Contribute
Register

Rendering h264 does not work

Joined
Mar 23, 2017
Messages
1
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99-DESIGNARE EX
CPU
intel i7 6850K
Hi,
I have a hackintosh High Sierra 12.13.4 x99 based:
Gigabyte Ex Designare
Broadwell 6850k
asus strix RX 480
nvme samsung 256gb 960pro


When I want to render a video on h264, in premiere, da vinci or FCPX, it does not start. (FCPX and DaVinci say error or failed, Premiere crashes and slows down all my hackintosh).
You can help me?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
193
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390M-Pro Gaming WiFi AC
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
UHD 630 - RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook, iMac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Could be a SMBIOS issue, It has happened to me in the past with SMBIOS iMac 18,3 and changing to iMac 19,1 solved the issue. Also, if you have FCPX, try to update video codecs from App Store.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2017
Messages
4
Motherboard
MSI H270
CPU
i5 6500
Graphics
RX480
Late reply but figured it would be helpful after all.

It is indeed a SMBIOS issue for some reason. These settings fixed it for me:

Open your config.plist in clover
Change Product Model to a more recent one - for my 7600K I used iMac19,1
Change Bios Version to IM191.88Z.0058.B00.1705091711
Change Board-ID to Mac-CF21D135A7D34AA6

This literally solved all h264 based issues. I tested it with a 4GB file in both Final Cut and Premiere.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
816
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
Late reply but figured it would be helpful after all.

It is indeed a SMBIOS issue for some reason. These settings fixed it for me:

Open your config.plist in clover
Change Product Model to a more recent one - for my 7600K I used iMac19,1
Change Bios Version to IM191.88Z.0058.B00.1705091711
Change Board-ID to Mac-CF21D135A7D34AA6

This literally solved all h264 based issues. I tested it with a 4GB file in both Final Cut and Premiere.
Which OS version ?
Did you check GPU usage to confirm that the GPU was doing the encode and not the CPU+IGPU ?
Can you pls post your IOREG ?
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte-GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
RX-580
Open your config.plist in clover
Change Product Model to a more recent one - for my 7600K I used iMac19,1
Change Bios Version to IM191.88Z.0058.B00.1705091711
Change Board-ID to Mac-CF21D135A7D34AA6

This literally solved all h264 based issues. I tested it with a 4GB file in both Final Cut and Premiere.

My last Mojave install went super smooth, just minor things to fix, it was too good to be true, I discovered I'm having this issue of not being able to export h264, I tried FCPX, compressor, even Quicktime won't record the screen since its using the same codec.
I've tried Hammaste solution but It didn't work for me (Mojave 10.14), now I got a Black Screen and I don't know how to solve that, but the big problem is still in not being able to export h264, any ideas ?!
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
243
Motherboard
ASRock B360-HDV
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 470
Mobile Phone
iOS
My last Mojave install went super smooth, just minor things to fix, it was too good to be true, I discovered I'm having this issue of not being able to export h264, I tried FCPX, compressor, even Quicktime won't record the screen since its using the same codec.
I've tried Hammaste solution but It didn't work for me (Mojave 10.14), now I got a Black Screen and I don't know how to solve that, but the big problem is still in not being able to export h264, any ideas ?!

see my post #657
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1
Late reply but figured it would be helpful after all.

It is indeed a SMBIOS issue for some reason. These settings fixed it for me:

Open your config.plist in clover
Change Product Model to a more recent one - for my 7600K I used iMac19,1
Change Bios Version to IM191.88Z.0058.B00.1705091711
Change Board-ID to Mac-CF21D135A7D34AA6

This literally solved all h264 based issues. I tested it with a 4GB file in both Final Cut and Premiere.
I'm super new to all this, I just finished installing Mojave and everything runs well but I'm having this problem.

How do I edit the config.plist in clover? Where is it?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
B150M-D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
Mesa DRI Intel 530
Download clover configurator.
Open the app
1. Mount EFI
2. Mount Partition
3. Open Partition
4. Go to EFI/CLOVER, right click on config.plist and open with clover configurator

Now you should be able to update SMBIOS
Don't forget to save the changes.
 
Top