Contribute
Register

Saphire Pulse RX 570 boot-to-blackscreen

ammulder

Moderator
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
3,467
Motherboard
GA-H87N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790S
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've found that HDMI ports often don't work without customizing settings. If you can connect via DisplayPort, even using a DP-to-HDMI adapter, it might just work.

To get HDMI working, see the procedure in this post.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
61MA-E35 (B3)
CPU
I5 2400
Graphics
Saphire Puls RX570
I've found that HDMI ports often don't work without customizing settings. If you can connect via DisplayPort, even using a DP-to-HDMI adapter, it might just work.

To get HDMI working, see the procedure in this post.
Thanks for the hint @ammulder I got myself a DP to HDMI adapter. But now I got a "flickering blackscreen" (blackscreen + a few milliseconds of the mojave login-screen + repeat).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 21, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
61MA-E35 (B3)
CPU
I5 2400
Graphics
Saphire Puls RX570
I found out that when I'm not using Whatevergreen + Lilu the monitor is completely dark. When I press the Menu-Button on my monitor the picture is stable for a few seconds. Therefore I was able to connect via screen-sharing on my MacBook. Everything looks fine here. I also tried a different monitor which said "no signal"
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2011
Messages
62
Motherboard
ASUS P7P55D-E-Pro - 1703
CPU
X3480
Graphics
RX 580
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook, SE, SE/30
Mobile Phone
Android
But now I got a "flickering blackscreen" (blackscreen + a few milliseconds of the mojave login-screen + repeat).
Try a DP (from your RX570) to HDMI (your monitor) cable rather than an adaptor. I had the same HDMI and DVI output-to-black screen issue which I just couldn't resolve, and the only fix was using the RX580's DP-out, so I initially bought a DP-to-DVI adaptor.

Although the adaptor worked for Mojave (and Linux), I also had the same problem as you with Win 10 and the adaptor i.e. blinking black for 5 seconds, then showing the Win 10 login screen for 1 second, before blinking off again. The guy in the PC store said it's a power-delivery problem for some adaptors. Whether that's correct or not, going to a cable fixed it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 21, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
61MA-E35 (B3)
CPU
I5 2400
Graphics
Saphire Puls RX570
Try a DP (from your RX570) to HDMI (your monitor) cable rather than an adaptor. I had the same HDMI and DVI output-to-black screen issue which I just couldn't resolve, and the only fix was using the RX580's DP-out, so I initially bought a DP-to-DVI adaptor.

Although the adaptor worked for Mojave (and Linux), I also had the same problem as you with Win 10 and the adaptor i.e. blinking black for 5 seconds, then showing the Win 10 login screen for 1 second, before blinking off again. The guy in the PC store said it's a power-delivery problem for some adaptors. Whether that's correct or not, going to a cable fixed it.
Thanks @sos86. Sadly this did not solve the problem for me.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
193
Motherboard
P5WE0
CPU
i5-2450M
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Do you have anyway of testing with DP and forgoing adapters? I am curious to see if you the problem persists with a display containing a DP...port.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,674
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
once I added the graphics card, Mojave keeps booting into a Blackscreen. When using verbose mode the last Message before the screen becomes Black is ‚IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0‘

@whosdat,

As detailed in the Prerequisites section of Lilu + Plugin's guide use of the following APCI fixes can cause issues with WEG.
  • Change/Rename GFX0 to IGPU
  • Change/Rename PEG0 to GFX0
  • Change/Rename HECI to IMEI
Recommend you remove or disable these patches and give Lilu + WhatEverGreen another go, make sure to use the latest versions as there was an issue with Lilu 1.3.0.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,583
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I just replaced my gtx 960 with an xfx rx 580 and had the same black screen problem on my haswell system. Disabling CSM in the bios allowed me to boot mac os properly.
  • Please read OP's post #2.
    • OP's MoBo is MSI-61MA-E35 (B3) and OP states there is no BIOS option to ENABLE/DISABLE CSM

  • Motherboard Manufacturers "customize" BIOS on their motherboards; with the same Chipsets, two different Makes and Models may have different BIOS Menu to configure and hence the challenge for Hackintoshers.
    • This is yet another reason for everyone to provide EXACT makes and models of their MoBo+CPU+Graphics in the Profile if the post is dealing with the system hardware listed there, or in Build Signature for Current Build if the system under discussion is Not the one in the Profile.
 
Top