Skylake-X/X299 - Live the Future now on macOS High Sierra 10.13 - [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Guides' started by kgp, Aug 13, 2017.

  1. kgp

    kgp

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,670
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99-A II
    CPU:
    Intel i9-7980XE, Intel I7-6950X
    Graphics:
    AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X WB, AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2017 at 4:56 PM #541
    kgp

    kgp

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,670
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99-A II
    CPU:
    Intel i9-7980XE, Intel I7-6950X
    Graphics:
    AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X WB, AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS

    Did you already apply the Supplementary Update? I was facing a lot of issues also on my rig now suddenly with the i9-7980XE after the 10.13 Supplementary Update.. It seems practically useless... As soon I login into the system I face a reboot just shortly afterwards... If I remain at the login screen, the system stays stable without issues.

    In contrary, under 10.12.6 still everything works as expected! The system is absolutely stable and has no issues, despite the change to the i9-X7980XE!

    Could the latter 10.13 Supplementary Update be the source of all evil? What about downgrading to 10.13 Final Release?
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2017
  2. rudey

    rudey

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    Asus TUF X299 Mark 1
    CPU:
    I7 7800x
    Graphics:
    Powercolor RX580
    Oct 7, 2017 at 5:01 PM #542
    rudey

    rudey

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    Asus TUF X299 Mark 1
    CPU:
    I7 7800x
    Graphics:
    Powercolor RX580
    Yeah I have been running the latest since yesterday. Are you seeing stalling at “HID: Legacy shim 2” too? I suppose I could downgrade using the original usb installer. Does that require a clean install?
     
  3. kgp

    kgp

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,670
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99-A II
    CPU:
    Intel i9-7980XE, Intel I7-6950X
    Graphics:
    AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X WB, AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2017 at 5:10 PM #543
    kgp

    kgp

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,670
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99-A II
    CPU:
    Intel i9-7980XE, Intel I7-6950X
    Graphics:
    AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X WB, AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No I do not face any problems at boot.. And as I say, if I remain at the login screen, the system behaves absolutely stable... However, shortly after login I witness a reboot.... and this now always!

    Either the system does have problems with the CPU change, or the fault might be at the side of the supplementary update...

    I never tried to install a system downgrade.... I don't know if it is possible... maybe somebody else can comment on that... If not I will try to clone my 10.12.6 system disk and upgrade the clone to 10.13 Final Release. I am not able to perform a clean install, as I would loose all my codes and data.

    Let's see if also other users will start to witness and report similar issues after performing the supplementary update..
     
  4. Ramalama

    Ramalama

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Rampage 6 Extreme
    CPU:
    i9-7900X
    Graphics:
    Aorus 1080ti xTreme
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 7, 2017 at 7:22 PM #544
    Ramalama

    Ramalama

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Rampage 6 Extreme
    CPU:
    i9-7900X
    Graphics:
    Aorus 1080ti xTreme
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    i9-7900@Asus_R6E
    With supplementary update...
    Everything is Perfect :)

    Ive attached my Clover Folder :)

    @kgp
    im wondering, you are not using VoodooTSCsync?
    For me, without that kext, my system is slow/useless and booting takes hours...

    Can we get rid somehow of this kext?
    I hate all the Voodoo Kexts, doesn't matter if for PS2/Audio/Cpu etc...

    A better more similar cpuid would do that right?
    But I think we need to wait for the iMac Pros...

    Cheers :)
     
    mgregrs likes this.

    Attached Files:

  5. IgnitePro

    IgnitePro

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99 Deluxe II, GA-Z270X-UltraGaming, GA-H270N-WIFI, ROG Maximus IX
    CPU:
    i9-7900X, i7-6950X, i7-7700K, i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Red Devil RX580, EVGA 980Ti, ASUS 1070,
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2017 at 7:25 PM #545
    IgnitePro

    IgnitePro

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99 Deluxe II, GA-Z270X-UltraGaming, GA-H270N-WIFI, ROG Maximus IX
    CPU:
    i9-7900X, i7-6950X, i7-7700K, i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Red Devil RX580, EVGA 980Ti, ASUS 1070,
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    For any experts of OC, pls let me know if you have success of BIOS tweaks or OS tweaks or Clovers tweaks or all of them :mrgreen:,

    The XCPM performance perfectly fine on my CPU, follow exactly E1 part of KGP, got SSDT.aml everything,

