Contribute
Register

Sierra Black Screen with Inject Nvidia disabled

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
91
Motherboard
Ignore Me
CPU
I'm Ignoring
Graphics
Forum RULES !!!!!
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Attach config.plist.
Thank you for your time, here is the config file. I deleted the EFI and reinstalled a fresh copy using multibeast Sierra, and tested it, didn't work, used the config file you edited, no results. Nvidia web driver is activated as shows under apple/preference.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.8 KB · Views: 221
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,686
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thank you for your time, here is the config file. I deleted the EFI and reinstalled a fresh copy using multibeast Sierra, and tested it, didn't work, used the config file you edited, no results. Nvidia web driver is activated as shows under apple/preference.

You're config looks fine. I don't see why you should have black screen.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
3
It seems to work only once, I activated nvda_drv=1 and all was working. And after restart, i had black screen and needed to reactivate inject nvidia and log into sierra. Then I disabled inject nvidia again, restarted and everything was working, and after another restart I had black screen so I had to inject nvidia again to access sierra. It seems to work only after I disable inject nvidia and restart. 10.11.6 doesn't care what I do, it starts and works.
This is exactly where I am right now - did you manage to work it out? Driving me bonkers!
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
5,787
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
RX580 / HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This is exactly where I am right now - did you manage to work it out? Driving me bonkers!

Hi Nightstorm,

Update your build's hardware details under Personal Details section in the below format (Link is available on the upper right side of this website). Without knowing the exact hardware details, no one can point you to the right direction.

System : Motherboard + BIOS Version + Bootloader (Clover Legacy/Clover UEFI/Chameleon/Chimera)
CPU : Detailed CPU Model
Graphics : All Graphics Devices

For Example,
System : GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 Rev:1.0 (BIOS: F6) (CLOVER UEFI)
CPU : Intel® Core™ i7-6700
Graphics : Gigabyte GTX 970 WINDFORCE / Intel® HD Graphics 530

Then post your config.plist as a file here.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
33
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD5H (MP 5,1)
CPU
i7-4790K Devil's Canyon
Graphics
EVGA GTX 760 (2GB)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@VoiletDragon: I'm having a similar issue as @d112570 and @Nightstorm with my GTX 760. I've been posting about this for a few days with very little response. Thought I'd message you, since you've posted on several threads with similar issues.

If I install the web drivers and enable NVidiaWeb, it will only boot ONCE. Every other boot fails with a black screen right before the login screen. However, I can view my machine via screen sharing (can't connect though) and can connect and browse files via ssh.

After that first boot, I can only boot if I disable NVidiaWeb and add nv_disable=1.

My Config
  • Fractal Design Hackintosh (in signature)
  • Connecting via DisplayPort 1.2 to my Dell U2715H
  • I've attached my latest config.plist and a list of installed drivers
  • Added only AppleIntelE1000e, FakeSMC, and NullCPUPowerManagement to "EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.12/"
  • I'm using no DSDT or SSDT
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.5 KB · Views: 172
  • clover-drivers.png
    clover-drivers.png
    23.8 KB · Views: 78
Last edited:

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,732
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If I install the web drivers and enable NVidiaWeb, it will only boot ONCE. Every other boot fails with a black screen right before the login screen. However, I can view my machine via screen sharing (can't connect though) and can connect and browse files via ssh.

After that first boot, I can only boot if I disable NVidiaWeb and add nv_disable=1.

You may need to emulate NVRAM if your board does not have native NVRAM support.

See Problem 6.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
33
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD5H (MP 5,1)
CPU
i7-4790K Devil's Canyon
Graphics
EVGA GTX 760 (2GB)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You may need to emulate NVRAM if your board does not have native NVRAM support.

See Problem 6.

That's what's strange. I've always had the option to use nvram.plist checked in Clover Configurator AND can see nvram.plist in the root of my boot drive. I also have the Clover "RC Scripts" installed. I'd note that I don't have a 100 series motherboard though, so it shouldn't have issues?

