Contribute
Register

Skylake Intel HD 530 Integrated Graphics Working as of 10.11.4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,094
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
I'm running F6 BIOS at the moment. I suppose an upgrade to F7 might be worth it if I can be bothered to find a USB stick etc.

Well, from what you said above, there is clearly a state that the computer can be in (and I'm betting it's a state the Intel 530 can be in) where it's attached to two monitors and boots successfully - that's whatever state it's in when you power on the second monitor e.g. during the clover boot process. And there's another state where it crashes. If Clover could put the Intel 530 back into the first state, it seems to me it would be indistiguishable from the monitor just having been plugged in.

I agree re the Skylake Macbooks, but it may be precisely that they are only expecting to set up an HD515, not an HD530, so the HD530 may be consequently be in some invalid state. I'm presuming the clover setup is UEFI GOP or Int 15h or similar. I'm thinking perhaps one could so something like this (set the output device using GOP SetMode). Clover is already playing with GOP's SetMode - see here. Perhaps Clover could be persuaded, as in the PDF, to set things up for a single monitor only.

Actually despite what the Internet says, the actual BIOS doesn't seem to have that setting anyway.
Yes there are different states the Intel graphics controller is in through POST/Boot. Maybe if Clover or our BIOSes had an independent display mode other than simultaneous which it seems to have we'd be able to boot connected to more screens. Obviously just a thought. Maybe Apple will fix this in the next 10.11.6 update.
I can boot with my GTX970 and HD530 without issues so its not an OS X issue when it comes to dual monitors.
IGPU Multi Monitor is in my BIOS and I tested it a while ago, enabled and disabled with no change.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2015
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-Z97-D3H
CPU
Xeon E3-1241V3
Graphics
GTX 680
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I've read through this thread and I haven't really found a solution for my problem, the problem has been described before but a proper answer hasn't.

The problem: Dual monitor is not working properly.
The motherboard has DVI, VGA and HDMI.
Monitor01 is connected to DVI
Monitor02 is connected to HDMI using an DVI-HDMI cable.

Monitor01 and 02 are properly working but one of them has to be unplugged. When both plugged in they work until the bootscreen is almost done. Then one stays black and the other has many glitches where you can't see what's on the screen.

The motherboard I'm using is GA-B150-HD3P with an Intel i7-6700K. (iMac17,1)
The videocard shows up as: Intel HD Graphics SKL CRB 1536 MB, as far as I know is it working properly.

I'm using the latest Mac OS X 10.11.5 as well as the latest version of Clover.

I've included my current config.plist as well as two .ioreg files, one with only the DVI plugged in and one with only the HDMI plugged in.

I hope this is enough information for the one that can help me.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    6.7 KB · Views: 261
  • DVI.ioreg
    2.5 MB · Views: 107
  • HDMI.ioreg
    2.5 MB · Views: 94
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,094
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
I've read through this thread and I haven't really found a solution for my problem, the problem has been described before but a proper answer hasn't.
Hi BSEQ,
A proper answer doesn't exist simply as booting with two or more monitors whilst connected to HD530 integrated graphics doesn't work. The AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext(driver) crashes at the desktop which you've seen with your system. To use an extra monitor there is a work around:
Disable AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext, then hot plug the 2nd monitor.
I'm able boot with the 2nd screen switched off and turn it on at the desktop.
Connector edits may be necessary for your system to achieve this. First apply the above and test hot plug method. If your 2nd screen displays OS X you're good. If it doesn't we can add a patch via your config.plist.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2016
Messages
31
Motherboard
GA-Z170N-WIFI
CPU
Core i7 6700K
Graphics
Integrated
Hi BSEQ,
A proper answer doesn't exist simply as booting with two or more monitors whilst connected to HD530 integrated graphics doesn't work. The AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext(driver) crashes at the desktop which you've seen with your system. To use an extra monitor there is a work around:
Disable AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext, then hot plug the 2nd monitor.
I'm able boot with the 2nd screen switched off and turn it on at the desktop.
Connector edits may be necessary for your system to achieve this. First apply the above and test hot plug method. If your 2nd screen displays OS X you're good. If it doesn't we can add a patch via your config.plist.
To echo what wildwillow has said, I have a system that works just fine provided that you power up with only a single monitor connected. The second monitor can be added after OS-X has booted. This is a bit of a pain, but less of a pain than no dual monitor support.

On my system (Skylake, GA-Z170N, intel graphics), if the system is accidentally booted with both monitors connected (e.g. power outage), rebooting with a single monitor does not necessarily work. To fix this, power down monitors and machine, disconnect monitors from machine, wait ten minutes, reconnect one monitor only, and power up. Occasionally the display appears very flickery, and this is not resolved by rebooting. To remedy this go into system preferences, choose a different resolution, then select the original resolution.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2015
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-Z97-D3H
CPU
Xeon E3-1241V3
Graphics
GTX 680
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thank you for your reply, however we decided to buy an Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti graphics card since even if I'm able to make dual screen work, the whole unplugging before turning the machine on is too much work for the people here at work. It'll go wrong for sure.
Besides the nvidia card has some more power as well.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2016
Messages
31
Motherboard
GA-Z170N-WIFI
CPU
Core i7 6700K
Graphics
Integrated
Thank you for your reply, however we decided to buy an Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti graphics card since even if I'm able to make dual screen work, the whole unplugging before turning the machine on is too much work for the people here at work. It'll go wrong for sure.
Besides the nvidia card has some more power as well.
I'd be interested to know whether dual monitor from power-up works on the Nvidia board.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,094
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
I'd be interested to know whether dual monitor from power-up works on the Nvidia board.
Yes alalal dual/multi-monitor works with supported Nvidia cards from boot.
Note: Nvidia cards are off topic in this thread discussion.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
209
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
It did break multi-monitor but can be resolved, see post#150.

Can confirm that in sierra HD 530 Is natively supported, the only thing that won't work is multi-monitor for now, Tried using Shilohh's app but since sierra has a new security thing I can't open the app at all. Hopefully once the beta or full release is out someone finds a proper patch instead of hot swapping it.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,094
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Can confirm that in sierra HD 530 Is natively supported, the only thing that won't work is multi-monitor for now, Tried using Shilohh's app but since sierra has a new security thing I can't open the app at all. Hopefully once the beta or full release is out someone finds a proper patch instead of hot swapping it.
I won't be testing until the public beta is available, and when released I'll be happy to join in the fun and games but until then as the Rules clearly state :
  • This site allows discussion of pre-release software (such as OS X Public Beta software builds) from the free Apple Beta Software Program. This site does NOT support pre-release Apple Developer Program Beta software, and does NOT allow the discussion of installation or use of Apple Developer Program Beta software. Repeated violations of this rule will result in a permanent ban. No Apple Developer Program Builds, Apple Beta Software Program builds only.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
209
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
I won't be testing until the public beta is available, and when released I'll be happy to join in the fun and games but until then as the Rules clearly state :
  • This site allows discussion of pre-release software (such as OS X Public Beta software builds) from the free Apple Beta Software Program. This site does NOT support pre-release Apple Developer Program Beta software, and does NOT allow the discussion of installation or use of Apple Developer Program Beta software. Repeated violations of this rule will result in a permanent ban. No Apple Developer Program Builds, Apple Beta Software Program builds only.
OOPS sorry, didn't see that I'll be grabbing one of the next gen GPUs soon when they have proper OS X support so hopefully I won't have hot swapping issues! I'll talk to you when the beta is out!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top