Contribute
Register

roiuser's Haswell Build: HP z230 Workstation - E3-1245v3 - Quadro K600

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
HP z230 Workstation SFF
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 v3, 4x 3.40GHz, Sockel 1150
Graphics
HP Nvidia Quadro K600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
roiuser's HP z230 Workstation Build

z230.png
Components

Intel Xeon 1245v3 3,4 GHz Processor
http://www.amazon.de/dp/B00D69PZWU/?tag=tonymacx8603-21

8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 Memory

Intel I217-XM Ethernet

HP Nvidia Quadro K600

Crucial (HP) M550 512 GB SSD

WD 1 TB SATA HDD

Logitech Bluetooth Easy-Switch Keyboard K811

HP Z24x Display


Comments

Installation

Followed the instructions on:
How To Install OS X Yosemite Using Clover
http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-desktop-guides/144426-how-install-os-x-yosemite-using-clover.html

Create USB installation drive according to the guide

Apply the following Clover settings
UEFI only
- Install for UEFI booting only
- Install Clover in the ESP
- EmuVariableUefi-64 (install)
- OsxAptioFixDrv-64 (install)

UEFI only provides faster boot time, better hardware detection, native Mac OS X Installation process and Auto create Recovery HD, working iCloud and iMessage to name a few. But in general you will achieve an almost perfect Mac Pro clone that will most likely survive all future System updates.

Further changes to the default Clover Installation:

SMBIOS part of config.plist may be as follow
<key>SMBIOS</key>
<dict>
<key>ProductName</key>
<string>MacPro6,1</string>
<key>SerialNumber</key>
<string>InsertHere</string>
</dict>

Copy the follwing to /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.10
- AppleIntelE1000e.kext
- NullCPUPowerManagement.kext
- FakeSMC.kext

OS X Installation
- Boot from USB into Clover and install OS X
- After reboot apply the latest Kext Utility v2.5.8
- Ethernet is working now

Optimization
- VodooHDA installation
- Trim support enabled: https://gist.github.com/return1/4058659

Summary

Following the installation guidelines on tonymac86 is a good starting point. Final configuration tasks are very system specific and need to be done with Clover Configurator. So you are probably asking what works and what doesn't.

What works
Sleep
iMessage
Power management
USB 3.0
Thunderbold
Trim
Audio only with VoodooHDA

Update 10.10.1
- Working with the App Store update

Trim Support
Use Clover Configurator and follow this steps:
go to Kernel and Kext Patches add a new row
in name put IOAHCIBlockStorage
in find hex put 004150504C452053534400
in replace hex put 0000000000000000000000
in comment you can write what you want (a description for example)
in InfoPlistPatch leave it as is (unchecked)
Save and reboot.

Nvidia Support
Installed the new web driver for 10.10.1 and CUDA

What doesn't work:
iMeaage and Facetime
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
11
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I am stuck:crazy:!!! May I know how to getting K600 works? may i know how you did it? Mine hangs freeze after booting up at Apple logo , now i only can boot up using safe mode.

I am using UniBeast and MultiBeast :(
 

sky

Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
55
Motherboard
H370M-D3H
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
1. Why NullCPUPM used? It doesn't allow SpeedStep to work correctly.
2. Do you have correct CPU name in "About this Mac" dialog?
 

sky

Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
55
Motherboard
H370M-D3H
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I am stuck:crazy:!!! May I know how to getting K600 works? may i know how you did it? Mine hangs freeze after booting up at Apple logo , now i only can boot up using safe mode.

I am using UniBeast and MultiBeast :(

Just use nVidia web drivers:

1) boot with nv_disable=1 until web drivers installed.
2) add to config.plist (Clover) or chameleon.boot.plist (Chameleon/Chimera) this boot arg: nvda_drv=1
3) download and install nvidia web drivers
4) reboot
5) enjoy

Btw, i can boot normally on K600 only with DVI cable connected. OS X always recognizes DP connection as secondary monitor. What can i do with this? Probably, NVCAP trick can help?

I need single monitor connected to DP (because DP allows to get 10-bit color).
 
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
HP z230 Workstation SFF
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 v3, 4x 3.40GHz, Sockel 1150
Graphics
HP Nvidia Quadro K600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No, it shows 3,39 GHz Intel Core i7, installed is Xeon 1245v3. Thanks for your help
 
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
HP z230 Workstation SFF
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 v3, 4x 3.40GHz, Sockel 1150
Graphics
HP Nvidia Quadro K600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I will test the connection with the DP soon.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
61
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 CMT
CPU
Intel i3-3770
Graphics
FirePro W7000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
i'm currently building a system based on the same hardware and have only one issue left: sleeping.

When entering sleep, the display goes black but the fans stay on. The entire system won't come back to a useful state anymore.

Does sleep work for you, and if yes, which boot parameters are you using?

Yours,
egrath
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
PC
CPU
intel
Graphics
nvidia
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have the same workstation an HP z230 SFF, I can get to the install screen but I'm having issues getting the SATA drives to show up under Disk Utility. Its like the drivers aren't being loaded. On he clover boot screen all the drives appear just not in the installer screen. I've followed this guide and the Clover guide with no luck. I have also tried UniBeast with no luck (UniBeast doesn't even boot to the installer). I'm sure my issue is somewhere in the kexts and/or config.plist files. Which config.plist file from the guide to I need to use? Any help would be great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top