I debugged it for many hours last night and was able to boot several times. Don't want to post my findings yet, since there's a chance it will refuse to boot today : P
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,732
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'd note that I don't have a 100 series motherboard though, so it shouldn't have issues?

Many boards don't have native NVRAM support, the problem is by no means confined to the 100 series.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
33
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD5H (MP 5,1)
CPU
i7-4790K Devil's Canyon
Graphics
EVGA GTX 760 (2GB)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@P1LGRIM, computer just booted up without any issues. Here's what makes me think my boot issue wasn't related to NVRAM. Or if it was, not in the way I'd expect:

If you look at my drivers screenshot above, you'll see I have the OsxAptioFix2Drv driver installed. However, I noticed that OsxAptioFixDrv was loading every time instead, even while booting with NoCaches=Yes and InjectKexts.

I would also note that my current working config does not have EmuVariableUefi installed.

All this makes me think it was some sort of kext caching issue. Of course, I've made a lot of other changes during my debugging as well:

BIOS Changes
  • I enabled Legacy USB Support
  • Changed XHCI Mode to “Auto”, instead of “Smart Auto”.
  • Enabled Wake on Lan
USB Config Changes
  • Added nvda_drv=1 boot argument
  • Added NullCPU
  • Removed cpus=1, since I’ve got NullCPU installed
  • Added darkwake=0 -no-zp to the boot options
After those changes, it continued to load OsxAptioFixDrv and went to sleep after "IOConsoleUsers". So I made a few more edits to my USB Clover install.
  • Added cpus=1 slide=0
  • Added debug under boot options
  • Added NeverHibernate to boot options
  • Removed Asus AICPUPM patch
  • Switched to Scan/Custom (Entries, Tool, Legacy, First)
  • Removed nvda_drv=1 and NvidiaWeb
It finally booted from the USB for the first time in ages, but still said it was loading OsxAptioFixDrv. That worried me, so I made a few more changes to my LIVE install to ensure it got loaded:

Sierra Install Config Changes
  • Copied over my USB config and updated to Clover v2.4 (4035)
  • Deleted nvram.plist
  • Deleted Apple/Firmware, Apple/Updaters from EFI partition.
  • Removed SATSMARTDriver.kext and SATSMARTLib.plugin from S/L/E
  • Deleted kext caches:
    Code:
    sudo rm -r /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches
    sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions
    sudo kextcache -update-volume /
After these changes, I shut down the computer and unplugged power for 30 seconds. Also removed the USB.

Results / Observations
I was able to successfully boot directly from the Sierra install. And OsxAptioFix2Drv loaded for the first time EVER. This hackintosh has been shutdown/restarted about half a dozen times since.

The GTX 760 loads with graphics acceleration without NvidiaWeb or nvda_drv=1 being checked in Clover config. However, it looks like nvda_drv is being added to nvram.plist.

Questions
I know that's super detailed, but I'm hoping all my issues might help someone else out. I guess my questions would be:
  1. Why do you think OsxAptioFix2Drv was refusing to load, even though I was booting with NoCaches=Yes and InjectKexts?
  2. Is there an easy way to test for native nvram support without borking my currently working install?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,686
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@VoiletDragon: I'm having a similar issue as @d112570 and @Nightstorm with my GTX 760. I've been posting about this for a few days with very little response. Thought I'd message you, since you've posted on several threads with similar issues.

If I install the web drivers and enable NVidiaWeb, it will only boot ONCE. Every other boot fails with a black screen right before the login screen. However, I can view my machine via screen sharing (can't connect though) and can connect and browse files via ssh.

After that first boot, I can only boot if I disable NVidiaWeb and add nv_disable=1.

My Config
  • Fractal Design Hackintosh (in signature)
  • Connecting via DisplayPort 1.2 to my Dell U2715H
  • I've attached my latest config.plist and a list of installed drivers
  • Added only AppleIntelE1000e, FakeSMC, and NullCPUPowerManagement to "EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.12/"
  • I'm using no DSDT or SSDT

GTX 760 is native doesn't require Nvidia Web Drivers. Black screen is related to Inject Nvidia/True in config. Should be false attach config.plist.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top