Skylake ASUS ThunderboltEX 3 Testing

Discussion in 'Hardware Troubleshooting' started by beelzebozo, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. zarf2007

    zarf2007

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Asus
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    1080 GTX
    Jul 26, 2017 at 10:25 PM #41
    zarf2007

    zarf2007

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Asus
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    1080 GTX
    Hi All,
    I have the Ex3 thunderbolt card and an Asus z170 Pro Gaming motherboard, does anyone know if this will work as I cannot find the thunderbolt header to connect the card?

    thanks
     
  2. beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,654
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 28, 2017 at 7:03 PM #42
    beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,654
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Your mobo doesn't support TB3.
     
  3. jnorato

    jnorato

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Aug 8, 2017 at 5:26 PM #43
    jnorato

    jnorato

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    No matter which OsxAptioFix I use, I am unable to boot macOS when I enable TB in the BIOS. TB and Apollo Twin work fine in Windows 10 (I've got that going for me, which is nice).
     
  4. insideusall

    insideusall

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 Pro
    CPU:
    i6600k
    Graphics:
    1050 Ti
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 19, 2017 at 2:05 PM #44
    insideusall

    insideusall

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 Pro
    CPU:
    i6600k
    Graphics:
    1050 Ti
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This is my first build and I've got everything working great except for this card which arrived yesterday.

    I can get this working in Windows 10, but am totally stumped for Sierra 10.12.6 :(

    I have the card in the lowest slot, nearest the header and I've enabled 4x on that PCIEx Slot.

    Had to go back to OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi as OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi & the free2000 caused the waiting for root error. I had to dig around online for but also didn't work, perhaps someone can post one they know works? I have the latest BIOS and theres so many configs, other than No Security I'm not sure what else to try so if anyone has any tips be much appreciated.

    Cheers

    IMG_6107.jpg IMG_6109.jpg IMG_6108.jpg IMG_6110.jpg
     
  5. beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,654
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 24, 2017 at 6:48 PM #45
    beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,654
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It takes a couple of restarts before I can boot with Thunderbolt enabled.
     
  6. d0ntlookd0wn

    d0ntlookd0wn

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Sep 2, 2017 at 4:33 PM #46
    d0ntlookd0wn

    d0ntlookd0wn

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Turn off the thunderbolt add in card's usb controller. It's the option for Thunderbolt USB support. I've got mine booting now, but still can't get my Apple TB display to work yet. No drivers loaded.
     
  7. vinai

    vinai

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    10.6.8
    CPU:
    2600
    Graphics:
    5770
    Sep 5, 2017 at 4:09 AM #47
    vinai

    vinai

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    10.6.8
    CPU:
    2600
    Graphics:
    5770
    Akitio T3T To Thunder2 100% Works?
     
  8. schnabelmann

    schnabelmann

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Asus Z270-A Prime
    CPU:
    i7 - 7700K
    Graphics:
    nVidia1030
    Sep 16, 2017 at 9:43 AM #48
    schnabelmann

    schnabelmann

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Asus Z270-A Prime
    CPU:
    i7 - 7700K
    Graphics:
    nVidia1030
    I just assembled a z270-a prime build. I've got random halts at logo boot, with the "No" sign. I also have intermittent connects to my Thunderbolt peripherals. Still can't see any patterns - other than the UA Apollo is only discovered after a soft reboot. Never been found after a cold start
    I'm guessing the z270 is a bit new still and I'm hoping for more forum activity about it soon.
     
  9. bezaleel7

    bezaleel7

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 Deluxe / SIERRA
    CPU:
    Intel i5
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 1060
    Oct 4, 2017 at 6:09 AM #49
    bezaleel7

    bezaleel7

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 Deluxe / SIERRA
    CPU:
    Intel i5
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 1060
    @beelzebozo
    Great job on getting the Apollo to work on a hackintosh! I aspire to be like you in success. I found your video on youtube for the Apollo Twin with the hackintosh build. It gave me the courage to get my own Apollo Twin for my home studio.

    I followed all your instructions, but one thing I could not do was use Windows 10 because I don't have it. I only have my Sierra OS on my hackintosh.

    My current issue is that I got as far as updating the BIOS on the ASUS Z170 Deluxe. It updated to the current 3504 version. but it seems to have reset the BIOS settings, and I am no longer able to get back into my macOS system. I tried putting what I could find back to the way I had it when i built the machine but now the bios has some features missing like in the USB configuration, the XHCI hand off is missing. I am not sure if this is causing my issue. Right now I'm stuck on what to do. i could use some help. Here are screen shots of whats going on currently. My system hangs on boot up, and, before the BIOS update, I was able to boot up. But, then my graphics card stopped working, and the Apollo wasn't recognized. LOL. I'm a mess right now.

    My set up:

    Clover
    macOS Sierra
    ASUS Z170 Deluxe
    Core i5
    GTX 1060
    32GB DDR4 RAMThunderbolt EX 3
    Startech adapter to Thunderbolt 2
    Apollo Twin MK 2 Duo
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_3681.JPG  (2.3 MB, 51 views)
    • IMG_3683.JPG  (2.1 MB, 56 views)
    • IMG_3682.JPG  (2.1 MB, 59 views)
    • IMG_3679.JPG  (3 MB, 64 views)
    • IMG_3678.JPG  (2.8 MB, 62 views)
    • IMG_3677.JPG  (3.3 MB, 45 views)
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 4, 2017
  10. beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,654
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 6:31 PM #50
    beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,654
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    @bezaleel7
    Set Enable USB and Mouse Simulator to Disable.
     
    bezaleel7 likes this.

Share This Page