Contribute
Register

Skylake HWP Enable

Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
897
Motherboard
GigaByte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
No, just remove them. Clear Plugin type config under SSDT section. Just leave blank.
Working? :)
are you seeing X86PlatformPlugin or ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin? Could you please make a screenshot inside of your ACPI/patched folder?

Did you check your Clover EFI folder in ACPI/Origin and Patched? This is a different ACPI than the config.plist and is where your generated SSDTs end up. Clover boot loader usually defaults with 2-4 in that folder, you have to remove them manually. Of course, if you did a PRGen ssdt creation then you already know that, but I thought I would put it out there for others.
EFI ACPI folder.png
@kolyapatrik says no need the SSDT for CPU if you are using this method. I little bit confused. Because of that I removed CPU ssdt from my ACPI/patched folder. After that I can't see X86PlatformPlugin I can see ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
64
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X Ultra Gaming
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
Nvidia 970 GTX
Do any of you have benchmark scores of this compared to simple overclocking via the BIOS (which is simpler and work cross OS)?

I'm not convinced that OS X by default is so bad at managing the CPU. I get 100% 4/4 core usage instantly when it's needed (like for Handbrake), but low usage when it's not needed.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
123
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Do any of you have benchmark scores of this compared to simple overclocking via the BIOS (which is simpler and work cross OS)?

I'm not convinced that OS X by default is so bad at managing the CPU. I get 100% 4/4 core usage instantly when it's needed (like for Handbrake), but low usage when it's not needed.
This is exactly what i see with my 6700k (not overclocked) in Hardware Monitor. I mean AE render time improvements are always welcome. But i'll preserve the overclocking for the time when i feel i need a speed bump (maybe in the next years). I just finished building this film/photo editing one month ago and i'm glad that all is fully functional right now.

But if there're improvements with this type of handling also for non overclocked systems, then it might become interesting for me. But for now i still don't get the point. But i'm following this interesting thread for sure ;)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2012
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 5
CPU
i5 6600K
Graphics
Gigabyte G1 RX480 4GB
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Do any of you have benchmark scores of this compared to simple overclocking via the BIOS (which is simpler and work cross OS)?

I'm not convinced that OS X by default is so bad at managing the CPU. I get 100% 4/4 core usage instantly when it's needed (like for Handbrake), but low usage when it's not needed.
First, You're right.
Second,
imagine...:

Your Skylake CPU have a special "flux compensator". Yeah! :) This unit can handle resources served by BIOS across OS.
  • Your CPU have flux compensator (HWP)
  • BIOS set your CPU resources
  • OS determine how CPU work
Third, with HWP you can config two extra thing. You can control how much agressive your CPU and can control min-max frequency including OC.

OS configured for a Golden Way by default. MacBook = less agressive CPU, more power saving. Mac Pro = Agressive CPU, no matter power saving. Different SMBIOS, different needs.

So, with HWP you can tell to the OS how it will use CPU capacity FOR YOUR NEEDS (power or battery saving). This is a simple, stable, direct hardware management skill thanks for the Flux compensator in your Skylake CPU.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2012
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 5
CPU
i5 6600K
Graphics
Gigabyte G1 RX480 4GB
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
This is exactly what i see with my 6700k (not overclocked) in Hardware Monitor. I mean AE render time improvements are always welcome. But i'll preserve the overclocking for the time when i feel i need a speed bump (maybe in the next years). I just finished building this film/photo editing one month ago and i'm glad that all is fully functional right now.

