Contribute
Register

Sierra for HP 6200 Pro i5.

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,503
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Any thoughts on what I can try to fault find?
Use the -V boot flag (verbose) so that you can get specific info about why it hangs where it does.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
104
Motherboard
Asus z270G
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
MSI GT730 (NVIDIA GEFORCE)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@trs96 Hi. I think im doing something wrong. When i go to boot up the fresh install and hit command v, i get a breif amount of text, then it goes to Clover, i hit install (then i hold command v), it goes to the apple load screen but no verbose, just a load bar....have i cocked this up or am i not doing it correctly?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,227
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2 X Xeon E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hit command v

am i not doing it correctly?

You're not doing it correctly.
Command + v has no effect in Clover.
At the Clover boot menu highlight the drive that you want to boot from then press the spacebar.
You can then select verbose mode from the list of options.
Alternatively you can add -v to the boot flags in your config.plist.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
104
Motherboard
Asus z270G
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
MSI GT730 (NVIDIA GEFORCE)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@P1LGRIM Thank you, i shall try this.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
104
Motherboard
Asus z270G
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
MSI GT730 (NVIDIA GEFORCE)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
So that part worked, thank you. This was what came next if i have copied it correctly...<dict ID="0"><key>IOProviderClass</key><string ID="1">IOResources</string><key>IOResourceMatch</key><string ID="2">boot-uuid-media</string></dict>

Before, it also got stuck at "The Regents University of California"
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210426_170206_edit_280287671208793.jpg
    IMG_20210426_170206_edit_280287671208793.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 15
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
104
Motherboard
Asus z270G
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
MSI GT730 (NVIDIA GEFORCE)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@trs96 Hi. So im up to date with Mojave now and working. I have a spare SSD im going to put Catalina on but would like to know how to fully erase this SSD (850Evo) as it appears it has an old boot loader from the original i7 build that wont erase when using Disk Utilities. (Also, i cant access BIOS for some reason to erase ssd there).
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,503
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
but would like to know how to fully erase this SSD (850Evo) as it appears it has an old boot loader from the original i7 build that wont erase when using Disk Utilities.
In Disk Utility try to format it as FAT32 and MBR. That should get rid of the EFI partition. Then try again to make it HFS+ and GUID to create a new 200 MB EFI.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
104
Motherboard
Asus z270G
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
MSI GT730 (NVIDIA GEFORCE)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
For some reason it won't let me erase to create fat32
IMG_20210505_153941.jpg
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
104
Motherboard
Asus z270G
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
MSI GT730 (NVIDIA GEFORCE)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Should Verbose be able to be run while installing Catalina? My install keep freezing and when i try to run Verbose it will not. Any ideas?
 
Top