Contribute
Register

Sierra on X79

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
46
Motherboard
I still didn't
CPU
read the
Graphics
Rules!
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey guys, hope all is doing well with your x79 boards. Right now I am running Yosemite and am very pleased with everything but I'm not able to get the latest updates and security. Plus i'm about ready to format and start new.

Having an issue. I have the GA-X79-UP4, GTX 780 w/6gb ram, Intel i7 4930k. Using Sandisk extreme hard drives. Normally booting into the installer is the hardest part for me. This time around i'm about to boot into the installer using the bootflags: -v -cpus=1 npci=0x3000 nv_disable=1 PCIRootUID=0. HOWEVER. No matter what I do, I can't seem to get the installer to run on the formatted SSD I had prepped for the OS. I've tried multiple drives, formatted several times for GUID. Followed every different walkthrough and I receive this error message. "A disk with a mount point is required". Can't find anything online about it. I'm convinced there is a trick to getting the board to work with Sierra but I haven't found one yet.

If anyone out there would be able to help, that would be great! I would document my experience on here so that one more person can have a success story on x79 boards for Sierra.

Thanks again!

Joe.
View attachment 236173


Hi Joe. I'm thinking of installing Sierra on a GA-X79-UD3 which used to run Mountain Lion really well. Hence, I've made a return to the forums to see if anyone has done this.

Just wondering if you got this rig working.
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
18
Motherboard
x79
CPU
i7 4390k
Graphics
GTX780 x2
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi Joe. I'm thinking of installing Sierra on a GA-X79-UD3 which used to run Mountain Lion really well. Hence, I've made a return to the forums to see if anyone has done this.

Just wondering if you got this rig working.

I never got it working. Anyone know if I can update from yosimete without formatting? Maybe that will work better.
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
18
Motherboard
x79
CPU
i7 4390k
Graphics
GTX780 x2
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I think it's an issue accessing the hard drive for some reason. I have a similar issue on clean install.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1363.JPG
    IMG_1363.JPG
    4.8 MB · Views: 108
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,822
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think it's an issue accessing the hard drive for some reason. I have a similar issue on clean install.
If you can upload your Unibeast Sierra USB installer's "CLOVER" folder without the contents of its "themes" folder as a compressed file to this Forum, I can take a look at and suggest some help.
These are the steps to upload the file to this Forum:

  • Attach your Unibeast created Sierra USB Installer to the system it is created .
  • Download Clover Configurator Vibrant (CC-V)to that System from:http://mackie100projects.altervista.org/download-mac.php?version=vibrant
  • Launch CC-V >"Mount EFI" from the Left Panel (see image)
  • Locate your "Sierra USB installer" from the bottom half of CC-V window under Efi Partitions and click "Mount EFI" located toward the Right end of that (see Image)
  • You can now see the EFI partition of the USB installer on the desktop(see image)
  • Dbl -click EFI>EFI >CLOVER>themes .
  • Open "themes" and Copy and paste the contents on a newly created folder on the desktop just in case you want to use them again and then as a second step empty the contents of "themes" to Trash.
  • Go back to EFI Folder and Right click CLOVER>"Compress Clover". Now you have CLOVER minus the contents of "themes" as zipped file.
  • Upload the compressed Clover to the Forum.
 

Attachments

  • EFI>Clover.png
    EFI>Clover.png
    471.1 KB · Views: 168
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth x79
CPU
i7-3930K
Graphics
GTX 980ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Same here guys, no success at all with my Sabertooth x79. It's been two days and I been really trying to solve this, even tried Enoch's chameleon bootloader and getting same error 'Waiting on dict id=0...' - there's another thread with the guy on Remapge IV having similar issues and someone mentioned that this is linked to USB - basicly it get's killed thus the error and like we can't even get to installer. );
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-WIFI
CPU
G3258
Graphics
GTX 760 2047 MB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Trying to install Sierra on Alienware Aurora r4 which has a x79 motherboard. With the Unibeast 7.1.1 I get as far as "installation may take 15 minutes" and it craps out saying "Mac OS X could not be installed on your device". Any ideas?
 

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,449
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top