Contribute
Register

Sidecar

Status
Not open for further replies.

beelzebozo

Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
3,604
Motherboard
ASUS z170-Deluxe
CPU
i7 - 6700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASUS Z270A Prime
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
I seem to getting a similar issue, I can see option to enable sidecar to my iPad Pro 11inch or the 12.9inch. But when i select the iPad, the iPad just shows a blank screen. On the Mac, the display preferences seem to detect a second screen (iPad). iPad turns on the sidecar app, but nothing on the iPad itself.

My build is:
CPU - Intel i5 7500
Motherboard - ASUS Z270-A Prime
RAM - 16GB Kingston Fury X
GPU - Sapphire RX50 8GB

Any idea where i should be looking to solve this?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,442
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I seem to getting a similar issue, I can see option to enable sidecar to my iPad Pro 11inch or the 12.9inch. But when i select the iPad, the iPad just shows a blank screen. On the Mac, the display preferences seem to detect a second screen (iPad). iPad turns on the sidecar app, but nothing on the iPad itself.

My build is:
CPU - Intel i5 7500
Motherboard - ASUS Z270-A Prime
RAM - 16GB Kingston Fury X
GPU - Sapphire RX50 8GB

Any idea where i should be looking to solve this?

which SMBIOS are you using?
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASUS Z270A Prime
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
324
Motherboard
GIGABYTE H270N-WIFI
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a Kaby Lake CPU, all works (I guess), I use SMBIOS 18,3 and I can't invoke Sidecar with my 2018 iPad Pro :/

Screenshot 2019-10-09 at 10.07.07.png
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
190
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
I seem to getting a similar issue, I can see option to enable sidecar to my iPad Pro 11inch or the 12.9inch. But when i select the iPad, the iPad just shows a blank screen. On the Mac, the display preferences seem to detect a second screen (iPad). iPad turns on the sidecar app, but nothing on the iPad itself.

My build is:
CPU - Intel i5 7500
Motherboard - ASUS Z270-A Prime
RAM - 16GB Kingston Fury X
GPU - Sapphire RX50 8GB

Any idea where i should be looking to solve this?
Do you have the iGPU enabled in BIOS?
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
190
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
I have a Kaby Lake CPU, all works (I guess), I use SMBIOS 18,3 and I can't invoke Sidecar with my 2018 iPad Pro :/
Do you connect it via USB cable?
To me in some betas it happened that he didn't recognize iPAD with Wi-Fi, then after a connection with USB he started to recognize it.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
324
Motherboard
GIGABYTE H270N-WIFI
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you connect it via USB cable?
To me in some betas it happened that he didn't recognize iPAD with Wi-Fi, then after a connection with USB he started to recognize it.

ok I’ll try, thanks!

UPDATE: I could connect with the cable, everything works. But as soon as I unplug the iPad Pro from the cable, Sidecar stops to work. No Wifi Sidecar for me and I dont know why :/

UPDATE 2: I have found this in Hackintool 2, take a look at the screenshot....maybe thats the problem?
Screenshot 2019-10-09 at 11.40.49.png


UPDATE 3: Im pretty much convinced that I need to amend the settings of the videocard framebuffer etc. through hackintool, however, Im not that skilled in these things so maybe someone with a working iMac 18,3 SMBIOS with Kaby Lake iGPU can share the screenshots of the settings in Hackintool. Im attaching my screenshots that cause Sidecar to not work on Wifi.

Thanks!


Screenshot 2019-10-09 at 11.52.13.pngScreenshot 2019-10-09 at 11.40.49.pngScreenshot 2019-10-09 at 11.52.16.pngScreenshot 2019-10-09 at 11.52.20.pngScreenshot 2019-10-09 at 11.52.24.pngScreenshot 2019-10-09 at 11.52.30.pngScreenshot 2019-10-09 at 11.52.32.pngScreenshot 2019-10-09 at 11.52.35.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASUS Z270A Prime
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Do you have the iGPU enabled in BIOS?

That seems to be issue. But when i enable Multi-monitor option, then it stops booting with error "Couldn't allocate runtime area"
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0502.JPG
    IMG_0502.JPG
    3.8 MB · Views: 78
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
190
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Catalina sees your iPad in the Finder when the USB cable is not connected, but is it only under the same Wi-Fi?
ok I’ll try, thanks!

UPDATE: I could connect with the cable, everything works. But as soon as I unplug the iPad Pro from the cable, Sidecar stops to work. No Wifi Sidecar for me and I dont know why :/
Catalina sees your iPad in the Finder when the USB cable is not connected, but is it only under the same Wi-Fi?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top