Contribute
Register

Replacement video card

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
GTX 760
I have a system that has the single slot Gigabyte 6850 card and I have been wanting to replace it for a while because the fans are going on it. A while back someone here recommended that a drop in replacement would be any GTX 740 card, but they now don't seem to be available anymore.

What is the current, best replacement for a Gigabyte 6850?

Thanks!
 

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,441
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
It is difficult to find new stock of compatible cards now at competitive prices. Worth having a look on eBay and similar auction sites for a used GTX 760. It will work with native Apple support and give your graphics capability a bit of a performance boost. Most compatible cards are likely to be dual slot. Something like a basic no frills GT710 would work but you will take a performance drop against the HD6850 card.

You can find compatible cards using the older buyers guides when looking for compatible used items.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...versions-of-os-x-using-older-chipsets.141225/

For an idea of approx GPU technology/performance use the following thread to assist with your GPU requirements:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-2017-hierarchy-chart-by-toms-hardware.81325/
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
GTX 760
It is difficult to find new stock of compatible cards now at competitive prices. Worth having a look on eBay and similar auction sites for a used GTX 760. It will work with native Apple support and give your graphics capability a bit of a performance boost. Most compatible cards are likely to be dual slot. Something like a basic no frills GT710 would work but you will take a performance drop against the HD6850 card.

You can find compatible cards using the older buyers guides when looking for compatible used items.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...versions-of-os-x-using-older-chipsets.141225/

For an idea of approx GPU technology/performance use the following thread to assist with your GPU requirements:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-2017-hierarchy-chart-by-toms-hardware.81325/



Thanks! I was able to get a 4GB GTX 760 on Ebay for a good price. I was thinking that it would be just a plug and play replacement.

When I plugged in this card, I only get one of the two outputs working (1 screen instead of two), and the one that it shows is stuck to 1024 x 768 instead of the higher resolution I used to have.

The one big difference with this card is that instead of the one 6 pin power connector that I had before, this one has a 6 pin and a 8 pin. I had upgraded my power supply to a new EVGA one so I used the two VGA power plugs and connected one to the 6 pin and the other to the 8 pin (with the 6 pin connector and the extra 2 pin one).

I am pretty sure that I have it all hooked up right, and there should be driver support from what was posted above. So is there something else I have to do or could this board possibly be bad?

Thanks for any suggestions!
 

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,441
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
The GTX 760 should just drop in and be plug and play from Mountain Lion right up to Sierra. You may need to change the graphics injection setting on Clover from the HD6850 settings. Make sure that you have no graphics injection.

There are also some issues with using some system definitions with newer versions of macOS. lots of good information that you can cross reference in the graphics section:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/forums/graphics.13/
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
GTX 760
The GTX 760 should just drop in and be plug and play from Mountain Lion right up to Sierra. You may need to change the graphics injection setting on Clover from the HD6850 settings. Make sure that you have no graphics injection.

There are also some issues with using some system definitions with newer versions of macOS. lots of good information that you can cross reference in the graphics section:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/forums/graphics.13/

Strange...I just checked and there are no graphics injections selected. It also has weird refresh artifacts when updating the screen like when you login. Also it appears that it will work for either DVI output but not both at the same time. This is killing me what it could be...
 

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,441
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Strange...I just checked and there are no graphics injections selected. It also has weird refresh artifacts when updating the screen like when you login. Also it appears that it will work for either DVI output but not both at the same time. This is killing me what it could be...

I think that you have Intel injection running as this is a common issue that prevents two screens from running in macOS:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/read-me-first-graphics-setup-troubleshooting.183617/
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
GTX 760
I think that you have Intel injection running as this is a common issue that prevents two screens from running in macOS:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/read-me-first-graphics-setup-troubleshooting.183617/

I have double checked that I don't have any injections as far as I can tell, but here is my config.plist, maybe I am missing something, or something else is causing the issues. I have tried booting my machine into windows off a different drive and the card works great there, so it has to be something in my configuration...

