Contribute
Register

Skylake Intel HD 530 Integrated Graphics Working as of 10.11.4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 27, 2014
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS H170-PLUS D3
CPU
Core i3
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To apply the 4-port patch what you need to do is add a block to the right section of config.plist. Ideally you would have two ways to boot, such as two internal drives, or internal plus USB boot, because if you mess up the config.plist it may affect your ability to boot. Adding the patch is complicated by the fact that Clover Configurator (the safest way to add patches to config.plist) displays patches differently than just text-editing config.plist. Something about hex or ascii. So what I do is add the patch using Clover Configurator, to make sure it's in the right place; then I text edit config.plist to make sure the values are right. What you are doing is telling clover to patch (modify) data it reads. You're telling it, when you encounter this binary string value, replace it with this other binary string value.

The 4 port patch is this patch, from post #1 of the 530 working on 10.11.4 thread: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...grated-graphics-working-as-of-10-11-4.188891/

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>10.11-SKL-1912000-4_displays</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
AQMDAw==
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
AQMEAw==
</data>
<dict>

So I went into Clover Configurator, mounted my EFI partition, and opened the config.plist. I went to the *kernel and kext patches* tab. I clicked the plus sign under "KextsToPatch" to add an entry, double-clicked into Name and set the name, double-clicked into Comment and set the comment (using above comment and name) and for the find and replace just entered a space or nothing, since the values from the patch above are NOT what will show up in Clover Configurator. Then I saved and closed Clover Configurator and opened the config.plist in a text editor, found the block I'd just added, and edited the find and replace so the values matched the above. Once I was done, I visually verified that the block looked exactly like the above, but note that Clover Configurator will also add a <disabled></false></disabled> tag, you can disregard that - that is, leave it in, it's fine.

Save and quit, then open Clover Configurator again, go to kernel and kext patches, and make sure that everything is filled in (and understand the find and replace values will be different).

This is just my way of doing this, once you get comfortable with it there are a thousand ways to edit config.plist and add patches. I use this method so that I don't compromise the integrity of config.plist (and you should keep backups - config.plist.1, config.plist.2 or whatever).

The bottom line is that after you're done, there should be a new block in config.plist just like the above (possibly with the <disabled></false></disabled> tag in there) if you edit config.plist with a text editor. Once you've done that, when you reboot, IORegistryExplorer filtered for "display" should show AppleFramebuffer@1, AppleFramebuffer@2, AppleFramebuffer@3 and AppleFramebuffer@4, and if you click on each one and look at port number, you should see port 0x01, 0x05, 0x06, and 0x07. That's the four ports it's talking about. You can disregard the first one, you're just trying to map ports 5, 6 and 7 to the right connector type.

That's part 2, the patches that map port 5, port 6 and port 7 to the right connector type. This post is already too long. Reply back once you've gotten this far and I can go into detail about how I remapped my port 5 and 6 to the right connector type for my motherboard, since those were the two ports I identified were the HDMI and DVI ports.

Thanks a lot for your prompt reply and all your help!

I was able to add this patch and looks like it's working but I don't see the port number any where. I attached what is visible.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2016-10-18 at 13.45.19.png
    Screen Shot 2016-10-18 at 13.45.19.png
    293.9 KB · Views: 408
Joined
Mar 6, 2016
Messages
102
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII Gene Z170
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
5600XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So overkill, you're now using the hd530 with a ASUS mobo, selecting HD530 from multibeast 9? How did you avoid the kernel panic???

yeah, I just did the standard multibeast install. it didn't check inject intel in the customize section. with it checked I had a panic. in clover configurator in the graphics tab inject intel was selected (not by me) with no ig-platform-id. I can boot but I only see 8mb cram and can't rotate the display. I'm about to try un-injecting intel in CC.
 

aol

Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
498
Motherboard
GA-Z370-HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks a lot for your prompt reply and all your help!

I was able to add this patch and looks like it's working but I don't see the port number any where. I attached what is visible.
It's there in your screenshot: 6 up from the bottom on the right side: port-number 0x0. That's port 0. I guess you should see 0x5, 0x6 and 0x7 for the other frame buffers.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2014
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS H170-PLUS D3
CPU
Core i3
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's there in your screenshot: 6 up from the bottom on the right side: port-number 0x0. That's port 0. I guess you should see 0x5, 0x6 and 0x7 for the other frame buffers.

yeah, I see this now and they are 0x5, 0x6 and 0x7.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
17
Would this also work with the Asusrock H170M Pro4? Considering that mobo + i5-6400 onboard HD 530 for a Mac Mini rival build for a friend of mine.

EDIT: WITH DISPLAYPORT I MEAN!!! Friend of mine is using the 27" Thunderbolt Display.
 

aol

Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
498
Motherboard
GA-Z370-HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yeah, I see this now and they are 0x5, 0x6 and 0x7.
Good. Now you just have to figure out which port is which physical output on your iGPU. Plug one monitor in at a time and boot up. Go to IORegistryExplorer like you've been doing and find under which apple frame buffer the monitor is connected. Say you plug in an HDMI monitor, you boot up, and the frame buffer using port 0x5 is attached to a monitor: you know port 0x5 is the HDMI port. Rinse and repeat until you identify the connector type each port should be.

