Contribute
Register

Skylake Thunderbold 3 mainboards with Apple Thunderbolt Display

Are you using an Apple thunderbolt display


  • Total voters
    5
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
2
a few mainboard vendors like Gigabyte (GA-Z170N-Gaming 5) have released thunderbolt drivers for USB3.1 already. Does anybody know if the Apple Cinema display will work with this configuration? I mean video/ audio/ cam/ USB, etc. all interfaces?

Thanks in advance for your feedback!
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte-Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-7700k
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
a few mainboard vendors like Gigabyte (GA-Z170N-Gaming 5) have released thunderbolt drivers for USB3.1 already. Does anybody know if the Apple Cinema display will work with this configuration? I mean video/ audio/ cam/ USB, etc. all interfaces?

Thanks in advance for your feedback!
I'm using a gaming 7 z270 mobo that has Thunderbolt3.
My Apple Thunderbolt display works once i bought the apple Thunderbolt3 to Thunderbolt2 cable.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
3
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'm using a gaming 7 z270 mobo that has Thunderbolt3.
My Apple Thunderbolt display works once i bought the apple Thunderbolt3 to Thunderbolt2 cable.
Have the same setup, but have no output on TB display. @cvee72 did you change anything in bios to have it working? I don't have another display to connect to HDMI/DP right now, so thinking if it's possible to connect TB display and make it working straight from the box
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte-Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-7700k
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
Have the same setup, but have no output on TB display. @cvee72 did you change anything in bios to have it working? I don't have another display to connect to HDMI/DP right now, so thinking if it's possible to connect TB display and make it working straight from the box
Just make sure you set the graphics to internal.
The monitor works immediately as I can use it to configure bios. Ie. it doesn't need to boot into any os (with drivers) to work.
I'm using original apple tb3 to tb2 cable. Not display port cable.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
3
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Just make sure you set the graphics to internal.
The monitor works immediately as I can use it to configure bios. Ie. it doesn't need to boot into any os (with drivers) to work.
I'm using original apple tb3 to tb2 cable. Not display port cable.
hm, I use apple's tb3 to tb2 converter + tb2 cable. Monitor just doesn't turn on :\
Tried both with installed and removed pci-e graphics.
@cvee72 is there any way to explicitly set graphics to internal? Switch on MB maybe?

Anyway thanks for the insight that it should work, will try once more today
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
3
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
made it with connecting another monitor first and switching graphics to internal in bios
 
Top