Contribute
Register

RT3573 linksys AE3000 - please help

Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello. Please excuse me if I am missing something obvious. This is my first attempt at installing osx on x86 platform and something is a miss. Trust I have exhausted everything I can think off.

USB Linksys AE3000 card (crappy choice of wifi card but its all i have) on osx 10.8

1. First I tried this method: http://dossy.org/2009/11/using-a-ciscolinksys-wusb600n-on-macos-x-10-6/ I thought it would be as simple as installing these drivers. I realized the linksysAE1000 and linksysAE3000 do not use the same chipset but I gave it a shot anyway. It did not work. Tried the older drivers and the latest just for the sake of trying
  2. But I realized RALINK does support this chipset in the same driver package. See here: http://www.mediatek.com/_en/07_downloads/01_windows.php?sn=502 Chipset 3X7X is listed as a supported device.
  3. I tried modifying my plist file within kext folder to see if I could get it to work.In OSX system profile my USB card has a ProductID of 0x003b and VendorID of 0x13b1. Do I just convert this to an integer and replace as follows:

<key>Linksys - RT3070 - 2</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.Ralink.driver.RT2870USBWirelessDriver</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>RT2870USBWirelessDriver</string>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOUSBDevice</string>
<key>idProduct</key>
<integer>59</integer>
<key>idVendor</key>
<integer>5943</integer>
</dict>

I know I must be close but there is something I am overlooking. Please help.

Motherboard
Mountain Lion
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I am running into the same problem. I am playing with the info.plist file now. I was able to get mediatek driver to work in Windows by changing the .INF file. However, I have never needed to change an OS X driver. Have you made any progress on this problem?

ModBot Jr

Motherboard
Asrock Z97-E ITX/ac
CPU
Core i3-4150
Graphics
GeForce GTX 550 Ti
Mac
MacBook Air