Contribute
Register

Sierra z68x-ud3h-b3 No Ethernet Detected (10.12.6)

Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3
CPU
i7 3.39
Graphics
MSI GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Having the problem with ethernet not registering as en0 in order to access App Store. It used to work, but somewhere along the line WiFi became en0 so things needed to be fixed.

I've followed the instructions to remove the network devices SysPrefs->Network, delete networkinterfaces.plist, preferences.plist, etc., and then rebooting.

After this, OSX will not detect ethernet at all. (Meaning when I go back into SysPrefs->Network to re-add devices, adding Ethernet is not an option)

About This Mac -> System Report does not show any ethernet card present.

DPCIManager does not detect ethernet. It registers Wifi as En0.

The previous working Kext was RealtekRTL8111.kext from RehabMan and it was in Clover/Kexts/10.12

I cannot get that to work again whether on the EFI partition, or in L/E or in S/L/E.

Any tips would be appreciated to solve this one.

I have a stable system otherwise, but being unable to update some apps is causing a slowdown.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
24,825
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The previous working Kext was RealtekRTL8111.kext from RehabMan and it was in Clover/Kexts/10.12
When injecting kexts with Clover all kexts should be in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other only.
For clarity delete all of the /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.* folders.

Alternatively install to /Library/Extensions.
It is useful to have your ethernet kext and FakeSMC.kext in both locations but ensure they are the same version in each.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
24,825
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Should it be seamless moving from 10.12 to Other folder?
It's hardly rocket science.
If you are that worried then save a copy of your current /EFI folder and then you can always get back to where you are now if need be.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
24,825
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ethernet issue remains the same as before.
Ensure that Ethernet is enabled in the BIOS settings.

zip and attach your /EFI folder.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
24,825
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I cannot see anything there that would prevent your Ethernet from working.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,144
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ethernet enabled in Bios and I attached the zip file below.

Much appreciation for your guidance.

Check where the correct booting EFI partition is.

According to your install log you have a 120GB internal drive, a 250GB internal drive, 2x 2TB internal drives and an external 4TB drive. Of those four of them have EFI partitions.

There's a chance you are modifying the wrong EFI folder in the wrong partition? And even if not, which is the default boot drive? The EFI you uploaded has the Microsoft Windows boot files too, on the 120GB drive ...

Sierra seems to be on the 250GB drive.

o_O
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3
CPU
i7 3.39
Graphics
MSI GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's definitely loading the kexts from the Clover EFI directory (because that's the only one Clover is installed on, I checked the others). I dual boot to Windows on a different drive but double check BIOS isn't loading that drive first.

I ran "kextstat" in terminal, and it seems like Clover isn't injecting the networking kexts for some reason.
 
Top