Contribute
Register

Sierra Black Screen with Inject Nvidia disabled

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
91
Motherboard
Ignore Me
CPU
I'm Ignoring
Graphics
Forum RULES !!!!!
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a GTX 660 Ti, I read on the web that Nvidia needs to be disabled, but when I disabled I get black screen after loading. When I have it enabled I can log in, but only 1 of my monitors are active, the other 2 are offline.

I went from iMac 14,2 down to 13,2 since the original iMac 13,2 has a 660 for a graphic card. Did not solve any problems.

With Inject Nvidia disabled in the clover settings, Sierra is usable, but im missing my 2 monitors.

Sierra is fresh install, I copied the EFI folder from the USB stick to the Sierra EFI Drive.
Under 10.11.6 Everything works.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,703
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a GTX 660 Ti, I read on the web that Nvidia needs to be disabled, but when I disabled I get black screen after loading. When I have it enabled I can log in, but only 1 of my monitors are active, the other 2 are offline.

I went from iMac 14,2 down to 13,2 since the original iMac 13,2 has a 660 for a graphic card. Did not solve any problems.

With Inject Nvidia disabled in the clover settings, Sierra is usable, but im missing my 2 monitors.

Sierra is fresh install, I copied the EFI folder from the USB stick to the Sierra EFI Drive.
Under 10.11.6 Everything works.

iMac 13,2 is correct for your system. Attach config.plist.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
91
Motherboard
Ignore Me
CPU
I'm Ignoring
Graphics
Forum RULES !!!!!
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
iMac 13,2 is correct for your system. Attach config.plist.

config file uploaded

System - 10.12
Mainboard - GA-Z97-D3H
Prozessor - i7-4790
GPU - Nvidia 660 Ti
Installed - Nvidia web driver

I have a Skylake system at home with GTX 980, no problems there.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.8 KB · Views: 234
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,703
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
config file uploaded

System - 10.12
Mainboard - GA-Z97-D3H
Prozessor - i7-4790
GPU - Nvidia 660 Ti
Installed - Nvidia web driver

I have a Skylake system at home with GTX 980, no problems there.

Here try this.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.6 KB · Views: 279
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
91
Motherboard
Ignore Me
CPU
I'm Ignoring
Graphics
Forum RULES !!!!!
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here try this.

Thx for your help, I have replaced the config file and I still get black screen, I had to enable "Inject Nvidia" which works, but my GPU says I have 0 MB VRAM, and can't get my other 2 screens working. Same as before.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,703
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thx for your help, I have replaced the config file and I still get black screen, I had to enable "Inject Nvidia" which works, but my GPU says I have 0 MB VRAM, and can't get my other 2 screens working. Same as before.

Do you have nvidia web drivers installed?
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,703
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
91
Motherboard
Ignore Me
CPU
I'm Ignoring
Graphics
Forum RULES !!!!!
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Then that's you're problem. Change (inject nvidia) to false. And boot with nvda_drv=1.
It seems to work only once, I activated nvda_drv=1 and all was working. And after restart, i had black screen and needed to reactivate inject nvidia and log into sierra. Then I disabled inject nvidia again, restarted and everything was working, and after another restart I had black screen so I had to inject nvidia again to access sierra. It seems to work only after I disable inject nvidia and restart. 10.11.6 doesn't care what I do, it starts and works.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,703
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
It seems to work only once, I activated nvda_drv=1 and all was working. And after restart, i had black screen and needed to reactivate inject nvidia and log into sierra. Then I disabled inject nvidia again, restarted and everything was working, and after another restart I had black screen so I had to inject nvidia again to access sierra. It seems to work only after I disable inject nvidia and restart. 10.11.6 doesn't care what I do, it starts and works.

Attach config.plist.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top