Contribute
Register

[REPORT] issue with clover 4586 - MacOS 10.13.5

Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA Z87MX-D3H
CPU
Intel i7-4770k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 780 3GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
I ran into the same issue by not changing options in clover install. Normally all is ok but with this version clover seems to change one efi file and does not replace with new one. Like Lundli mentioned, it's the AptioMemoryFix you have to choose. I forgot that and I couldn't boot from any of my USB sticks or anything else. Boot stops at End Randomseed++++.

Here's a solution how to fix it:

1. Press an arrow key when clover comes up so you stop counting down to boot mac os.
2. Choose Clover Shell and hit Enter.
3. Now you should see some FSX: drives (use PgUp/PgDown to view).
4. You can mount a drive with map FSX (where X is the number of the drive you want to mount)
5. Step by step mount the drives. You can go to a drive by typing e.g. FS0:
To change a directory use cd [dir]
List files with ls and use command help to show all commands.
6. One drive should be the EFI drive and one drive with your macos install. Clover does a backup before install (thanks god :)) in the root folder of your macos partition.
7. So go to the backup folder in CLOVER\drivers64UEFI\ and copy the file OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi to the same directory in your EFI drive with command cp src dst (src=path to OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi; dst=path to destination directory on EFI drive).
8. After that type exit.
9. YOU MUST REBOOT NOW!
10. Now all is fine and be careful at next clover install... like me :banghead:;)

Hope this helps someone...

Update
After that procedure and you install clover 4586 again (with AptioMemoryFix-64 enabled!) or next update check out your EFI drive. When you see AptioMemoryFix-64.efi just delete the old OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi
You should do that before reboot!
Just to say THANK YOU for this !!!
Cheers.
JG
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA Z87MX-D3H
CPU
Intel i7-4770k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 780 3GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am tremendously greatful for this, this looks like the most help I've been able to find all day, but I got lost at Step 6. I'm sure the drive I have to mount is FS7, and I followed the "map FS7" instructions, but how do I actually access the backup folder, "CLOVER\drivers64UEFI\"?

Would like to share a screenshot, but can't remember how to upload it to this post.
The backup it's on the MacOS 'normal' drive, on root as EFI-Backups, then look for the most recent rXXXX in therand enter it

Cheers
JG
 
Joined
May 3, 2017
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 ATX LGA1151
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700k 4.0gHz Quad-Core
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 8gb Superclocked Gaming ACX 3.0 Video Card
Mobile Phone
Android
I ran into the same issue by not changing options in clover install. Normally all is ok but with this version clover seems to change one efi file and does not replace with new one. Like Lundli mentioned, it's the AptioMemoryFix you have to choose. I forgot that and I couldn't boot from any of my USB sticks or anything else. Boot stops at End Randomseed++++.

Here's a solution how to fix it:

1. Press an arrow key when clover comes up so you stop counting down to boot mac os.
2. Choose Clover Shell and hit Enter.
3. Now you should see some FSX: drives (use PgUp/PgDown to view).
4. You can mount a drive with map FSX (where X is the number of the drive you want to mount)
5. Step by step mount the drives. You can go to a drive by typing e.g. FS0:
To change a directory use cd [dir]
List files with ls and use command help to show all commands.
6. One drive should be the EFI drive and one drive with your macos install. Clover does a backup before install (thanks god :)) in the root folder of your macos partition.
7. So go to the backup folder in CLOVER\drivers64UEFI\ and copy the file OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi to the same directory in your EFI drive with command cp src dst (src=path to OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi; dst=path to destination directory on EFI drive).
8. After that type exit.
9. YOU MUST REBOOT NOW!
10. Now all is fine and be careful at next clover install... like me :banghead:;)

Hope this helps someone...

Update
After that procedure and you install clover 4586 again (with AptioMemoryFix-64 enabled!) or next update check out your EFI drive. When you see AptioMemoryFix-64.efi just delete the old OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi
You should do that before reboot!

I GOT IT!!!! @____@ It seems that in the end, all I needed was sleep, so after finally getting some of that, I re-read through your directions and got in flawlessly. THANK YOU SO MUCH. It is SO nice to have a computer again. ..Dang, Clover, you really goofed up this time around.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
418
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 - F11
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Performa
Mobile Phone
iOS
As poster says, Just be aware using fix3 to get back to bootable should be temporary, you don't want to keep using fix3, it's deprecated and replaced by a superior memory fix. Once you get back to bootable state, get the new and improved memory fix. it's called "AptioMemoryFix". You can get it from clover installer or stand alone from https://github.com/acidanthera/AptioFixPkg while at it it's also a good idea to toss out apfs.efa and use https://github.com/acidanthera/ApfsSupportPkg instead (which REQUIRES the newer aptio fix, apfsloader won't work with the old fix3 file). apfs support is also an option in clover installer for new clover.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
CPU
Intel Core I5 8400
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have no idea what i'm doing...wrote FS01: and then Mount and i'm still in the list. i'm scared of creating trouble. if i write unmount it says it'd not recognized
You can't really do something wrong. Don't be scared ;).

