Contribute
Register

[Solved] Sierra no longer boots from SSD or USB after attempts to install Nvidea

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH (Clover)
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My build is as follows

i7 6700K -CPU
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH Motherboard
Gigabyte GTX 950 OC 2GB Windforce - GPU
16GB RAM Crucial Ballistix
Samsung 850 Evo SSD
HDD Seagate Barracuda 7200, 3.5", SATA III, 3TB
Arctic Cooling Freezer 13
LG Blue-ray
Dell P2415Q 4K screen
Fenvi 802.11AC Wifi Bluetooth card - NOT YET INSTALLED. Still waiting for it

I am a complete newbie at this. The last time I was inside a computer was installing a Digi 001 soundcard in a Pentium 3 laptop in the 90s. Have been on macbook pros ever since. This is my first build. I managed to succesfully install sierra and get it to boot off my SSD drive. The next day I managed to get the audio working following the instructions on this website. When I first booted up I needed to unplug my GPU and plug my screen into the onboard graphics of the motherboard. Once the installation was complete I could restore power to the GPU and didnt interfere with subsequent boots. Today I have been trying to get the GPU working. I used text edit to edit the config plist with the suggested edit, I also ticked the relevant boxes in the Clover Configurator and saved them. When I restarting I get passed the initial clover screen with options and such and OSX starts booting automatically. However the boot doesnt complete. I tried unplugging the GPU. No change. I tried booting from recovery. No change. I tried booting from USB. No change. I went into BIOS and noted that XHCI Handoff was somehow disabled {whatever that is}so I enabled it again. I loaded Optimized defaults again. Nothing else has changed. Still no change. I cant finish booting. Help me please!! I cant seem to find this issue on the forum here and I've spent about 2 hours on youtube on my gf's pc with