Contribute
Register

Security Update 2020-002 (High Sierra) & (Mojave)

Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
246
Motherboard
HP 6300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, Quadra, SE/30
Updated Clover to r5107 and then Mojave to 18G4032.
It works on 5 series.
HP8100.png
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i5-9600k
Graphics
RX580
Btw. why is it showing the build version in your overview? How can that be enabled?
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,434
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Btw. why is it showing the build version in your overview? How can that be enabled?

Hi there.

Hold down the Cmd key while you mouse-click on the Version number in the About this Mac pane :thumbup:
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,434
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Mar 5, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 UD
CPU
i3-9100
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple, Performa, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I tried installing via Software Update. The update appeared to succeed, and I proceeded to reboot. After it powered back on, I got the Gigabyte splash screen, and then...nothing! Just a black screen, no Clover. I tried multiple times, and also tried letting it sit in this state for about an hour, but Clover never loaded. I guess the update seemed to have corrupted the Clover install or EFI partition in some way? Has anyone encountered this?

Luckily, I still have my USB installer, so I booted Clover from that. I'm not sure if it was there before, but I think a new "Install from Mojave" partition appeared. I'm not sure if it's related to the update, but I'm not able to boot from that partition, as I get a "couldn't allocate runtime error" which slide=0 doesn't fix (normally I don't have to use this boot flag to boot from "Mojave").

Finally, I reinstalled Clover (upgraded from r5103 to r5108) to my SSD, rebooted, and ran SecUpd2020-002Mojave.pkg and SecUpd2020-002Mojave.RecoveryHDUpdate.pkg from /Library/Updates/061-90745. Rebooted again, picked my regular "Mojave" partition, and the update seems to have applied. (Thanks to @UtterDisbelief for the solution on running the individual packages!)

Does anyone know if any of the other packages should also be installed?

Screen Shot 2020-04-03 at 11.37.49 AM.png
 
Top