Contribute
Register

Short's Beastly Build - i7-4770k - GA-Z87X-UD3H - GTX 770 4GB

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
69
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
1. I can't decide what to do in first step. Which version of bios should I install? I get that updating to F9 is a bad idea but I don't know if I must begin with F7 or skip directly to F8m version (or F8k).
I also noticed there was a new version F10a. Does someone tested it?

2. What the point of having a partition at step 5?

3. Just to be clear, with your configuration, you set IGPEnabler=No, right? Because I am a bit confused with the "if you want" and trying not to miss something.
1. You can flash F8m BIOS directly.
2. You have to partition the HDD/SSD you will install OS X on to with Mac OS Extended (Journaled). You can have as many partitions on that particular drive, I just made one partition for OS X.
3. I set IGPEnabler=No because I use my GTX 770. If you don't have a dedicated graphics card you have to set IGPEnabler=Yes and configure your BIOS accordingly (step 2.6 and 2.7).
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
354
Motherboard
Probook 4440:4540
CPU
i3-3110M
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Memory related freezes due to using 4 sticks of memory and/or older memory not one the motherboard manufacturer's verified memory list. For systems that are freezing due to memory problems are encouraged to not use 4 sticks of memory and keep the BIOS XMP parameter at the default setting (not Profile1).

Agreed with remedies, but I had incidents with just 2 certified memory sticks as well.

BTW, I loaded Z87XUD3H.10a and so far it is holding up ok. No freezes or memory corruption under usage scenarios triggering freezes on my hack.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA Z87 UD3H
CPU
i7 4770K
Graphics
980 ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi all,

I have successfully installed the exact same configuration of Short (wasn't really easy for a first build but I did it ^^).
I flashed bios directly to f8m, but I can't pass through this screen when I boot with USB (right after pressing return key):
F8yO7I4.jpg

(last letter cut on top right is "e")​

I desperately can't fix that, any help is appreciated.
Maybe I should flash the bios to f7, install mavericks and once it's running fine update the bios to f8m, but can I do it since I already set a newer version?

Edit:
I tried reseting to f7, same problem.
Back to f8m, I tried all bootflags, and lots of combinaison. Randomly, -v -x will let me access mavericks installation, without any drives found so I check psu and sata cables of my ssd, but nothing seems wrong (in bios, my ssd is identified).

Edit 2:
OMG such a noob. I jut loaded default bios, then launched unibeast from usb without bootflags, but the thing I totally forgot was to use disk utility to partition my ssd...
In case someone as noob as me get stuck on this I leave it here but I'm pretty much ashamed about it.

Edit 3:
I installed Mavericks, Multibeast wih short's config file.
Mavericks is working only when booting from chimera option booting screen (when pressing a key before mavericks boots on his own so I could launch it myself...).
Booting without pressing a key show the 0xdeadbeef error again everytime.
I plugged back all the RAM, changed bios to XMP profile 1, disabled IGP, PCIe1 as intial display, wake on lan disabled, change boot priority to my ssd, xHCI Mode > AUTO, xHCI Hand-OFF > ENABLED, EHCI Hand-OFF > ENABLED

Does anyone knows what I could do to fix that wrong automatic booting?

Edit 4:
I unplugged my 8go usb drive, and now it seems to boot without any issue...
http://i.imgur.com/1AImWUN.jpg
Everything seems to work, I just have to check there are no drives in usb ports before booting.

Thanks a lot Short and bless this forum :)
 
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
51
Motherboard
AsRock Z370 Fatal1ty Gaming ITX/ac
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Agreed with remedies, but I had incidents with just 2 certified memory sticks as well.

BTW, I loaded Z87XUD3H.10a and so far it is holding up ok. No freezes or memory corruption under usage scenarios triggering freezes on my hack.

So how about the F10a BIOS, is it holding up nicely or did you revert back to F8m?
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
354
Motherboard
Probook 4440:4540
CPU
i3-3110M
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
What's new in the new BIOS, and what did you find better in F10a compared to F8m, as everyone here says F8m is the best!?
It looks better (red/orange color scheme). I had some issues even with F8m, although very rare. With F10a I experienced a reboot one time after over a week of up time. I was not around to witness it, but it was under heavy network load . I keep rolling on F10a. I also switched to Intel Pro NIC and disabled onboard NIC recently, so I am using native Apple network drivers.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2013
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
CPU
Intel i5 4670k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 660
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Has anyone been able to flash BIOS F9 succesfully? I'm on F8 right now and when I go to flash F9 it says "The current Flash Utility is outdated. Ask your vendor or visit Gigabyte Website for an updated one!"
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA Z87 UD3H
CPU
i7 4770K
Graphics
980 ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I got the same and couldn't figure out why, so I'm running f8m.

I experienced first big freeze today and couldn't do anything but push reset button.
It was happening every time I plugged a USB device (front and rear ports).
This problem seems to be solved with a single modification in bios : xhci set to activated instead of auto.

Edit:
Problem is back :banghead:
System freeze as soon as I plug my external hard drive.
I tested xhci set to auto, smart auto, enabled but nothing works.
I can't boot with an usb device plugged in before pushing boot button.

I don't know what to do, does someone have solved this issue yet? That would be a great relief.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 5-CF
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1070
I have a similar rig and was wondering how you got HDMI audio working on your GTX770? I have a 760 which I assume would be a similar set-up. If you could shed any light on it that would be greatly appreciated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top