Sleep - General Troubleshooting Tips

Discussion in 'The Basics' started by tonymacx86, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. tanguy_k

    tanguy_k

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 3770
    Graphics:
    GT640
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 27, 2012 at 1:34 PM #201
    tanguy_k

    tanguy_k

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 3770
    Graphics:
    GT640
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
  2. rockprince

    rockprince

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    HP Pavilion dv6-6050
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2410M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000 + AMD Radeon HD 6770M
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 5, 2013 at 8:59 PM #202
    rockprince

    rockprince

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    HP Pavilion dv6-6050
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2410M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000 + AMD Radeon HD 6770M
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I used this kext to enable sleep on my HP Pavilion dv6-6050se with Mountain Lion 10.8.2 and it worked fine!

    http://www.osx86.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=2972

    there is only one problem,when I wake my laptop up the brightness increases to the highest level!
     
  3. sublightnova

    sublightnova

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    eVGA GTX 670 FTW
    Jan 13, 2013 at 9:15 AM #203
    sublightnova

    sublightnova

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    eVGA GTX 670 FTW
    I just used that kext on my G73JH and it did manage to put my lappy to sleep. Although it wakes up with a black screen and no way to get it back.. I also deleted: NullCPUPowermanagement.kext ofc.

    Btw for you laptop users: makes sure your hibernation mode is set to 3. Open open up a terminal and key in:

    pmset -g

    Should be 3 as it will enable the use of the sleep file... If it is not change it by:

    sudo pmset hibernatemode 3

    Sorry abouot the funky font size thing.. the stupid edit box won't work as expected.

    After setting hibernation to mode 3 my system goes to sleep and also wakes up but still with a black screen I can't get rid of (yet).. I can hear the system is up as i hear sounds when i hit certain keys. :)

     
  4. carzycole

    carzycole

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Jan 17, 2013 at 6:38 PM #204
    carzycole

    carzycole

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    I have a stable hackintosh build with a Z77-DS3H MB and I've been trying for the life of me to get it to auto sleep. Before I messed with anything I could manually get it to sleep just fine, but after installing sleep enabler (got a KP and had to remove), changing the darkwave values, and messing around with the PleaseSleep Mac app I get a blank white screen (displays 24/7 while sleeping and monitor stays on) whenever I auto or manually sleep the desktop. I really don't know what to do now and even PleaseSleep has no effect. :crazy: I use champlist and have been fiddling with it through half of the night and haven't been able to correct my problem. It'd be nice just to get it back to how it was before I started messing with things, as manual sleep worked fine. I've read through tons of forums and through this sticky and haven't been able to find a solution to my problem.
     
  5. pogara

    pogara

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Jan 19, 2013 at 7:20 PM #205
    pogara

    pogara

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Hi,

    I seem to be having the opposite problem that most are having. I can't seem to get my sleep to actually "sleep". For both the menu button and auto-sleep, my display turns into a white screen, and then nothing else happens; fans stay on full, disks don't spin down.. basically nothing changes apart from the white screen. When I click or hit a key on the keyboard, it wakes up from this white screen as if it were asleep and presents me with the login screen. I have tried a couple different clean installs. I've tried darkwake values of 0, 10, 2, and no, as well as tried removing the kernel flag from my org.chameleon.Boot.plist file entirely. I have tried bot with and without the NullCPUPowermanagement.kext, and I've tried changing a few things with pmset. Nothing seems to be working.

    I have confirmed that this is not a hardware issue, as suspending my system from an arch linux usb drive works as expected.

    I have tried auto-sleep, the menu button, and using "shutdown -s now" in the terminal. Each method yields the same results.

    I'm at a complete loss here. I started another thread here (http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-h...-advise-i7-3770-ud5h-10-8-2-a.html#post534297), but figured I would open this up to the general sleep issues to see if anyone else might be having this problem.

