Skylake ASUS ThunderboltEX 3 Testing

Discussion in 'Hardware Troubleshooting' started by beelzebozo, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,632
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 14, 2017 at 3:03 PM #31
    beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,632
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I think it's OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi or OsxAptioFix2Drv.efi but not both, therefore OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi if enabling Thunderbolt in BIOS.
     
  2. iJ-88

    iJ-88

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Feb 21, 2017 at 10:34 PM #32
    iJ-88

    iJ-88

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    11
  3. FabioPeterhans

    FabioPeterhans

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170-A
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Apr 29, 2017 at 8:29 PM #33
    FabioPeterhans

    FabioPeterhans

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170-A
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    I am using the Asus ThunderboltEX 3 AIC with my Asus Z170-A. It works great in Windows. But when using MacOS, I get a prohibition sign 2 out of 3 times I start the OS (only when Thunderbolt is enabled in BIOS)

    I have been trying to resolve the issue by trying different boot settings (there are a TON of thunderbolt boot settings in the latest BIOS..)

    If anybody has a working tip and / or working BIOS settings, I could potentially really benefit. Thanks for the help..
     
  4. beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,632
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 4, 2017 at 5:42 PM #34
    beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,632
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Please see post #1 for solution to waiting for root error.
     
  5. hughythomas

    hughythomas

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
    CPU:
    4790K @ 4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 780 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    May 8, 2017 at 10:44 PM #35
    hughythomas

    hughythomas

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
    CPU:
    4790K @ 4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 780 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Hi guys, don't suppose anyone is having an issue whereupon enabling thunderbolt in the Bios (after installing the EX 3 card ofc) means that 2 SATA ports are disabled? This is completely useless for me as I run a seperate music drive that is now no longer being loaded at all?!
     
  6. beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,632
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 9, 2017 at 4:18 PM #36
    beelzebozo

    beelzebozo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,632
    Mobo:
    Main Build: ASUS z170-Deluxe
    CPU:
    i7 - 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If your motherboard is Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK, then I have no idea. You'll have to check your user manual.
     
  7. Gorelander

    Gorelander

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    INTEL® CORE™ I7-6700K
    Graphics:
    ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970 4GB GDDR5 PCIE
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 19, 2017 at 6:20 AM #37
    Gorelander

    Gorelander

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    INTEL® CORE™ I7-6700K
    Graphics:
    ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970 4GB GDDR5 PCIE
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The Asus Thunderbolt3EX card worked well for me after making the necessary bios changes and moved it to the PCI slot closest to the TB header. The only issue is I have to boot it into Windows 10 first where the installed Intel driver configures and enables the chain, then reboot into Mac OS. Clearly there needs to be an intel driver, or configurator utility in order to get it to work solely with MacOS. If I didn't dual boot, I'd be out of luck running TB3 in MacOS. If someone has a work around, I'd love to hear it. :)

    Interestingly the Clarett2Pre thunderbolt interface I used had audio drop outs consistently in Windows 10 but worked like a charm in MacOS. In all fairness, their Windows drivers were in beta.
     
  8. RyanC

    RyanC

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Jun 26, 2017 at 7:01 PM #38
    RyanC

    RyanC

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Hey All-

    I got everything setup with the thunderboltex 3 card and a x99 a-II. Working great. The one issue I'm having is when I setup a TB hub, everything works fine with the hub except the video quality through the displayport to my HDTV does not seem to be scaling correctly. So I have DP connected to the asus card (DP to mini DP), a TB3 to TB2 adapter (apple) to TB2 cable, to hub and then HDMI out to my samsung 43" HDTV. With HDMI it was plug and play, but via DP I'm having to fiddle with zooming etc and it doesn't quite look right.

    Any tips?

    Otherwise pretty awesome tech, I'm getting this setup for a new recording studio build where each control room will have a Focusrite Red 8Pre. With the long optical TB cables I can run just the one cable from the machine room to all the control rooms, a network cable for dante and have video/usb/TB on the one cable and networked audio on the other.
     
  9. BoomR

    BoomR Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,080
    Mobo:
    CustoMac Pro: GA-Z170X-DESIGNARE
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 5, 2017 at 9:24 PM #39
    BoomR

    BoomR Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,080
    Mobo:
    CustoMac Pro: GA-Z170X-DESIGNARE
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    What kind of TB docking station are you using? (Just curious). I'd do some trial & error to see if a different TB dock would give better results. Also consider trying a different brand of TB3 > TB2 adapter. I have one of these from Akitio, & it works great.
     
  10. DSM2

    DSM2

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    ASUS X99-A II/ASUS X99-DELUXE-II/ASUS X299 PRIME-A
    CPU:
    6950X/7900X
    Graphics:
    2x AMD VEGA 64
    Jul 24, 2017 at 7:11 AM #40
    DSM2

    DSM2

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    ASUS X99-A II/ASUS X99-DELUXE-II/ASUS X299 PRIME-A
    CPU:
    6950X/7900X
    Graphics:
    2x AMD VEGA 64
    Sounds to me like you are using an DSDT, Am I right? If so remove your DSDT since it’s not configured correctly and that’s why you have to boot windows everytime before you can use thunderbolt 3 in MacOS.
     

Share This Page