Contribute
Register

Rocket 88 - i7-6950x & Gigabyte GA-X99-Designare EX - Sierra 10.12.2

Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
38
Motherboard
GA-X99-DESIGNARE EX
CPU
i7-6950x
Graphics
AMD Radeon Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Rocket 88 can you tell me how to fresh install Mac OS Mojave on designer ex?
I went to the Apple Store, did a search on macOS Mojave, clicked on the picture, and clicked Get. This gave me the whole build. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/macos-mojave/id1398502828?mt=12

Another approach is to go to KGP's guide. About 10 million lines down, he tells a back way to pull the code off of the Apple server. See https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/imac-pro-x99-live-the-future-now-with-macos-10-14-mojave-successful-build-extended-guide.255117/

Attached is my 11/4/2018 EFI file with my serial numbers removed. Good luck.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
51
Motherboard
GA-X99-Designare
CPU
i7-6850K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Guys I notice my NVME M.2 Samsung 950pro 500gb is extremely slow. What could be the reason? The stick is installed on NMVE slot on Gigabyte x99 Designare.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
38
Motherboard
GA-X99-DESIGNARE EX
CPU
i7-6950x
Graphics
AMD Radeon Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The speeds look like USB 2.0. Are you sure you selected the correct target?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
51
Motherboard
GA-X99-Designare
CPU
i7-6850K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
The speeds look like USB 2.0. Are you sure you selected the correct target?
Yes, I confirm I have selected my M.2 950pro. I also tried with my 850evo which was giving me 450speed and finally my system back up physical hard drive which gave me 80mbps speed.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2013
Messages
87
Motherboard
GA-X99-Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-6850K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Other
Hi! bnd555 can you provide your Clover Folder for me?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99 Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-6800K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I went to the Apple Store, did a search on macOS Mojave, clicked on the picture, and clicked Get. This gave me the whole build. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/macos-mojave/id1398502828?mt=12

Another approach is to go to KGP's guide. About 10 million lines down, he tells a back way to pull the code off of the Apple server. See https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/imac-pro-x99-live-the-future-now-with-macos-10-14-mojave-successful-build-extended-guide.255117/

Attached is my 11/4/2018 EFI file with my serial numbers removed. Good luck.
Rocket88 I have Sussessfully installed macOS Mojave on my PC with your EFI file. Thanks a lot for this.
But it is only shown 32GB of ram on my pc. But i have 128GB of ram on it. Can you please help me.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
38
Motherboard
GA-X99-DESIGNARE EX
CPU
i7-6950x
Graphics
AMD Radeon Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Rocket88 I have Sussessfully installed macOS Mojave on my PC with your EFI file. Thanks a lot for this.
But it is only shown 32GB of ram on my pc. But i have 128GB of ram on it. Can you please help me.
In your config.plist file, under the SMBIOS section, remove or modify the memory section. I used the memory that my machine had.
upload_2018-11-27_5-35-8.png
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99 Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-6800K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
In your config.plist file, under the SMBIOS section, remove or modify the memory section. I used the memory that my machine had.
View attachment 368319
How many RAM slots you have in your Motherboard?
I have 8 RAM installed on my Motherboard.
16GB X 8 = 128GB total ram i have.

I am seeing you use Slot 0,1,4,5.

Should i add 8 ram?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
38
Motherboard
GA-X99-DESIGNARE EX
CPU
i7-6950x
Graphics
AMD Radeon Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
How many RAM slots you have in your Motherboard?
I have 8 RAM installed on my Motherboard.
16GB X 8 = 128GB total ram i have.

I am seeing you use Slot 0,1,4,5.

Should i add 8 ram?
I have 8 slots. I originally set my computer up as a Mac Pro 5,1. I used Slots 0,1,4,5 to match the Mac Pro configuration. I think putting memory in config.plist is only for show. If you run Activity Monitor, it will probably show that you have 128 GB of Physical Memory. Let me know if I am correct.
 
Top