Let's say 0x5 is HDMI, and 0x6 is DVI, and 0x7 is VGA. You probably want to ignore the VGA port, and just remap the connector type on the other ports (HDMI and DVI).

So add two more patches using the same process in Clover Configurator under the 4 port patch:

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>10.11.4-SKL-Port_0x5-DP2HDMI</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AQUJAAAEAACHAQAA</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AQUJAAAIAACHAQAA</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>10.11.4-SKL-Port_0x6-DP2DVI</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AgQKAAAEAACHAQAA</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AgQKAAAIAACHAQAA</data>
</dict>

These are the Mac OS X 10.11 config.plist versions of the patches - these patches in Clover Configurator will have long numbers in the find and replace.

All these patches do is change the connector type. The default connector type is 00040000. DVI is 00020000 and HDMI is 00080000.

What if your port 5 is DVI? No problem, go into Clover Configurator and find the patches, and notice that the "replace" value for the port 5 patch has 00080000 there in the middle: for example,
029304829300080000929301938

That 00080000 is the connector type, and it should be 00020000, so just click into it and change it:
029304829300020000929301938

Reboot (use the usual strategies in case you mess something up) and go to IOReg and you should now see that the connector types are right for each port you care about. Again, ignore port 0x0, and you probably want to ignore the VGA port if you have one.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
Asus Z170 ProGaming
CPU
Intel i5 6600K
Graphics
Intel HD 530, Radeon RX 590 Nitro+
Mac
  1. iMac
hi

I've an issue with intel hd 530. I see only 14 Mb in the system report. See images. Could anybody help?

I've run MultiBeast and selected HD 530, but this didn't happen
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2016-10-19 at 11.21.21 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2016-10-19 at 11.21.21 PM.png
    81 KB · Views: 207
  • Screen Shot 2016-10-19 at 11.22.17 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2016-10-19 at 11.22.17 PM.png
    108.4 KB · Views: 190
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
40
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 15 5590
CPU
i7-10510U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
These are the Mac OS X 10.11 config.plist versions of the patches - these patches in Clover Configurator will have long numbers in the find and replace.

All these patches do is change the connector type. The default connector type is 00040000. DVI is 00020000 and HDMI is 00080000.

What if your port 5 is DVI? No problem, go into Clover Configurator and find the patches, and notice that the "replace" value for the port 5 patch has 00080000 there in the middle: for example,
029304829300080000929301938

That 00080000 is the connector type, and it should be 00020000, so just click into it and change it:
029304829300020000929301938

Reboot (use the usual strategies in case you mess something up) and go to IOReg and you should now see that the connector types are right for each port you care about. Again, ignore port 0x0, and you probably want to ignore the VGA port if you have one.

Hi, aol
I have some basic questions. I am new to Clover boot loader and don't know how to find and replace value on the Clover Configurator.
And how can I connect to a vga display. I need to connect 2 displays simultaneously, 1 with DVI and another 1 with vga.
Thank you.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2014
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS H170-PLUS D3
CPU
Core i3
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, aol
I have some basic questions. I am new to Clover boot loader and don't know how to find and replace value on the Clover Configurator.
And how can I connect to a vga display. I need to connect 2 displays simultaneously, 1 with DVI and another 1 with vga.
Thank you.
Hi,

VGA will not work for sure. I tried to fix this but with no luck. Use HDMI or DVI they are working 100%.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2014
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS H170-PLUS D3
CPU
Core i3
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good. Now you just have to figure out which port is which physical output on your iGPU. Plug one monitor in at a time and boot up. Go to IORegistryExplorer like you've been doing and find under which apple frame buffer the monitor is connected. Say you plug in an HDMI monitor, you boot up, and the frame buffer using port 0x5 is attached to a monitor: you know port 0x5 is the HDMI port. Rinse and repeat until you identify the connector type each port should be.

Let's say 0x5 is HDMI, and 0x6 is DVI, and 0x7 is VGA. You probably want to ignore the VGA port, and just remap the connector type on the other ports (HDMI and DVI).

So add two more patches using the same process in Clover Configurator under the 4 port patch:

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>10.11.4-SKL-Port_0x5-DP2HDMI</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AQUJAAAEAACHAQAA</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AQUJAAAIAACHAQAA</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>10.11.4-SKL-Port_0x6-DP2DVI</string>
<key>Find</key>
<data>AgQKAAAEAACHAQAA</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>AgQKAAAIAACHAQAA</data>
</dict>

These are the Mac OS X 10.11 config.plist versions of the patches - these patches in Clover Configurator will have long numbers in the find and replace.

All these patches do is change the connector type. The default connector type is 00040000. DVI is 00020000 and HDMI is 00080000.

What if your port 5 is DVI? No problem, go into Clover Configurator and find the patches, and notice that the "replace" value for the port 5 patch has 00080000 there in the middle: for example,
029304829300080000929301938

That 00080000 is the connector type, and it should be 00020000, so just click into it and change it:
029304829300020000929301938

Reboot (use the usual strategies in case you mess something up) and go to IOReg and you should now see that the connector types are right for each port you care about. Again, ignore port 0x0, and you probably want to ignore the VGA port if you have one.

I've found out which port is DVI and which is HDMI, thanks, but what if on 10.12 the numbers are different?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top