But if there're improvements with this type of handling also for non overclocked systems, then it might become interesting for me. But for now i still don't get the point. But i'm following this interesting thread for sure ;)
Ok, depend your needs. Not necessary using OC max frequency. The most stable usage if your RED hex digits are 28. This equal max 4.0Ghz (6700k base max). But, you can determine how CPU use up this 4Ghz by GREEN hex digits. I suggest for You, use 20 green hex digits.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2012
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming 5
CPU
i5 6600K
Graphics
Gigabyte G1 RX480 4GB
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
HWP Doesn't work with iMac 17,1 SMBIOS
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
44
Motherboard
asus z170i pro gamming
CPU
kaby lake 7700k
Graphics
hd630+gtx 1060 OC 6GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have build my Mac with kaby lake cpu, i7-7700k.
LPC enabled.
when open some app, and put in idle
room temperature, 21.5c

using ssdtGen.sh, and put SSDT.aml in acpi/patch
power jump in 5.8w~11.98w, IA 3.3w~9.7w
frequency 1.96Ghz~2.69Ghz, GT, 0Ghz
temperature, 40c~44c,
Screen Shot 2017-03-05 at 3.06.18 AM.png

using clover HWPEnable true, value 0x80002A01, frequency blank, and keep SSDT.aml in acpi/patch
power keep in 8w, IA 6w
frequency 3.69Ghz, GT, 0Ghz
temperature, 41.2c,
Screen Shot 2017-03-05 at 2.43.55 AM.png

which one is best ? may be average is same.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
44
Motherboard
asus z170i pro gamming
CPU
kaby lake 7700k
Graphics
hd630+gtx 1060 OC 6GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have build my Mac with kaby lake cpu, i7-7700k.
LPC enabled.
when open some app, and put in idle
room temperature, 21.5c

using ssdtGen.sh, and put SSDT.aml in acpi/patch
power jump in 5.8w~11.98w, IA 3.3w~9.7w
frequency 1.96Ghz~2.69Ghz, GT, 0Ghz
temperature, 40c~44c,
View attachment 239670

using clover HWPEnable true, value 0x80002A01, frequency blank, and keep SSDT.aml in acpi/patch
power keep in 8w, IA 6w
frequency 3.69Ghz, GT, 0Ghz
temperature, 41.2c,
View attachment 239669

which one is best ? may be average is same.
I had use freqVector tools
https://github.com/Piker-Alpha/freqVectorsEdit.sh
change something with my board-id.
maybe it some trick with system kexts or plist.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
123
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Ok, depend your needs. Not necessary using OC max frequency. The most stable usage if your RED hex digits are 28. This equal max 4.0Ghz (6700k base max). But, you can determine how CPU use up this 4Ghz by GREEN hex digits. I suggest for You, use 20 green hex digits.
I'm a bit confused because i'm not so deep into configurating this, sorry. I have to state that i still might have not fully understood how to follow your steps.
you also mention that HWP won't work with iMac 17,1 SMBIOS. This is exactly what i use.
My system based on 10.12.3 works flawlessy and i won't turn it into a system that has some issues.
I mean it doesn't have to come so, i just want to mention this since i'm still new to Hackintoshes.
Overall i'm not sure how and what might the consequences are turning iMac 17,1 SMBIOS into something other to get into HWP use.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
930
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
For me, HWP work with iMac 17,1 SMBIOS.
Tested with El Capitan 10.11.6 & Sierra 10.12.3

Even HWP function is enable, ssdtprgen is still necessary for active AGPM.

Kabylake Base CPU on Sierra

MSI B150 Pro-VH + i3-7100 + HD630, ok.
GA H110M-H + Pentium G4560 (iGPU HD610 not supported) + NV GT630 / ( AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext deleted).

For HWP fully function, need disable xcpm (not disable -xcpm boot flag).
Use FakeCPUID 0x0306a0 & apply NullCPUPowerManagement.kext.
With FakeCPUID 0x0506e3 xcpm mode is always on.
Do not worry about NullCPUPowerManagement.kext, CPU PM is now controlled by HWP.


Skylake Base CPU on El Capitan
Asus B150 PRO Gaming D3 + Pentium G4500 + HD530, only test with El Capitan (Pentium base HD530 cause windows server error on Sierra).
HWP enable + xcpm enable, ok.
Enable HWP & disable xcpm, best.
 
Top