Contribute
Register

Sierra 10.12 install successful! But suddenly booting into black screen w/ cursor

Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Gene VIII
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX-780 TI
Got my hackintosh up and running last week, specs in profile. Started it up this morning and noticed 2 things:

1) after clover, when the apple logo pops up with the loading bar, the loading bar only made it about 2/3's of the way before disappearing (usually goes all the way to the ned)

2) once that screen disappears, i'm met with a black screen with my cursor in the top left corner. Cursor works, as does the keyboard screenshot hotkey that allows me to crop what i want to take a screenshot of:

803110852_10633262076800337507.jpg

Things i've tried:
1) Different variations of booting with "injecting with kexts" and "without caches" from internal drive
2) trying "inject EDID"
3) Changing product ID/board version to more recent Imac's (was using 14,2 before)
4) changing "inject-intel" to false, from true
5) changing the ig-platform-id - which now displays 00000000 on every restart? I thought edits through the clover menu were not permanent?
6) Changing the fakeid value under "inject-intel" to 0x19120000, which is the correct value for my desktop intel hd530. This allowed me to boot from usb drive, but not from internal drive. So where do i go from here?

Since I can now get into my unibeast-made usb boot drive with fakeid set to that value, i'm going to try a CLOVER boot drive, following these instructions:

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/how-to-create-a-macos-sierra-public-beta-installation-usb.195077/

Edit: Clover boot drive (without caches, with kext injections) goes into this screen:
803709989_6455885394199551280.jpg

Mouse moves, but stuck on beach ball. also desktop looks as above
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
115
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Very interested in your findings. I'm trying to upgrade from El Cap to Sierra with only HD530 (no other GPU) and I'm getting a black screen at 2/3 of the install progress bar. I've a feeling all of these hd530 issues are connected :)
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Gene VIII
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX-780 TI
Very interested in your findings. I'm trying to upgrade from El Cap to Sierra with only HD530 (no other GPU) and I'm getting a black screen at 2/3 of the install progress bar. I've a feeling all of these hd530 issues are connected :)
Seems to be the case! I held off getting a GPU, since I don't game or do video work. Now i feel my hand is being forced....

I will say though, i got through the install process just fine. I have, in my search this morning, found others complaining of hte same problem you're talking about. Wish i could offer you more suggestions. My install went off without a hitch (generally) using the Sierra install guide posted here. Hope you get yours working.

Some links that might help you:

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/ssdt-gpu-graphics-card-injection.183354/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-imac-15-or-imac-17-system-definition.183113/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/skylake-intel-hd-530-graphics-glitch-fix.206410/
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Gene VIII
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX-780 TI
Okay, i threw in a spare drive i had, wiped it, installed sierra with unibeast, and got to the first reboot. Now, upon booting from this NEW drive, my computer is displaying the exact same problem as with the other drive....

This leaves two possibilities i could htink of:
1) drive #1 (the first one that led to the creation of this whole thread) is somehow still loading something for the boot from drive number #2 (the one i just installed sierra on).

OR

2) the problem is with my MOBO.

any ideas?
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
571
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
only plug in one drive and try, I had an issue where somehow my config.plist was being read from another drive. that and get a 750Ti, its cheap and should fix your video issues.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Gene VIII
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX-780 TI
only plug in one drive and try, I had an issue where somehow my config.plist was being read from another drive. that and get a 750Ti, its cheap and should fix your video issues.
thank you, that worked. Do you have any idea how I can fix the config file on my nonfunctional drive, without having to wipe it clean and do a fresh install?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just to be clear... Your problem has been resolved after installing on your second hard drive and your first hard drive is not connected to the computer, correct?

If so, you can just do the following:

  1. Mount the EFI partition of your second drive and copy the entire EFI folder to your desktop.
  2. Unmount the EFI partition of your second drive.
  3. Connect your first drive to the computer via a USB adaptor.
  4. Mount the EFI partition of your first drive and copy the EFI folder on your desktop to it. (Replace the existing EFI folder)
  5. Shut down.
  6. Reconnect first drive to your motherboard.
  7. Choose to boot from first drive in BIOS.
* Note: Technically, you should be able to do this without having to connect the first drive via USB but I wanted to eliminate as many potential issues as possible.
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
571
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just to be clear... Your problem has been resolved after installing on your second hard drive and your first hard drive is not connected to the computer, correct?

If so, you can just do the following:

  1. Mount the EFI partition of your second drive and copy the entire EFI folder to your desktop.
  2. Unmount the EFI partition of your second drive.
  3. Connect your first drive to the computer via a USB adaptor.
  4. Mount the EFI partition of your first drive and copy the EFI folder on your desktop to it. (Replace the existing EFI folder)
  5. Shut down.
  6. Reconnect first drive to your motherboard.
  7. Choose to boot from first drive in BIOS.
* Note: Technically, you should be able to do this without having to connect the first drive via USB but I wanted to eliminate as many potential issues as possible.
What he said ;)
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Gene VIII
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX-780 TI
Just to be clear... Your problem has been resolved after installing on your second hard drive and your first hard drive is not connected to the computer, correct?

If so, you can just do the following:

  1. Mount the EFI partition of your second drive and copy the entire EFI folder to your desktop.
  2. Unmount the EFI partition of your second drive.
  3. Connect your first drive to the computer via a USB adaptor.
  4. Mount the EFI partition of your first drive and copy the EFI folder on your desktop to it. (Replace the existing EFI folder)
  5. Shut down.
  6. Reconnect first drive to your motherboard.
  7. Choose to boot from first drive in BIOS.
* Note: Technically, you should be able to do this without having to connect the first drive via USB but I wanted to eliminate as many potential issues as possible.
Thanks! will give this a go later tonight.

Quick question, i'm unable to get audio working at all on my 2nd install - though it works fine on my first. Would replacing the EFI folder on the broken EFI partition with my current, audio-less EFI replicate this problem?


I've tried several differnt guides, followed them to a tee for my specs to fix audio and i'm still getting "no audio codec detected" when i try to run toleda's audio patch. No output devices, fresh install of Apple HDA didn't work, repeated installs of multibeast with just the appropriate codecs checked didn't work... etc etc.
 
Top