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>ACPI</key>
<dict>
<key>DSDT</key>
<dict>
<key>Debug</key>
<false/>
<key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
<false/>
<key>Name</key>
<string>DSDT.aml</string>
<key>ReuseFFFF</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>SSDT</key>
<dict>
<key>DropOem</key>
<false/>
<key>Generate</key>
<false/>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>Boot</key>
<dict>
<key>Arguments</key>
<string>dart=0 nv_disable=1</string>
<key>CustomLogo</key>
<false/>
<key>Debug</key>
<true/>
<key>DefaultVolume</key>
<string>ProServer SSD</string>
<key>Legacy</key>
<string>PBR</string>
<key>Secure</key>
<false/>
<key>Timeout</key>
<integer>3</integer>
<key>XMPDetection</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>CPU</key>
<dict>
<key>UseARTFrequency</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
<key>Audio</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<string>1</string>
</dict>
<key>FakeID</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>IMEI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>IntelGFX</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>LAN</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>NVidia</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>SATA</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>WIFI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>XHCI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
</dict>
<key>USB</key>
<dict>
<key>FixOwnership</key>
<false/>
<key>Inject</key>
<false/>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>DisableDrivers</key>
<array>
<string>Nothing</string>
</array>
<key>GUI</key>
<dict>
<key>Hide</key>
<array>
<string>\EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI</string>
<string>Windows</string>
</array>
<key>Language</key>
<string>en:0</string>
<key>Mouse</key>
<dict>
<key>DoubleClick</key>
<integer>500</integer>
<key>Enabled</key>
<true/>
<key>Mirror</key>
<false/>
<key>Speed</key>
<integer>8</integer>
</dict>
<key>Scan</key>
<dict>
<key>Entries</key>
<true/>
<key>Legacy</key>
<string>First</string>
<key>Linux</key>
<false/>
<key>Tool</key>
<true/>
</dict>
<key>ScreenResolution</key>
<string>1920x1080</string>
<key>Theme</key>
<string>tonymacx86</string>
</dict>
<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<false/>
<key>Intel</key>
<false/>
<key>NVidia</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>NvidiaSingle</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
<dict>
<key>AppleRTC</key>
<true/>
<key>AsusAICPUPM</key>
<true/>
<key>Debug</key>
<false/>
<key>KernelCpu</key>
<false/>
<key>KernelHaswellE</key>
<false/>
<key>KernelLapic</key>
<false/>
<key>KernelPm</key>
<true/>
<key>KextsToPatch</key>
<array>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>AppleHDA/Resources/xml&gt;zml</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
eG1sLnps
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleHDA</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
em1sLnps
</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>change 15 port limit to 26 in XHCI kext (100-Series-10.12)</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
g710////EA==
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleUSBXHCIPCI</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
g710////Gw==
</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>10.9-10.12-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC889</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
ixnUEQ==
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleHDA</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
iQjsEA==
</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>External icons patch</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
RXh0ZXJuYWw=
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
SW50ZXJuYWw=
</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>10.12-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC...</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
ihnUEQ==
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleHDA</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
AAAAAA==
</data>
</dict>
</array>
</dict>
<key>RtVariables</key>
<dict>
<key>BooterConfig</key>
<string>0x28</string>
<key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
<string>0x3</string>
</dict>
<key>SMBIOS</key>
<dict>
<key>ProductName</key>
<string>iMac14,2</string>
<key>Trust</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>SystemParameters</key>
<dict>
<key>InjectKexts</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>InjectSystemID</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</dict>
</plist>
 

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,441
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
I have double checked that I don't have any injections as far as I can tell, but here is my config.plist, maybe I am missing something, or something else is causing the issues. I have tried booting my machine into windows off a different drive and the card works great there, so it has to be something in my configuration...