First you have to mount the drive then goto it. Not vice versa.

Type these commands at clover shell:

1: map FS0
2: FS0:
3: ls

1) Maps or better mounts the first drive FS0
2) Goto drive FS0:
3) List diretory

At that moment you do nothing risky. Map the drives, goto drives, list folders and get a feeling for the commands. Then read my instructions again and I'm sure you get it. Feel free to ask again :!:

The clover shell is a bit a mix of Windows command line and bash. It's like going to C: ( FS0: ) drive in Windows command line and uses backslashes for directories. The command ls (list directories), cp (copy) and so on is from Linux/MacOs bash shell.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97-HD3
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD Graphics
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I ran into the same issue by not changing options in clover install. Normally all is ok but with this version clover seems to change one efi file and does not replace with new one. Like Lundli mentioned, it's the AptioMemoryFix you have to choose. I forgot that and I couldn't boot from any of my USB sticks or anything else. Boot stops at End Randomseed++++.

Here's a solution how to fix it:

1. Press an arrow key when clover comes up so you stop counting down to boot mac os.
2. Choose Clover Shell and hit Enter.
3. Now you should see some FSX: drives (use PgUp/PgDown to view).
4. You can mount a drive with map FSX (where X is the number of the drive you want to mount)
5. Step by step mount the drives. You can go to a drive by typing e.g. FS0:
To change a directory use cd [dir]
List files with ls and use command help to show all commands.
6. One drive should be the EFI drive and one drive with your macos install. Clover does a backup before install (thanks god :)) in the root folder of your macos partition.
7. So go to the backup folder in CLOVER\drivers64UEFI\ and copy the file OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi to the same directory in your EFI drive with command cp src dst (src=path to OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi; dst=path to destination directory on EFI drive).
8. After that type exit.
9. YOU MUST REBOOT NOW!
10. Now all is fine and be careful at next clover install... like me :banghead:;)

Hope this helps someone...

Update
After that procedure and you install clover 4586 again (with AptioMemoryFix-64 enabled!) or next update check out your EFI drive. When you see AptioMemoryFix-64.efi just delete the old OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi
You should do that before reboot!

Thank you so much guy !!!!!
It works for me :clap:
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
iMac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
I ran into the same issue by not changing options in clover install. Normally all is ok but with this version clover seems to change one efi file and does not replace with new one. Like Lundli mentioned, it's the AptioMemoryFix you have to choose. I forgot that and I couldn't boot from any of my USB sticks or anything else. Boot stops at End Randomseed++++.

Here's a solution how to fix it:

1. Press an arrow key when clover comes up so you stop counting down to boot mac os.
2. Choose Clover Shell and hit Enter.
3. Now you should see some FSX: drives (use PgUp/PgDown to view).
4. You can mount a drive with map FSX (where X is the number of the drive you want to mount)
5. Step by step mount the drives. You can go to a drive by typing e.g. FS0:
To change a directory use cd [dir]
List files with ls and use command help to show all commands.
6. One drive should be the EFI drive and one drive with your macos install. Clover does a backup before install (thanks god :)) in the root folder of your macos partition.
7. So go to the backup folder in CLOVER\drivers64UEFI\ and copy the file OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi to the same directory in your EFI drive with command cp src dst (src=path to OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi; dst=path to destination directory on EFI drive).
8. After that type exit.
9. YOU MUST REBOOT NOW!
10. Now all is fine and be careful at next clover install... like me :banghead:;)

Hope this helps someone...

Update
After that procedure and you install clover 4586 again (with AptioMemoryFix-64 enabled!) or next update check out your EFI drive. When you see AptioMemoryFix-64.efi just delete the old OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi
You should do that before reboot!
Thank you very much for posting this - saved me quite a bit of time. I interrupted the install when it hung up, so I thought I'd have to reinstall the system from scratch when this happened. I followed your instructions, and the install picked back up on its own. I'm back up and running, and have Clover set to use the new AptioMemoryFix-64, along with ApfsDriverLoader-64. Now I don't have to look for a new apfs.efi file with each update, which is really nice.

Thank you again - you saved me a bunch of hours of troubleshooting.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
194
Motherboard
HP Probook 4540s
CPU
i5-3230m
Graphics
HD 4000
Mobile Phone
iOS
I too got caught out by this, but when I start Clover shell, it just freezes, this is when booting from internal HD and USB.
 
Top