Setup Guide for Gigabyte BRIX and BRIX Pro using Clover

Discussion in 'Mavericks Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Mar 31, 2014.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 31, 2014 at 1:42 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    IMG_0911.jpg

    1. Follow main Install OS X Mavericks using Clover guide here:
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/mavericks...-how-install-os-x-mavericks-using-clover.html

    When editing/replacing files on the Clover USB in STEP 2 and STEP 4:

    2. Place attached SSDT.aml in /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/

    3. Place attached config.plist in /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/

    4. Place attached kexts in /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/


    Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 9.26.39 AM.png

    IMG_0907.jpg

    Audio now working using the following solution
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/131974-brix-brix-pro-audio-realtek-alc269.html
     

    Attached Files:

  2. chemary85

    chemary85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X99-UD4P
    CPU:
    Intel i7-5820K OC 4,3Ghz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Gigabyte GTX580 SOC
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 31, 2014 at 2:19 PM #2
    chemary85

    chemary85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X99-UD4P
    CPU:
    Intel i7-5820K OC 4,3Ghz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Gigabyte GTX580 SOC
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Wow!

    Thanks! i am thinking to purchase this miniPC and with this tutorial, i have more clear! ;)

    Thanks Tony! ;)
     
  3. mykuls

    mykuls

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    Ati 6850
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Centris, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 1, 2014 at 12:31 AM #3
    mykuls

    mykuls

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    Ati 6850
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Centris, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Does this procedure leave everything working?
     
  4. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 1, 2014 at 1:03 PM #4
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Add a system definition in config.plist in order for full compatibility- you can use Clover Configurator for that- check the main guide for a link. HDMI audio is working with the attached SSDT and config.plist in 10.9.2 with AppleHDA.

    The headphone audio options can be enabled using the VoodooHDA driver, but the config will have to be tweaked. See here for details on using Voodoo and AppleHDA together.
     
  5. minihack

    minihack

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Mobo:
    Zotac Z77-ITX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated HD 3000 + MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Apr 2, 2014 at 10:32 PM #5
    minihack

    minihack

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Mobo:
    Zotac Z77-ITX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated HD 3000 + MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Nobody yet patched AppleHDA for ALC269 on this board?
     
  6. devillordking

    devillordking

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Apr 4, 2014 at 8:57 AM #6
    devillordking

    devillordking

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    I've successfully installed the Operation System.
    But I can't use the WIFI.
    I can only boot from USB. Is it possible to boot without plugging it?
     
  7. TheBrew

    TheBrew

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte BRIX Pro
    CPU:
    i7-4770R
    Graphics:
    Intel Iris Pro Graphics 5200
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 4, 2014 at 3:21 PM #7
    TheBrew

    TheBrew

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte BRIX Pro
    CPU:
    i7-4770R
    Graphics:
    Intel Iris Pro Graphics 5200
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Use UEFI, not legacy.

    Note that there's no driver for the Wi-Fi + Bluetooth 4.0 module (RTL8821ae).

    And I don't know if I'm alone with this, but the Realtek RTL8111G gigabit network is terribly laggy here. Communication that should take milliseconds takes seconds.

    With my other Macs the network is snappy.

    Anyone else experiencing slow network with their BRIX?
     
  8. TheBrew

    TheBrew

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte BRIX Pro
    CPU:
    i7-4770R
    Graphics:
    Intel Iris Pro Graphics 5200
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 4, 2014 at 3:29 PM #8
    TheBrew

    TheBrew

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte BRIX Pro
    CPU:
    i7-4770R
    Graphics:
    Intel Iris Pro Graphics 5200
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sounds like you missed the second "Install Clover" step in the guide. And yes, the Wi-Fi + Bluetooth module isn't supported (Yet? Anyone good at porting linux drivers?).
     
  9. smosse

    smosse

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 9, 2014 at 12:56 PM #9
    smosse

    smosse

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    hello,
    i am trying to install Maverick using Clover on a brand new Brix GB-BXi5-4200 with a mSATA 60GB disk.
    The install start with no problem but i get stuck at the end of the instalation preparation part of Mavericks with "About 0 seconds remaining".
    That is where it should restart and then do the real installation.

    I have tried diiferent Clover conf legacy or UEFI , but ends up all the time with the message.

    anyone having this problem ? and hopefully a solution ? :)

    UPDATE 1: i seems to work if i do the install on an external usb drive .... ill try to carbon copy clone teh partition afterward to the mSATA internal drive and let you know. i know this is only a workaround.

    UPDATE 2: So Mavericks is working from the USB Hard Drive .. but my mSATA disk is not showing on diskutil ! it was showing when i tried the installation...

    UPDATE 3: so i started again from the instalation usb stick .. then succed to partition/format my internal mSATA
    then boot back on my mavericks install on the external usb hard drive where i can now see my mSATA drive :)
    Carbon copy in progress

    UPDATE 4: Everything is working
     
  10. scoobdawg

    scoobdawg

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Apr 25, 2014 at 6:29 PM #10
    scoobdawg

    scoobdawg

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Hi - Have my Brix I5 showing up today - So at this point the wifi+Bluetooth doesn't work? Thats key for me - Can I use a different wifi/bluetooth card?

    Thanks - This is my first time building a Hackintosh - so newbie here..
     

Share This Page