Contribute
Register

Slow performance with 1080 ti

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270x-Ultra Gaming
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700k
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have been trying for 2 months now to get my Hackintosh running up to speed for video editing. I did a test using Premiere Pro, and it renders 5 times slower than an old 2009 Mac Pro with a GTX 760 using the same exact settings and clip.

System:

Sierra 10.12.5
GTX 1080 Ti
Intel Core i7 6700K 4.01 Ghz

Cinebench displays my graphics card properly, but oddly displays my CPU as 0C/0T @ 4.01 GHz

Cinebench results:

OPENGL: 108.70 FPS
CPU: 128 cb (ranking dead last)

My config.plist is attached.

Here is what I've tried with no success:

- disabled onboard graphics
- disabled CSM (and tried with it enabled)
- installed Lilu.kext and Nvidiagraphicsfixup.kext
- AGDPfix

Please let me know what else I can try.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    6.6 KB · Views: 253

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,778
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My config.plist is attached.
cpus=1 restricts your processor to just one core :

cpus.png
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270x-Ultra Gaming
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700k
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
cpus=1 restricts your processor to just one core :

View attachment 269119
Thanks. This helped tremendously. However my system still seems to be running slower than it should. Now render times are about 15% slower than the old Mac Pro.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,778
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks. This helped tremendously. However my system still seems to be running slower than it should. Now render times are about 15% slower than the old Mac Pro.
Why do you think that a MacPro6,1 is an appropriate SMBIOS for your hardware ?
 
Joined
May 13, 2012
Messages
231
Motherboard
Asus z270-a
CPU
i7 7700k @4.2GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 1070
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah I would try iMac17,1 with your configuration.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270x-Ultra Gaming
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700k
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Why do you think that a MacPro6,1 is an appropriate SMBIOS for your hardware ?
I've tried many different configurations and there doesn't seem to be any difference. What would you suggest and why?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,778
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've tried many different configurations and there doesn't seem to be any difference. What would you suggest and why?
There would be hardly any difference if you were using cpus=1 for all of them.
Look at everymac.com or the free Mactracker app and select the Mac that matches your hardware as closely as possible.
Change your SMBIOS and then implement power management for it.
Keep a copy of your current config.plist so that you can revert if required.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top