Recovery HD partition with El Capitan

Discussion in 'Bootloaders' started by jimmyfoz, Dec 21, 2015.

  1. jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Dec 21, 2015 at 11:48 AM #1
    jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    This is a very quick guide on making the Recovery HD partition usable in El Capitan, bootable via Clover.

    1- " diskutil list "
    * you will get de partition list, note that the Recovery Partition is obviously named " Recovery HD "...
    * check the number of the partition it is in, in this case, 3:, so, you will have disk0s3 as mount device...
    ---

    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *240.1 GB disk0
    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
    2: Apple_HFS El Capitan 239.2 GB disk0s2
    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3

    ---

    2- create a folder in Volumes folder for Recovery HD and mount it there...
    " sudo mkdir /Volumes/Recovery\ HD/ "
    " sudo mount -t hfs /dev/disk0s3 /Volumes/Recovery\ HD/ "

    3- enter the directory and remove the " prelinkedkernel "

    " cd /Volumes/Recovery\ HD/com.apple.recovery.boot/ "
    " sudo rm -rf prelinkedkernel "

    4- now, copy your working prelinkedkernel there...

    " sudo cp /System/Library/PrelinkedKernels/prelinkedkernel /Volumes/Recovery\ HD/com.apple.recovery.boot/ "
    and just in case...
    " sudo touch prelinkedkernel "

    5- reboot and test it... (takes some time to load even in real macs)

    Enjoy!
     
    bilditup1, fewt, zilath and 6 others like this.
  2. tjohnson5

    tjohnson5

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X150M-PRO
    CPU:
    Xeon E3-1230 v5
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 27, 2015 at 10:00 PM #2
    tjohnson5

    tjohnson5

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X150M-PRO
    CPU:
    Xeon E3-1230 v5
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nice tip but on #2 instead of creating the folder and the mounting you can just do this

    sudo diskutill mount /dev/disk0s3

    and it pops up on your desktop and removes itself when ejecting.
     
  3. jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Dec 28, 2015 at 7:31 PM #3
    jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Should work too, I had some issues with it though, specially if you are in safe mode.
     
  4. 3square

    3square

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Jan 19, 2016 at 5:53 AM #4
    3square

    3square

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    is it normal that i can only access the recovery setup via booting clover with ignore cache and ignore kext?
     
  5. carpentryplus25

    carpentryplus25

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,365
    Motherboard:
    Asus P5LP-LE
    CPU:
    Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GT 640
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 22, 2016 at 9:50 PM #5
    carpentryplus25

    carpentryplus25

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,365
    Motherboard:
    Asus P5LP-LE
    CPU:
    Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GT 640
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nice work but there is a very extensive write up on this already here with a much easier method of deleting and creating a new vanilla recovery that boots in clover
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/bootloaders/143437-guide-make-bootable-recovery-hd-partition-clover.html
     
  6. jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Jan 31, 2016 at 2:09 PM #6
    jimmyfoz

    jimmyfoz

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
  7. Brachiator

    Brachiator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE Z97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Quad Core I7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 17, 2016 at 3:39 PM #7
    Brachiator

    Brachiator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE Z97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Quad Core I7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    jimmyfoz,
    I already had the Recovery partition sitting there and doing nothing. I ran the Terminal commands you posted and in no time at all I could hear Steve say "it just works". Guess he wouldn't since it's a Hackintosh!
    :mrgreen:
    Thanks!
    PS. If someone could write a quick and dirty script it would be even faster.
    :thumbup:
     
  8. Contraband

    Contraband

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    May 4, 2016 at 8:13 PM #8
    Contraband

    Contraband

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Thank you so much!
     
  9. EV.forever

    EV.forever

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti K|NGP|N
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 24, 2016 at 8:10 PM #9
    EV.forever

    EV.forever

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti K|NGP|N
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This is an amazing fix and much better than creating an entirely new Recovery HD. This should be in the main guide, I'm glad I have a working Recovery HD now! Just like a real Mac. ;)

    Thanks!
     
  10. Duffloop

    Duffloop

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte 1151 Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    i7-6700k 4GHz
    Graphics:
    Inno3D GTX108ti X2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Centris, Classic, Power Mac
    Sep 25, 2016 at 7:40 PM #10
    Duffloop

    Duffloop

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte 1151 Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    i7-6700k 4GHz
    Graphics:
    Inno3D GTX108ti X2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Centris, Classic, Power Mac
    My lordy - that was easy! Nice one jimmyfoz :)

    Booted into Recovery HD on an Samsung NVMe m.2 drive too :)

    Would a Time Machine restore work OK on a Hackintosh?

    (and what's a 'prelinkedkernel' anyway? - EDIT - ah haa! : In OS X, the boot loader looks for the unified prelinked kernel. This cache contains all kernel extensions that may be needed to boot a Mac with any hardware configuration, with the extensions already linked against the kernel.)
     
    recoveringwindowsuser likes this.
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2016

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice