Recovery HD partition with El Capitan

Discussion in 'Bootloaders' started by jimmyfoz, Dec 21, 2015.

  1. jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Dec 21, 2015 at 11:48 AM #1
    jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    This is a very quick guide on making the Recovery HD partition usable in El Capitan, bootable via Clover.

    1- " diskutil list "
    * you will get de partition list, note that the Recovery Partition is obviously named " Recovery HD "...
    * check the number of the partition it is in, in this case, 3:, so, you will have disk0s3 as mount device...
    ---

    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *240.1 GB disk0
    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
    2: Apple_HFS El Capitan 239.2 GB disk0s2
    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3

    ---

    2- create a folder in Volumes folder for Recovery HD and mount it there...
    " sudo mkdir /Volumes/Recovery\ HD/ "
    " sudo mount -t hfs /dev/disk0s3 /Volumes/Recovery\ HD/ "

    3- enter the directory and remove the " prelinkedkernel "

    " cd /Volumes/Recovery\ HD/com.apple.recovery.boot/ "
    " sudo rm -rf prelinkedkernel "

    4- now, copy your working prelinkedkernel there...

    " sudo cp /System/Library/PrelinkedKernels/prelinkedkernel /Volumes/Recovery\ HD/com.apple.recovery.boot/ "
    and just in case...
    " sudo touch prelinkedkernel "

    5- reboot and test it... (takes some time to load even in real macs)

    Enjoy!
     
    bilditup1, fewt, zilath and 6 others like this.
  2. tjohnson5

    tjohnson5

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X150M-PRO
    CPU:
    Xeon E3-1230 v5
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 27, 2015 at 10:00 PM #2
    tjohnson5

    tjohnson5

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X150M-PRO
    CPU:
    Xeon E3-1230 v5
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nice tip but on #2 instead of creating the folder and the mounting you can just do this

    sudo diskutill mount /dev/disk0s3

    and it pops up on your desktop and removes itself when ejecting.
     
  3. jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Dec 28, 2015 at 7:31 PM #3
    jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Should work too, I had some issues with it though, specially if you are in safe mode.
     
  4. 3square

    3square

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Jan 19, 2016 at 5:53 AM #4
    3square

    3square

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    is it normal that i can only access the recovery setup via booting clover with ignore cache and ignore kext?
     
  5. carpentryplus25

    carpentryplus25

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,241
    Mobo:
    Asus P5LP-LE
    CPU:
    Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GT 640
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 22, 2016 at 9:50 PM #5
    carpentryplus25

    carpentryplus25

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,241
    Mobo:
    Asus P5LP-LE
    CPU:
    Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GT 640
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nice work but there is a very extensive write up on this already here with a much easier method of deleting and creating a new vanilla recovery that boots in clover
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/bootloaders/143437-guide-make-bootable-recovery-hd-partition-clover.html
     
  6. jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Jan 31, 2016 at 2:09 PM #6
    jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
  7. Brachiator

    Brachiator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE Z97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Quad Core I7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 17, 2016 at 3:39 PM #7
    Brachiator

    Brachiator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE Z97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Quad Core I7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    jimmyfoz,
    I already had the Recovery partition sitting there and doing nothing. I ran the Terminal commands you posted and in no time at all I could hear Steve say "it just works". Guess he wouldn't since it's a Hackintosh!
    :mrgreen:
    Thanks!
    PS. If someone could write a quick and dirty script it would be even faster.
    :thumbup:
     
  8. Contraband

    Contraband

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    May 4, 2016 at 8:13 PM #8
    Contraband

    Contraband

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Thank you so much!
     
  9. EV.forever

    EV.forever

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti K|NGP|N
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 24, 2016 at 8:10 PM #9
    EV.forever

    EV.forever

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti K|NGP|N
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This is an amazing fix and much better than creating an entirely new Recovery HD. This should be in the main guide, I'm glad I have a working Recovery HD now! Just like a real Mac. ;)

    Thanks!
     
  10. Duffloop

    Duffloop Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 1151 Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    i7-6700 4GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI 970GTX 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Centris, Classic, Power Mac
    Sep 25, 2016 at 7:40 PM #10
    Duffloop

    Duffloop Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 1151 Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    i7-6700 4GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI 970GTX 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Centris, Classic, Power Mac
    My lordy - that was easy! Nice one jimmyfoz :)

    Booted into Recovery HD on an Samsung NVMe m.2 drive too :)

    Would a Time Machine restore work OK on a Hackintosh?

    (and what's a 'prelinkedkernel' anyway? - EDIT - ah haa! : In OS X, the boot loader looks for the unified prelinked kernel. This cache contains all kernel extensions that may be needed to boot a Mac with any hardware configuration, with the extensions already linked against the kernel.)
     
    recoveringwindowsuser likes this.
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2016

Share This Page