Contribute
Register

Solved > Sapphire RX580 Pulse - No video from HDMI

Joined
Oct 30, 2018
Messages
239
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have this card in my signature build. Up until last night, I thought everything was "golden." Until I started plugging my additional monitors in using the adapter's HDMI ports.

When using HDMI with two of my LG 32UD59B monitors, the system only boots to black screen after the initial progress-bar.
Up until that point, the screens appear to be in the proper 4K resolution. And, then just go to black. Soon after that, the monitors' power saving function shuts them both down due to the monitor receiving 'no signal'.

When using the same monitors connected to DP0 and DP1 ports, I have no issues.

Problem is, I need to use the monitors' HDMI inputs for THIS system so that the DP inputs can be used with my 'main' MacPro6,1 which doesn't support full-rez using HDMI.

I have tried reading as much as I can on Radeon RX 580 configs. But, it appears that Mojave pretty much negates the need for those fixes (should work OOB) So, 'nothing' appears to have been the right thing to do.
Am I missing an important step of the config for this card?
 
Last edited:

Jamesbond007

Moderator
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
4,986
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have this card in my signature build. Up until last night, I thought everything was "golden." Until I started plugging my additional monitors in using the adapter's HDMI ports.

When using HDMI with two of my LG 32UD59B monitors, the system only boots to black screen after the initial progress-bar.
Up until that point, the screens appear to be in the proper 4K resolution. And, then just go to black. Soon after that, the monitors' power saving function shuts them both down due to the monitor receiving 'no signal'.

When using the same monitors connected to DP0 and DP1 ports, I have no issues.

Problem is, I need to use the monitors' HDMI inputs for THIS system so that the DP inputs can be used with my 'main' MacPro6,1 which doesn't support full-rez using HDMI.

I have tried reading as much as I can on Radeon RX 580 configs. But, it appears that Mojave pretty much negates the need for those fixes (should work OOB). So, 'nothing' appears to have been the right thing to do.
Am I missing an important step of the config for this card?
Have you tried using a DisplayPort to HDMI adapter with your graphics card?
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2018
Messages
239
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Joined
Oct 30, 2018
Messages
239
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Have you tried using a DisplayPort to HDMI adapter with your graphics card?
Found a high speed DP-->HDMI cable locally. HDMI Video (at the monitor) works when connected this way. So, it's not in the monitors' recognition of the signal.
This cable only works DP-->HDMI. (huh?) So, I cannot reverse it to check HDMI-->DP operation. I am pretty sure the HDMI ports on the GPU are dark.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
322
Motherboard
MSI Z270 M7
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mobile Phone
iOS
Found a high speed DP-->HDMI cable locally. HDMI Video (at the monitor) works when connected this way. So, it's not in the monitors' recognition of the signal.
This cable only works DP-->HDMI. (huh?) So, I cannot reverse it to check HDMI-->DP operation. I am pretty sure the HDMI ports on the GPU are dark.
Check if you do not have CSM enabled (needs to be disabled) in your bios and/or if you have CsmVideoDxe-64 in EFi/Clover/driver64UEFI (needs to be removed).
 
Last edited:

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,042
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
You may have do the FrameBuffer mod in config.plist to force the use of the correct number of ports. See my procedure here.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2018
Messages
239
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
You may have do the FrameBuffer mod in config.plist to force the use of the correct number of ports. See my procedure here.
Thank you for the help. Unfortunately this did not work for me. There was no observable change when connecting via HDMI.

A few screenshots are provided as well as my config.plist for this build. If I have made any mistakes, I am not skilled enough to see them. If you don't mind, could you lend an expert eye?

Sincere Thanks!


clovconftext.png
clovcong12182018.png
DPCIReport12182018.png
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 30, 2018
Messages
239
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Check if you do not have CSM enabled (needs to be disabled) in your bios and/or if you have CsmVideoDxe-64 in EFi/Clover/driver64UEFI (needs to be removed).
Thanks. I checked both cases. BIOS is set correctly. And, the file is nowhere I can see.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M Pro4
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi HackinMax - I also have a Sapphire RX580 Pulse, which is running fine with the latest Lilu.kext (1.2.9) & WhateverGreen.kext (1.2.5) in my Efi/Clover/kexts/Other folder, either using an 18.1 or 18.3 Smbios, without any further patches needed in config.plist (no FBName & no selection of inject ATI).
Did you try it with Lilu & WhateverGreen already?
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2018
Messages
239
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Did you try it with Lilu & WhateverGreen already?
Yes. @jb007 has been working with me on getting the USB reporting and the headless video situation working for QuickView and Preview.
A big part of that was ensuring that my WeG and Lilu versions were current. The problem seemed to be with some older kexts and patches that had been loaded in my desperate efforts to clear this issue. Obviously there were some conflicts.

I have just now (literally minutes ago) completed that task successfully and, ALL GPU outputs are functioning perfectly now!

The HackinAorusPro is 100% functional now.

A HUGE Thanks to @jb007 @HackaShaq @Stork and everyone else here for helping a noob build a perfect beast! Now.... on to my GB Z370N MiniMax build.
 
Top