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>ACPI</key>
<dict>
<key>DSDT</key>
<dict>
<key>Debug</key>
<false/>
<key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
<false/>
<key>Name</key>
<string>DSDT.aml</string>
<key>ReuseFFFF</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>SSDT</key>
<dict>
<key>DropOem</key>
<false/>
<key>Generate</key>
<false/>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>Boot</key>
<dict>
<key>Arguments</key>
<string>dart=0 nv_disable=1</string>
<key>CustomLogo</key>
<false/>
<key>Debug</key>
<true/>
<key>DefaultVolume</key>
<string>ProServer SSD</string>
<key>Legacy</key>
<string>PBR</string>
<key>Secure</key>
<false/>
<key>Timeout</key>
<integer>3</integer>
<key>XMPDetection</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>CPU</key>
<dict>
<key>UseARTFrequency</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
<key>Audio</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<string>1</string>
</dict>
<key>FakeID</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>IMEI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>IntelGFX</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>LAN</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>NVidia</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>SATA</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>WIFI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>XHCI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
</dict>
<key>USB</key>
<dict>
<key>FixOwnership</key>
<false/>
<key>Inject</key>
<false/>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>DisableDrivers</key>
<array>
<string>Nothing</string>
</array>
<key>GUI</key>
<dict>
<key>Hide</key>
<array>
<string>\EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI</string>
<string>Windows</string>
</array>
<key>Language</key>
<string>en:0</string>
<key>Mouse</key>
<dict>
<key>DoubleClick</key>
<integer>500</integer>
<key>Enabled</key>
<true/>
<key>Mirror</key>
<false/>
<key>Speed</key>
<integer>8</integer>
</dict>
<key>Scan</key>
<dict>
<key>Entries</key>
<true/>
<key>Legacy</key>
<string>First</string>
<key>Linux</key>
<false/>
<key>Tool</key>
<true/>
</dict>
<key>ScreenResolution</key>
<string>1920x1080</string>
<key>Theme</key>
<string>tonymacx86</string>
</dict>
<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<false/>
<key>Intel</key>
<false/>
<key>NVidia</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>NvidiaSingle</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
<dict>
<key>AppleRTC</key>
<true/>
<key>AsusAICPUPM</key>
<true/>
<key>Debug</key>
<false/>
<key>KernelCpu</key>
<false/>
<key>KernelHaswellE</key>
<false/>
<key>KernelLapic</key>
<false/>
<key>KernelPm</key>
<true/>
<key>KextsToPatch</key>
<array>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>AppleHDA/Resources/xml&gt;zml</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
eG1sLnps
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleHDA</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
em1sLnps
</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>change 15 port limit to 26 in XHCI kext (100-Series-10.12)</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
g710////EA==
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleUSBXHCIPCI</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
g710////Gw==
</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>10.9-10.12-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC889</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
ixnUEQ==
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleHDA</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
iQjsEA==
</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>External icons patch</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
RXh0ZXJuYWw=
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
SW50ZXJuYWw=
</data>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>10.12-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC...</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
ihnUEQ==
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleHDA</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
AAAAAA==
</data>
</dict>
</array>
</dict>
<key>RtVariables</key>
<dict>
<key>BooterConfig</key>
<string>0x28</string>
<key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
<string>0x3</string>
</dict>
<key>SMBIOS</key>
<dict>
<key>ProductName</key>
<string>iMac14,2</string>
<key>Trust</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>SystemParameters</key>
<dict>
<key>InjectKexts</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>InjectSystemID</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

I have had a quick look at this and highlighted two things for you to change. nv_disable=1 disables the native nvidia drivers. Disabling the drivers will prevent them from loading which will probably give you something like 1024x768 resolution but at basic vesa level only. This is your graphics problem.

I have also highlighted an older ASUS ONLY instuction that is not suitable for your GIgabyte board. Change this to false

Your Z86 build is also probably better to have iMac 13,2 as a system definition.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
GTX 760
I have had a quick look at this and highlighted two things for you to change. nv_disable=1 disables the native nvidia drivers. Disabling the drivers will prevent them from loading which will probably give you something like 1024x768 resolution but at basic vesa level only. This is your graphics problem.

I have also highlighted an older ASUS ONLY instuction that is not suitable for your GIgabyte board. Change this to false

Your Z86 build is also probably better to have iMac 13,2 as a system definition.



THAT WAS IT!!!

Thanks so much, it was driving me crazy!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top