Skylake HWP Enable

Discussion in 'Overclocking' started by kolyapatrik, Feb 14, 2017.

  1. pH24

    pH24

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte B250M D3H
    CPU:
    Pentium G4600 (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jun 19, 2017 at 9:37 AM #181
    pH24

    pH24

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte B250M D3H
    CPU:
    Pentium G4600 (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    What are the requirements to enable HWP by SMBIOS for Pentium? Is the following enough?
    1. SSDT-PR.aml to inject "Plugin Type"
    2. XCPM enabled(two patches needed)
    3. Proper X86 Injector
     
  2. shuhung

    shuhung

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    331
    Mobo:
    MSI B250M PRO-VDH
    CPU:
    i3 7100
    Graphics:
    HD630 + RX460
    Jun 19, 2017 at 10:01 AM #182
    shuhung

    shuhung

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    331
    Mobo:
    MSI B250M PRO-VDH
    CPU:
    i3 7100
    Graphics:
    HD630 + RX460
    I tested your config.plist, can not use for enable HWP, I still try to figure it out, now I test your config step by step, problem should caused by config.plist.

    I will post the result after test.
     
  3. shuhung

    shuhung

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    331
    Mobo:
    MSI B250M PRO-VDH
    CPU:
    i3 7100
    Graphics:
    HD630 + RX460
    Jun 19, 2017 at 10:14 AM #183
    shuhung

    shuhung

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    331
    Mobo:
    MSI B250M PRO-VDH
    CPU:
    i3 7100
    Graphics:
    HD630 + RX460
    Try attached files first, it work for Pentium G4400 with SMBIOS MacPro6,1.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. shuhung

    shuhung

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    331
    Mobo:
    MSI B250M PRO-VDH
    CPU:
    i3 7100
    Graphics:
    HD630 + RX460
    Jun 19, 2017 at 11:38 AM #184
    shuhung

    shuhung

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    331
    Mobo:
    MSI B250M PRO-VDH
    CPU:
    i3 7100
    Graphics:
    HD630 + RX460
    1, Yes
    2, Yes
    3, Yes

    It is rather weird, I use your config.plist then HWP and ATI HD5550 not work, I create a new config.plist, copy settings form your config.plist, everything work.

    Edit: forget to attached result, I can not find out what problems in your config.plist but it not work, create a new config.plist and copy back settings should work.
     

    Attached Files:

    • MacPro 6,1 HWP.png  (2.7 MB, 67 views)
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2017
  5. pH24

    pH24

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte B250M D3H
    CPU:
    Pentium G4600 (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jun 19, 2017 at 3:33 PM #185
    pH24

    pH24

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte B250M D3H
    CPU:
    Pentium G4600 (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Thanks. Be out for a while. I will test it right now and report back.
     
  6. pH24

    pH24

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte B250M D3H
    CPU:
    Pentium G4600 (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jun 19, 2017 at 4:04 PM #186
    pH24

    pH24

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte B250M D3H
    CPU:
    Pentium G4600 (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    I can not use the config you provided in #183. Too many customizations for your hack in the config you provided. You said you copy the setting from my config to a new config and HWP works. Would you please provide the newly created copy of my config? The one you said working?
     
  7. shuhung

    shuhung

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    331
    Mobo:
    MSI B250M PRO-VDH
    CPU:
    i3 7100
    Graphics:
    HD630 + RX460
    Jun 19, 2017 at 4:33 PM #187
    shuhung

    shuhung

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    331
    Mobo:
    MSI B250M PRO-VDH
    CPU:
    i3 7100
    Graphics:
    HD630 + RX460
    Here the file.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. pH24

    pH24

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte B250M D3H
    CPU:
    Pentium G4600 (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jun 19, 2017 at 5:00 PM #188
    pH24

    pH24

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte B250M D3H
    CPU:
    Pentium G4600 (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Pretty sad. It's not working.
     
  9. shuhung

    shuhung

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    331
    Mobo:
    MSI B250M PRO-VDH
    CPU:
    i3 7100
    Graphics:
    HD630 + RX460
    Jun 19, 2017 at 5:13 PM #189
    shuhung

    shuhung

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    331
    Mobo:
    MSI B250M PRO-VDH
    CPU:
    i3 7100
    Graphics:
    HD630 + RX460
    It surely work for my G4400, from 10.11.6 to 10.13b all work.

    Edit: light load result.
     

    Attached Files:

    • MacPro 6,1 HWP 3.png  (1.4 MB, 70 views)
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2017
  10. pH24

    pH24

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte B250M D3H
    CPU:
    Pentium G4600 (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jun 20, 2017 at 1:24 AM #190
    pH24

    pH24

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte B250M D3H
    CPU:
    Pentium G4600 (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    :crazy: That's strange. One thing I note is that you don't need KernelPM patch? If I disable it, kernel panic happens.
     

Share This Page