at this step before? I will be using the steps off the main site

After getting it running, I would use the migration assistant to move files etc over.

Thanks in advance.
Scott
 
Last edited:

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,918
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
waytooslow, you have an incorrect link in your post above.

I updated my Z77X-UD5H TH "Thunderball" system to Sierra w/o any problems. I'm also now using a Samsung 950 Pro M.2 NVMe SSD on a PCIe adapter card. Really fast loading macOS and apps, now.

Note: when using Migration Assistance, do not check the Other Files box. "Bad stuff" gets transferred over. :thumbup:
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7- 3770k
Graphics
EVGA GT650
waytooslow, you have an incorrect link in your post above.

I updated my Z77X-UD5H TH "Thunderball" system to Sierra w/o any problems. I'm also now using a Samsung 950 Pro M.2 NVMe SSD on a PCIe adapter card. Really fast loading macOS and apps, now.

Note: when using Migration Assistance, do not check the Other Files box. "Bad stuff" gets transferred over. :thumbup:
Thanks I corrected
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
5
Graphics
GTX-960
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I got a lead on this set up from a friend that has this mobo + CPU + 32gb ram. I have a GTX 960 and thought about combining all of this to make my first Hackintosh. I was curious about one very important thing to me. How can we add Thunderbolt to this type of system? If it isn't possible, am I looking at Z170 & Z270 boards since they have Thunderbolt built in to nearly every board?

Thanks! And great write up.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
5
Motherboard
iBook
CPU
1.2 GHz
Graphics
ATI Mobility Radeon 9200
This build has been great for me. I built it way back in 2013 and its still going strong. The only difference from the original build is the case, power supply, and a DVD-RW instead of a BluRay.

I was running Mountain Lion for the longest time. I finally upgrade to El Capitan when it was announced. I tried updating to Sierra a few months ago but the App Store said that Sierra could not be installed on my computer. I figured that my computer was old, and I let it go.

I found an earlier post stating that Sierra was running fine on this system. I did a search and found out that all I had to do was change change my SMBIOS to iMac14,2.

I'm currently testing Sierra on another SSD and slowly migrating my apps and docs.

I used the MultiBeast setup from Stork's Thunderbolt Build: i5-3570K. The BIOS settings haven’t changed much from when I set it up in 2013, with the only change being the startup disk.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
144
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook
@gene.76.2
I have a Sierra still with 13.2 and same SSDT for power management since I build it in 2013.
 
Top