Contribute
Register

Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB GPU In my Mac Pro

Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
1
Hi Guys,

I bought this Saphire Radeon rx580 pulse 8gb GPU for my MAc Pro begin 2008. I have it connected with the two min pcie connectors. So powered the right way I think.
The problem is that only the fans are working but there is nothing on the screen. I connected it via DVI.

Right now I have El capitan 10.11.6 installed.

What could be the problem???
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
148
Motherboard
ASUS Prime H370M-PLUS
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Guys,

I bought this Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8gb GPU for my Mac Pro begin 2008. I have it connected with the two min PCIe connectors. So powered the right way I think.
The problem is that only the fans are working but there is nothing on the screen. I connected it via DVI.

Right now I have El Capitan 10.11.6 installed.

What could be the problem???

You have Lilu and Whatevergreen (latest) installed?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,698
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You have Lilu and Whatevergreen (latest) installed?
No! Lilu and Whatevergreen kexts are for Hackintoshes, not Mac Pro's.

I tested a Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB card in my Mac Pro 5,1. It gave me a black screen until it booted to the Desktop because the card's VBIOS was not patched with an EFI VBIOS patch. Unfortunately, there is no EFI patch for the RX 580. But, the good news is it works great with macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 and Mojave once you get to the Desktop.

@PeterMac, you won't be able to get the RX 580 to work in a 2008 Mac Pro running El Captian because the Apple RX 580 drivers didn't appear until 10.13.6. Sell it and get a used EVGA GTX 680 and flash it to work in the Mac Pro 3,1. I've done this and have figured out how to run High Sierra on my 2008 Mac Pro 3,1. You can too. See the MacRumor's Mac Pro forum section for information > https://forums.macrumors.com/forums/mac-pro.1/
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
Intel DQ77KB
CPU
Xeon E3-1230 V2
Graphics
GeForce GTX 770
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
For a Radeon RX580 to work on a 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 you need
  1. MacOs 10.13 High Sierra
  2. Dosdude's High Sierra patcher
The Metal drivers for RX580 and other AMD video cards require the SSE4.2 instruction set which is missing from the Harpertown Xeons on Mac Pro 3,1. You can stay on High Sierra or get a Nvidia Kepler card (GTX 680 / GTX 770) and install Mojave.

P.S. - The issue has already been discussed here: RX580 on a Mac Pro 3,1 - Mojave (SOLVED)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
3
Thanks. I ended up with a GTX680, still have a new RX580 sitting in a box. Will keep an eye out for a newer cheese-grater , maybe after mac announces a new mac pro some newer versions will flood the market - 2010 etc.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
mac pro
CPU
intel xeon
Graphics
HD 2600
Thanks. I ended up with a GTX680, still have a new RX580 sitting in a box. Will keep an eye out for a newer cheese-grater , maybe after mac announces a new mac pro some newer versions will flood the market - 2010 etc.

HI wallymcgoo, I have a same now Mac Pro 3.1 Now my setup is just Xeon 2.9 Ghz ATI HD 2600 32Ram... I am planning to upgrade the GPU to RX 580 or GTX 680 to have Mojave or Sierra, Can you suggest which will work best? Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Did anyone else have issues lately with this Sapphire RX580 and Mac Pro 5,1/4,1 on Mojave? My Mac Pro suddenly doesn't want to show anything on the screen, but it seems like the machine is booting.
 
Top