    I have the following setup:

    MoBo: GA-Z77X-UD5H (revision 1.1) using BIOS F15o (previously was using F14)
    CPU: i7 3770
    GPU: (i7's Intel HD4000)
    RAM: 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance
    Storage: Crucial M4 64GB SSD (boot drive)
    - WD 1TB Caviar Black (data drive)
    Wifi: TP-Link TL-WDN4800
    PSU: Seasonic X 650


    Any help or pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.
     
  6. rna23

    rna23

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Radeon HD 7970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 23, 2013 at 11:14 AM #206
    rna23

    rna23

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Radeon HD 7970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi,

    sleep was not working for me since I upgraded to 10.8.2 from 10.6.8, where it was flawless. Up to now it was the feature I was missing the most as many times I leave the Hackintosh for some minutes and that come back to work and leaving it running the whole day was unpleasant for me as well as shutting it down an up again and again.

    Today I just went through the BOIS and found the "ACPI Suspend Type" setting. I changed it from S3 to S1 and that's it!-)
    Now sleep is working. The only unpleasant thing is that after waking up the Hack my USB3 external drive is unmounted and not seen by Disk Utility.

    My board is GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD5.

    Any idea how to solve the USB3 unmounting?

    All the Best!-)
     
  7. Element515

    Element515

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Mobo:
    Win 8 and OSX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    XFX 6850
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 24, 2013 at 10:26 PM #207
    Element515

    Element515

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Mobo:
    Win 8 and OSX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    XFX 6850
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    So I'm having sleep issues. If I tell the computer to sleep (Apple button, sleep) The HD shuts down and everything... just seems like the fan and lights stay on. Then it is unresponsive unless I reset the computer.

    I have, 10.8.2
    Gigabyte Z68 UD2H B3 UEFI BIOS
    i5 2500K
    HD6850

    Everything else works great, boots fine, got rid of the audio pop... What could it be? I searched a few threads, but it seems like everyone else is just having issues with usb 3.0 or something... all which I have working.
     
  8. The_Don

    The_Don

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Mobo:
    GA X58a UD3R Rev2.0 BIOS HN 18GB RAM
    CPU:
    Core i7 980-X
    Graphics:
    ATI 5970 2GB
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Feb 24, 2013 at 11:43 PM #208
    The_Don

    The_Don

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Mobo:
    GA X58a UD3R Rev2.0 BIOS HN 18GB RAM
    CPU:
    Core i7 980-X
    Graphics:
    ATI 5970 2GB
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    I have a GA-X58A-UD5 and changed suspend type to S1 and still can't sleep.

    What else have you done to achieve sleep? I have installed the sleep enabler also.
     
  9. Element515

    Element515

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Mobo:
    Win 8 and OSX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    XFX 6850
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 25, 2013 at 5:04 PM #209
    Element515

    Element515

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Mobo:
    Win 8 and OSX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    XFX 6850
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    is the ACPI suspend a setting only on older bios? I can't find it on the UEFI bios
     
  10. MacTester57

    MacTester57

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    907
    Mobo:
    Z68MX-UD2H-B3, DQ77KB, NUC DC53427HYE, NUC D54250WYKH
    CPU:
    i5-2500K, i3-3225, i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    HD 3000, HD 4000, HD 5000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 25, 2013 at 6:42 PM #210
    MacTester57

    MacTester57

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    907
    Mobo:
    Z68MX-UD2H-B3, DQ77KB, NUC DC53427HYE, NUC D54250WYKH
    CPU:
    i5-2500K, i3-3225, i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    HD 3000, HD 4000, HD 5000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    During some tests on my Cube Hack (DQ77KB) & after the update from UEFI "U1c" to "U1d" (GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3), I've realized the following: You do have to remove the "Generate C-States" & Generate P-States" entries, if you have an SSDT (which enables native Power Management).

    This is valid for both ivy and sandy platforms! The "black screen during rewake issue" is gone now on both my Hacks! :D

    See here:
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page