Contribute
Register

[Release] Hackintool v3.x.x

Joined
Sep 30, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700k
Graphics
HD 630
Mobile Phone
iOS
sorry for the noob question. but it drive me crazy. what is the meening of the padlock at the bottom left of the hackintool ? what is used for? i used the tool to patch my Intel HD630 and the USB Ports of my ASUS maximus IX hero but... i dont' know if the padlock is locked has any impact in the results. (my usb ports dont seem to operate as intended)
 

pct

Joined
Nov 8, 2010
Messages
87
Motherboard
Gigabyte H67MA-UD2H-B3
CPU
i3-2105
Graphics
MSI GT710 1Gb
Hi

I am facing 2 issues and was wondering if Hackintool could help on this:
1. Overscan when connecting to my TV
2. Black screen with a GT710 and Mojave

My config : Gigabyte H67MA-UD2H-B3 with a i3-2105 (Sandy Bridge) with HD3000 and a GT710 for Mojave, clover 4920 in legacy mode, SMBIOS 14.1, display for testing is a Dell P2217H with DisplayPort and HDMI and Sony TV via HDMI as the target display.

1. Overscan :
When TV is on the HD3000, I was able to fix the overscan by changing the value of pscn key in /var/db/.com.apple.iokit.graphics from 10000 (default value) to 9834 (similar to the effect of the sliding screen size that was on Mavericks bu then disappeared)
When TV is on the GT710, I have no pscn key but instead oscn with a value of 0. I tried to replace to pscn/9834 but on next boot, the oscn key was back and overscan still there.

Can hackintool help on this ? I found "Fix Monitor Ranges" on the Display tab ? What does this option and how does it works ?

2. Black screen GT710 and Mojave
this GPU is reported as OOB with Mojave but on my setup is does on HS but give me a black screen on Mojave. I installed HS and it worked, I installed Mojave with the HD3000 so I know it is operational. But when I swa to GT710, I have a black screen.
I found reports on issues linked to SMBIOS so i tried various but without sucess. System is up and running but there is simply no display, I do not know what change between HS and Mojave?

Can Hackintool help me on this ?

Thanks for your help
Some updates.

On point 2, I end up reinstalling Mojave and use a minimal config.plist and Mojave is now booting properly with my GT710. Apparently, my initial installation was corrupted.

On point 1, Mojave and GT710 give also overscan with my TV Sony KDL-32V2500 (via HMDI or DVI/HDMI) and I found no solution to fix it even following https://ishan.co/external-monitor-underscan which was working with HS and the HD3000. apparently using the GT710 forces oscn key.

As I still do not know if hackintool could help me on this using the Display Tab, I had to move to VGA between the GT710 and the TV to get the native resolution 1366x768 (no option on the TV to disable the overscan).
 
Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,563
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@headkaze,

The Acidanthera have a new Lilu plugin which just got it's first public release :-


Any chance this be added to Hackintool's kexts version check utility ?

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
1,030
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X v8-BK4K4P
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1070
sorry for the noob question. but it drive me crazy. what is the meening of the padlock at the bottom left of the hackintool ? what is used for? i used the tool to patch my Intel HD630 and the USB Ports of my ASUS maximus IX hero but... i dont' know if the padlock is locked has any impact in the results. (my usb ports dont seem to operate as intended)
Some functions in Hackintool require admin rights but most don't. It will prompt you if it needs them.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
1,030
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X v8-BK4K4P
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1070
There have been many updates to Hackintool lately but one of the main ones is the issue generating USBPorts.kext with correct EH01 and EH02 entries.

Since I no longer have a Hackintosh with these types of USB controllers I could not do any testing myself so it has been an issue in Hackintool for a while now.

@whatnameisit contacted me to offer assistance in giving advice and testing the necessary changes to get this working again. So big thanks to him in helping get this feature finally in working order.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,449
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@headkaze

Hi. Thanks for your awesome app it really helps simplify hackintoshing A LOT!

On Hackintool 3.02, it's not showing me all the available versions of kexts. Is this a problem on my end?

Screen Shot 2020-02-02 at 10.59.12 AM.png
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
15,612
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,449
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Top