    BUT (a big BUT, lol)

    when I OC my 7900x to 4.7 ( 1.237 Vcore, -3 AVX Offset, -5 AVX512 Offset, Min/Max CPU Cache Ratio 31),
    My Geekbench for Multi-core losing points

    OC 4.7.png

    Compare without OC,

    Auto.jpg

    Make no sense to me, :(:rolleyes::banghead::crazy:
     
  6. send2moran

    send2moran

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 7820X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 HYBRID GAMING
    Oct 7, 2017 at 7:43 PM #546
    send2moran

    send2moran

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 7820X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 HYBRID GAMING
    Do i need to remove Nvidia web drivers before updating ?
    Did anyone try to update?

     
  7. Ramalama

    Ramalama

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Rampage 6 Extreme
    CPU:
    i9-7900X
    Graphics:
    Aorus 1080ti xTreme
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 7, 2017 at 8:08 PM #547
    Ramalama

    Ramalama

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Rampage 6 Extreme
    CPU:
    i9-7900X
    Graphics:
    Aorus 1080ti xTreme
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Thats normal, we use Xeon-E5 with Tj of 82 degree...

    That means your 7900x throttle at 4,7Ghz, delid your Cpu... Put Conductonaut on, and test again :)

    Cheers :)
     
    sgunes likes this.
  8. sgunes

    sgunes

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel i9 7920X
    Graphics:
    NVidia 1070, 1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 7, 2017 at 8:56 PM #548
    sgunes

    sgunes

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel i9 7920X
    Graphics:
    NVidia 1070, 1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS

    Regarding the NVidia Driver installation:
    1. downloaded and installed them without rebooting.
    2. Checked in System Parameters that NvidiaWeb is checked (somehow it is not checked right now)
    3. did this: "The second option might be to use the NVWebDriverLibValFix.kext in /L/E/. Kext and instructions can be accessed here: https://github.com/mologie/NVWebDriverLibValFix/releases ".
    4. Got the black screen and then did "In addition, some people also added the following KextToPatch entry to the config.plist in the "Kernel and Kext Patches" Section of the Clover Configurator, although this entry seems not to be directly related with the black screen issue and might be obsolete:
    Code (Text):
    Name: Find: Replace: Comment:
    com.apple.driver.AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy ba050000 00 ba000000 00 Disable board-id check to prevent no signal © lvs1974, Pike R. Alpha, vit9696. Credits to cyberdevs from InsanelyMac."

    So I never did the AGDPFix

    Under SMBIOS in Clover Configurator I have all blanks.
    When I look in Rt Variables Under "from System" (not "from SMBIOS") I have: iMac17,1.

    Regarding CPU ID: I didn't change anything from your EFI 10/4/17 release.
     
    kgp likes this.
  9. mgregrs

    mgregrs

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Messages:
    76
    Mobo:
    ASUS PRIME X299 Deluxe
    CPU:
    7900X
    Graphics:
    Vega 64
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 7, 2017 at 9:13 PM #549
    mgregrs

    mgregrs

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Messages:
    76
    Mobo:
    ASUS PRIME X299 Deluxe
    CPU:
    7900X
    Graphics:
    Vega 64
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    On the ASUS Support site, you have a little program to configure some new things :)


    ASUS LiveDash V1.00.04 for Windows 7 64-bit, Windows 10 64-bit.(for Prime X299-Deluxe)
    LINK: HERE

    My i9 7900x is recognized like that :) (and it was always like that)
    (everything configured with your guide of course) :D

    cpOK.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2017
  10. kgp

    kgp

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,670
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99-A II
    CPU:
    Intel i9-7980XE, Intel I7-6950X
    Graphics:
    AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X WB, AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2017 at 9:22 PM #550
    kgp

    kgp

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,670
    Mobo:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe, Asus X99-A II
    CPU:
    Intel i9-7980XE, Intel I7-6950X
    Graphics:
    AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X WB, AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sure I am using VoodooTSCsync! We can't get rid of it!

    macPro's won't use Skylake-X!

    Your EFI is in perfect shape!

    ahhhhhh by the way!!!!! :lol::lol::lol::lol: Can I add the Asus_R6E_USB.kext to the XHC USB Kext library in my guide and distribute it to the R6E community? ;)

    I guess it works already from what I read in the other German Forum ;)

    My intuition was right just to consider the employed HS and SS ports, correct? ;)
     
    Ramalama likes this.

Share This Page