Contribute
Register

Screen distorted on boot HD5500, UEFI native (no CSM), 1920x1080 HP 450 G2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
38
Motherboard
I didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
When I set the boot option to native (no hybrid, no CSM), clover starts the boot menu at full resolution of 1920x1080, however when system boots up to login screen, it becomes distorted. This issue was reported in other threads and the solution there was to add the fixes below to boot.plist - however in my case this does not work. I also changed the graphics card RAM size in Bios without any luck. Is there a new fix for this?

Code:
            <dict>                <key>Name</key>
                <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                AQAAdRc=
                </data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                AQAAdBc=
                </data>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>Second Stage patch 10.11</string>
            </dict>

My install is a default HP-CE Install, except changing back to OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi:
Code:
[FONT=Menlo]ls drivers64UEFI/
[/FONT][FONT=Menlo]FSInject-64.efi        
HPFanReset.efi 
OsxFatBinaryDrv-64.efi[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]HFSPlus.efi
[/FONT][FONT=Menlo]OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi

[/FONT]ls kexts/10.11/
[FONT=Menlo]ACPIBacklight.kext[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]ACPIBatteryManager.kext[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]ACPIPoller.kext[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]BrcmBluetoothInjector.kext[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]FakePCIID.kext[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]FakePCIID_BCM94352Z_as_BCM94360CS2.kext[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]FakeSMC.kext[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]IOath3kfrmwr.kext[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]ProBookAtheros.kext[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]RealtekRTL8111.kext[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]VoodooPS2Controller.kext[/FONT]
My full config.plist:
View attachment config.plist
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When I set the boot option to native (no hybrid, no CSM), clover starts the boot menu at full resolution of 1920x1080, however when system boots up to login screen, it becomes distorted. This issue was reported in other threads and the solution there was to add the fixes below to boot.plist - however in my case this does not work. I also changed the graphics card RAM size in Bios without any luck. Is there a new fix for this?

Code:
            <dict>                <key>Name</key>
                <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                AQAAdRc=
                </data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                AQAAdBc=
                </data>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>Second Stage patch 10.11</string>
            </dict>

That patch is only for the momentary "glitch" that happens mid-way through the boot process. It does nothing for any kind of graphics issue you may have after booting.

Enable CSM in BIOS.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
... How can I check QE/CI when the screen is distorted?

Boot with config.plist/Graphics/Inject/Intel=false. Enable screen sharing. Take note of VNC address. Boot with Inject/Intel=true. Connect via VNC from another computer. Collect ioreg....

Note: HDMI monitor may work too.

Post ioreg: http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/58368-guide-how-make-copy-ioreg.html. Please, use the IORegistryExplorer v2.1 attached to the post! DO NOT reply with an ioreg from any other version of IORegistryExplorer.app.
 
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
38
Motherboard
I didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
IOReg with distorted screen: View attachment Laptop_Screen_Garbled_No_CSM.ioreg

IOReg without InjectIntel (no QE/CI): View attachment Laptop_No_Inject_Intel_no_QE_CI_boot_verbose.ioreg
+ screen shot of verbose boot with errors for that case:

IMG_20150922_165742.jpg
View attachment Laptop_Screen_Garbled_No_CSM.ioreg

Thanks
PS: The workaround of setting a (lower) display resolution in plist.conf seems to workaround the issue.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
IOReg with distorted screen:

Looks normal, but without EFI/Clover folder, I cannot tell which PNLF patch you have.
A photo of the resulting screen might help too.

IOReg without InjectIntel (no QE/CI):[/quote]

QE/CI not expected to work without Inject/Intel=true.

+ screen shot of verbose boot with errors for that case:

Normal/expected.

PS: The workaround of setting a (lower) display resolution in plist.conf seems to workaround the issue.

Typical.

It can also be related to "Fast boot" (it should be disabled).
 
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
38
Motherboard
I didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
Looks normal, but without EFI/Clover folder, I cannot tell which PNLF patch you have.
A photo of the resulting screen might help too.
:

It's the untouched CLOVER from the HP post installer (Version 6.4.2 (September 14th 2015)), except that I changed to OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi per your advice.
View attachment CLOVER.zip

Let me know if you want me to re-upload that.

QE/CI not expected to work without Inject/Intel=true.
Normal/expected.
Typical.

It can also be related to "Fast boot" (it should be disabled).

Jep I understand. Let me double check fast boot.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
38
Motherboard
I didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
You did not. This EFI is using OsxAptioFix2.

Well my point was, that the uploaded EFI directory is not reflecting this change. Or where did you get the information from? :problem:
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well my point was, that the uploaded EFI directory is not reflecting this change. Or where did you get the information from? :problem:

Posting a EFI/Clover folder that you're NOT using is not helpful.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2012
Messages
3,464
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
i5 3320M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1600x900
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well my point was, that the uploaded EFI directory is not reflecting this change. Or where did you get the information from? :problem:

The config.plist is created from a bugged PBI CE. Please remove Screen Resolution in GUI section of config.plist. It's not needed in 1600x900+ screen.

EDIT: Look like it's not related to your problem. Can you take a screenshot of garbled screen?

So you have to set 1024x768 in config.plist or enable CSM to fix the garbled screen?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top