Contribute
Register

Slower boot times after 10.14.2 update?

Joined
May 28, 2010
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming WiFi (rev. 1.0)
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
Android
Is anyone else noticing slower boot times after updating to 10.14.2?

The boot times on this machine were never great to begin with but they seem even slower after the update. I never timed it before but right now it's about 30 seconds from pressing enter at Clover screen to login. I'm using a Samsung 970 Evo NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD so I would expect it to be faster. The drive is formatted APFS, TRIM is enabled by default according to System Info.

For comparison I have Windows installed on an older 870 Evo SATA M.2 drive and it boots in about 10 seconds. My old 2013 iMac is about 10-15 seconds as well.

It's been several years since I've built a Hackintosh so I can't recall if this is normal or not.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
GA - Z68XP-UD3
CPU
i7-2600k @ 3.40 ghz, no overclock
Graphics
XFX 6870 - 2gb, no overclock
I've noticed it too unfortunately. No idea why. It didn't happen immediately on update either. It was a few times before it all went to ****.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
GE Z370P D3
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
Vega 56 (64 BIOS)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm building my first hackintosh and have read in a few placed that APFS with TRIM on M2 creates a slowdown. Since I downloaded Mojave recently, the only installer choice was 10.14.2 and my boot time on my M2 is 1:15. So I take it this isn't normal?
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
133
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE | |
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
PowerColor Radeon RX 580 4GB
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is anyone else noticing slower boot times after updating to 10.14.2?

The boot times on this machine were never great to begin with but they seem even slower after the update. I never timed it before but right now it's about 30 seconds from pressing enter at Clover screen to login. I'm using a Samsung 970 Evo NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD so I would expect it to be faster. The drive is formatted APFS, TRIM is enabled by default according to System Info.

For comparison I have Windows installed on an older 870 Evo SATA M.2 drive and it boots in about 10 seconds. My old 2013 iMac is about 10-15 seconds as well.

It's been several years since I've built a Hackintosh so I can't recall if this is normal or not.
I have the same issue with my new build. Everything works pretty well, about 99% of the time, but the boot time is rather slow. I have a SATA SSD that boots Windows 10 v.1809 in about 8-10 seconds. I thought I saw something about this before in one of the forums about using HFS+ instead of APFS on this particular drive. Looks like they were right. I guess I could copy my config file, erase the 970 Evo, reinstall, and then restore my users from a time machine backup. I'm just not sure if it will actually help. Can someone please confirm? I'm also on 10.14.3 now. Thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
3,968
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
I have the same issue with my new build. Everything works pretty well, about 99% of the time, but the boot time is rather slow. I have a SATA SSD that boots Windows 10 v.1809 in about 8-10 seconds. I thought I saw something about this before in one of the forums about using HFS+ instead of APFS on this particular drive. Looks like they were right. I guess I could copy my config file, erase the 970 Evo, reinstall, and then restore my users from a time machine backup. I'm just not sure if it will actually help. Can someone please confirm? I'm also on 10.14.3 now. Thanks in advance!
Mojave will only install with APFS now since the public release. The only way to convert/revert to HFS+ is to use carbon Copy Cloner to another drive. If you have a spare SSD then you can clone to it and then back to the NVME. The only problem with converting to HFS+ is that you can't update the software so you will need a spare SSD to be in APFS to update to 14.4, 14.5 etc...
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
133
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE | |
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
PowerColor Radeon RX 580 4GB
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Mojave will only install with APFS now since the public release. The only way to convert/revert to HFS+ is to use carbon Copy Cloner to another drive. If you have a spare SSD then you can clone to it and then back to the NVME. The only problem with converting to HFS+ is that you can't update the software so you will need a spare SSD to be in APFS to update to 14.4, 14.5 etc...
I see. I guess I can live with the boot times then. Maybe when I'm done overclocking it, it will run a little faster. I don't want to not be able to update anymore. I had that problem on my real Mac Pro 2010 before I replaced it with this build. I was running a RAID SSD and since Apple made the installer unable to install onto RAIDs, I had to do the Carbon Copy thing every time I updated. Had it down pat, but it was still a pain. So, I'll live with it. After it boots, it's pretty fast. Thanks for the info.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
1,573
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Checking ON the -disablegfxfirmware flag in Clover Configurator --> Boot section can fix this problem in many (but not all) cases.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
133
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE | |
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
PowerColor Radeon RX 580 4GB
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Checking ON the -disablegfxfirmware flag in Clover Configurator --> Boot section can fix this problem in many (but not all) cases.
Hmmm. I thought that flag was for something else and I cut it ON a few days ago, so for me it doesn't seem to have helped. Thanks.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
1,573
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
For anyone facing a long delay during boot where the progress bar gets to the end and stays there for over 1 minute, this may help. See the video posted here:

And the error message and fix in Post #216.
 
Top