Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse wake up black screen

Status
Not open for further replies.

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,283
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @pastrychef,

I refreshed BISO with usb drive and use ur r5.1.7 EFI to boot the installer and revocered the system from Time Mahcine.

Everything back to origin.

Sleep still not working after USB fix(rig can sleep but die on wake - can't pass POSTed, even I've cleaned nvram before sleep or press F11 in clover)
Also looks like rx850 can not be recongized - based on this rx 580 rig post, I supposed to see rx 580 in Graphics Card Model.
The result is - one of my DP port will output 4k@30fps and it used to 4K@60fps with other fix(not sure which attemp I did)
So I still think this may related to rx 580 didn't being reconized properly
Please advised! Thanks!!
View attachment 448804

Don't worry about DPCIManager. My video card doesn't show there either.

Do you see your video card in System Information > Graphics/Displays?

How is your monitor connected? HDMI? DisplayPort? Are you using high quality cables? Your symptoms sound like what I experienced with low quality HDMI cables.

Have you tried with a different monitor?

Are you able VNC/Screen Share in to the computer after you try to wake it?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
57
Motherboard
ASUS Z370-G
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse
Mac
  1. iMac
Don't worry about DPCIManager. My video card doesn't show there either.

Do you see your video card in System Information > Graphics/Displays?

How is your monitor connected? HDMI? DisplayPort? Are you using high quality cables? Your symptoms sound like what I experienced with low quality HDMI cables.

Have you tried with a different monitor?

Are you able VNC/Screen Share in to the computer after you try to wake it?
Do you see your video card in System Information > Graphics/Displays?
Yes
How is your monitor connected? HDMI? DisplayPort? Are you using high quality cables? Your symptoms sound like what I experienced with low quality HDMI cables.

Yes I thought the same so I just bought two new cables which support DP 1.4(then I found out my monitor only supprt till DP 1.2 lol).
I got 4 monitors, 3 4K monitors(2DP,1 HDMI) and 1 1080P monitor(via HDMI).
Currently 1 DP output 4K@60fps while another DP 4K@30fps, HDMI 4K@30FPS(this may due to a low quality HDMI cable) the last HDMI 1080@60fps.

When I random apply the fix, two DP ports both were 4k@60fps


Are you able VNC/Screen Share in to the computer after you try to wake it?
No - the Mobo even not pass the POST state. Self check led from motherboard light in yellow.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,283
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you see your video card in System Information > Graphics/Displays?
Yes
How is your monitor connected? HDMI? DisplayPort? Are you using high quality cables? Your symptoms sound like what I experienced with low quality HDMI cables.

Yes I thought the same so I just bought two new cables which support DP 1.4(then I found out my monitor only supprt till DP 1.2 lol).
I got 4 monitors, 3 4K monitors(2DP,1 HDMI) and 1 1080P monitor(via HDMI).
Currently 1 DP output 4K@60fps while another DP 4K@30fps, HDMI 4K@30FPS(this may due to a low quality HDMI cable) the last HDMI 1080@60fps.

When I random apply the fix, two DP ports both were 4k@60fps


Are you able VNC/Screen Share in to the computer after you try to wake it?
No - the Mobo even not pass the POST state. Self check led from motherboard light in yellow.

If the video card is being shown correctly, in System Information > Graphics/Displays, it should be working right. Does it say Metal is supported?

DisplayPort 1.4 cables should be fine. They are fully backwards compatible.

I don't have any experience with multi-monitor setups. How does the system behave with just a single monitor connected via DisplayPort?

I've always had poor success with HDMI and 4K. Whenever I use HDMI with a 4K monitor, I make sure to go down to 30Hz for better stability.

If your motherboard won't post, how were you able to check System Information > Graphics/Displays???

Did you check the motherboard manual to see what the yellow light means???
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
57
Motherboard
ASUS Z370-G
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse
Mac
  1. iMac
If the video card is being shown correctly, in System Information > Graphics/Displays, it should be working right. Does it say Metal is supported?

DisplayPort 1.4 cables should be fine. They are fully backwards compatible.

I don't have any experience with multi-monitor setups. How does the system behave with just a single monitor connected via DisplayPort?

I've always had poor success with HDMI and 4K. Whenever I use HDMI with a 4K monitor, I make sure to go down to 30Hz for better stability.

If your motherboard won't post, how were you able to check System Information > Graphics/Displays???

Did you check the motherboard manual to see what the yellow light means???
Yes Metal is supported. I will come with screen shot later

Im not too worry about HDMI...
But I use two same DP cable with same brand/model 4k monitor but get different fps.. 4k@30fps has a 'laggy' feeling.

If your motherboard won't post, how were you able to check System Information > Graphics/Displays???
Did you check the motherboard manual to see what the yellow light means???


My bad, I mean if machine fall sleep and try wake up, it won't post. Yellow means DRAM faliure.
I will try screenshare tomorrow :)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,283
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes Metal is supported. I will come with screen shot later

Im not too worry about HDMI...
But I use two same DP cable with same brand/model 4k monitor but get different fps.. 4k@30fps has a 'laggy' feeling.

If your motherboard won't post, how were you able to check System Information > Graphics/Displays???
Did you check the motherboard manual to see what the yellow light means???


My bad, I mean if machine fall sleep and try wake up, it won't post. Yellow means DRAM faliure.
I will try screenshare tomorrow :)

If the motherboard is telling you there's a RAM failure, you will need to address that before you have any hope of stability.

Try disabling XMP.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,283
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Add EmuVariableUefi-64.efi has fixed my issue!

Z370 should not need emulated NVRAM. If your Z370 motherboard needs emulated NVRAM, something is wrong.
 

jd6

Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
133
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-11600k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i have the same issue I tried everything but still no go even adding this EmuVariableUefi-64.efi nothing. yet
this only happend on Catalina Mojave wake/sleep works fine.
any help will be appreciated

thnx
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
57
Motherboard
ASUS Z370-G
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse
Mac
  1. iMac
Z370 should not need emulated NVRAM. If your Z370 motherboard needs emulated NVRAM, something is wrong.
You are right - I did a future test with all my mornitors on.
The issue is on a spcific DP cable. As long as this cable being used, wake up can not pass DRAM self check.
Once the cable was replaced, everything as expected.... And I don't need emulated NVRAM

Life is a miracle..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top