Contribute
Register

Samsung 970 EVO NVMe + 860 EVO SATA (TRIM NOT WORKING?)

Joined
Dec 25, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77 DS3H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 7850
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello guys and thanks in advance for any help,

I've had this build for a year (Clover, Catalina 10.15.4, Gigabyte z390 Designare, i9 9900k, RX580) but recently was made familiar with the Trim bug on Samsungs.

My 970 Evo NVMe is running my system. It's the latest revision (2B2QEXM7) and is working fine. It shows "TRIM Support: Yes". My 860 Evo (storage) also works fine but shows "TRIM Support: No".

I assume they both have in fact TRIM disabled. My questions are:

- Will TRIM actually work? What do I need to do? I tried "sudo trimforce enable" with no success.
- If not, should I just keep TRIM off and hope for the best? How much is the life of SSDs reduced by not using TRIM on AFPS?

Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • screenshot 2021-07-16 at 20.02.22.jpg
    screenshot 2021-07-16 at 20.02.22.jpg
    108.4 KB · Views: 87
  • screenshot 2021-07-16 at 20.02.06.jpg
    screenshot 2021-07-16 at 20.02.06.jpg
    103.8 KB · Views: 87

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've had this build for a year (Clover, Catalina 10.15.4, Gigabyte z390 Designare, i9 9900k, RX580) but recently was made familiar with the Trim bug on Samsungs.

What Trim bug are you speaking of?



I assume they both have in fact TRIM disabled.

What makes you assume this?



Do you have "ThirdPartyDrives" enabled in your config.plist?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was referring to this: https://github.com/dortania/bugtracker/issues/192

I don't remember my config.plist since it was 1 year ago, but I will check in a moment.

Ah. Thanks for the link. This is new info to me.

On the GitHub page, there are instructions to set the "SetApfsTrimTimeout" to 4294967295 which would slow down boot times but give the SSD as much time as it needs to perform Trimming.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just changed "SetApfsTrimTimeout" on my system with Samsung 970 EVO and HP EX920 NVMe SSDs from -1 to 4294967295 and didn't notice any significant increase in boot time.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77 DS3H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 7850
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for the delay! I used Clover 5.11 for this install, and when I mount EFI and edit my config.plist, I dont see those variables (SetApfsTrimTimeout or ThirdPartyDrives). Is this normal? I can paste my config.plist if it helps.

From what I see in that post they are using OpenCore. Can I just use it "on top" of Clover? I'm not familiar with it

Thank you!
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for the delay! I used Clover 5.11 for this install, and when I mount EFI and edit my config.plist, I dont see those variables (SetApfsTrimTimeout or ThirdPartyDrives). Is this normal? I can paste my config.plist if it helps.

From what I see in that post they are using OpenCore. Can I just use it "on top" of Clover? I'm not familiar with it

Thank you!

You will have to update to a newer version of Clover. The "ThirdPartyDrives" option wasn't added until much later than the version you are using. As far as I know, Clover doesn't have a setting for "SetApfsTrimTimeout".

You can use OpenCore instead of Clover, if you like. Then you can easily set both of those parameters. Search Google for "Dortania OpenCore Guide" for help.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77 DS3H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 7850
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You will have to update to a newer version of Clover. The "ThirdPartyDrives" option wasn't added until much later than the version you are using. As far as I know, Clover doesn't have a setting for "SetApfsTrimTimeout".

You can use OpenCore instead of Clover, if you like. Then you can easily set both of those parameters. Search Google for "Dortania OpenCore Guide" for help.
Yeah, I see it’s a whole new bootloader. I really don’t want to risk boot failure, but I will check that guide.

Also, what’s the best way to check if Trim is working correctly or not (despiste what system info says)?

Thank you!
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
25,965
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah, I see it’s a whole new bootloader. I really don’t want to risk boot failure, but I will check that guide.

Also, what’s the best way to check if Trim is working correctly or not (despiste what system info says)?

Thank you!
you can test opencore by using a usb stick so you don't break your main efi :)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,221
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
what’s the best way to check if Trim is working correctly or not (despiste what system info says)?

I don't know of any other way to check if Trim is actually doing what it's supposed to. I've always just taken the word of System Information as fact.
 
Top