Contribute
Register

Rebranding the Atheros 928x cards - The guide

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
248
Motherboard
Lenovo T440S / Toshiba X205-SLI6 / Toshiba C850 / Dell T110 / Lenovo T410 / MP3,1 / MBP4,1
CPU
i5 4300U / T9300 / i3 3110M / 8x 2.8Ghz Xeon / i5 560m / 8x 3.2Ghz X5482 / T9300
Graphics
HD4400 / 2x 8600M GT / Intel HD4000 / Intel IronLake / HD5770 / 8800GT & GTX650 / 8600M GT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,490
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
248
Motherboard
Lenovo T440S / Toshiba X205-SLI6 / Toshiba C850 / Dell T110 / Lenovo T410 / MP3,1 / MBP4,1
CPU
i5 4300U / T9300 / i3 3110M / 8x 2.8Ghz Xeon / i5 560m / 8x 3.2Ghz X5482 / T9300
Graphics
HD4400 / 2x 8600M GT / Intel HD4000 / Intel IronLake / HD5770 / 8800GT & GTX650 / 8600M GT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You got past the BIOS whitelist, I assume... Two different computers in your case vs. the one you link?

Yeah I made it past the BIOS whitelist ... that was the reason for re-branding it from Atheros to Intel.

My computer is the Lenovo T440s, the computer used in the link was a Lenovo Flex 2 14". The Flex 2 apparently still has an option to bypass the whitelist with a BIOS mod.

With both being Lenovo I assumed this would have worked for me as it did him as I was able to get around the whitelist with a rebrand, he got around the whitelist with a BIOS mod.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,490
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah I made it past the BIOS whitelist ... that was the reason for re-branding it from Atheros to Intel.

My computer is the Lenovo T440s, the computer used in the link was a Lenovo Flex 2 14". The Flex 2 apparently still has an option to bypass the whitelist with a BIOS mod.

With both being Lenovo I assumed this would have worked for me as it did him as I was able to get around the whitelist with a rebrand, he got around the whitelist with a BIOS mod.

Having them both be Lenovo probably doesn't say much about their similarities/differences.

Does the rebranded card work in Linux?
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
248
Motherboard
Lenovo T440S / Toshiba X205-SLI6 / Toshiba C850 / Dell T110 / Lenovo T410 / MP3,1 / MBP4,1
CPU
i5 4300U / T9300 / i3 3110M / 8x 2.8Ghz Xeon / i5 560m / 8x 3.2Ghz X5482 / T9300
Graphics
HD4400 / 2x 8600M GT / Intel HD4000 / Intel IronLake / HD5770 / 8800GT & GTX650 / 8600M GT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Having them both be Lenovo probably doesn't say much about their similarities/differences.
Does the rebranded card work in Linux?

In Linux via the adapter card the rebranded card works to the same level as it does in OSX....
The card can be turned on but it is unable to find any Access Points.
You can enable ad-hoc mode to make the laptop an access point and even connect to it from another device but the signal is almost 0 and there is no ability to perform a ping between the devices.

I've verified the M.2 slot still works as my NGFF intel card does work in linux still and is able to pickup and function properly as a wifi card.

I just can't understand what could possibly prevent this from working properly.. what / how could the adapter possibly effect the ability for the WiFi card to pick up a signal.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,490
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In Linux via the adapter card the rebranded card works to the same level as it does in OSX....
The card can be turned on but it is unable to find any Access Points.
You can enable ad-hoc mode to make the laptop an access point and even connect to it from another device but the signal is almost 0 and there is no ability to perform a ping between the devices.

I've verified the M.2 slot still works as my NGFF intel card does work in linux still and is able to pickup and function properly as a wifi card.

I just can't understand what could possibly prevent this from working properly.. what / how could the adapter possibly effect the ability for the WiFi card to pick up a signal.

Sounds like a problem with the antenna setup.
 
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
248
Motherboard
Lenovo T440S / Toshiba X205-SLI6 / Toshiba C850 / Dell T110 / Lenovo T410 / MP3,1 / MBP4,1
CPU
i5 4300U / T9300 / i3 3110M / 8x 2.8Ghz Xeon / i5 560m / 8x 3.2Ghz X5482 / T9300
Graphics
HD4400 / 2x 8600M GT / Intel HD4000 / Intel IronLake / HD5770 / 8800GT & GTX650 / 8600M GT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sounds like a problem with the antenna setup.

I've actually been wondering if perhaps the card isn't getting enough power to run properly... as this laptop is all about low power usage I wonder if the NGFF port has lower output.
As I've been able to connect this card while connected to the adapter in the lenovo to the antennas that are built in to my toshiba and still had no signal.

Another idea ... is there a non 1/2 height AR928x card that works with OSX? or a different manufacturer of the card that I might try?

This one is wrapped in black model ATH-AR5BHB92-H FCC ID: PPD-AR5BHB92-H
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JESLUWQ

Or do you have a different card in mind that I should rebrand?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,490
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've actually been wondering if perhaps the card isn't getting enough power to run properly... as this laptop is all about low power usage I wonder if the NGFF port has lower output.
As I've been able to connect this card while connected to the adapter in the lenovo to the antennas that are built in to my toshiba and still had no signal.

Another idea ... is there a non 1/2 height AR928x card that works with OSX? or a different manufacturer of the card that I might try?

This one is wrapped in black model ATH-AR5BHB92-H FCC ID: PPD-AR5BHB92-H
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JESLUWQ

Or do you have a different card in mind that I should rebrand?

There are full height AR9280/AR9380 cards:
AR5BXB92 (ar9280)
AR5BXB112 (ar9380)

I don't know about the power thing... Seems to be more of an issue with that adapter gizmo you're using.

Perhaps you should wait for an NGFF card you can rebrand.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
142
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone

You'll need the following:
- An Atheros 928x based card, running with the stock Atheros driver.
Has anyone tried to rebrand AR5BXB112 (ar9380) using tools in this thread?
I need to change subsystem and subvendor ID from Apple to HP to bypass laptop's whitelist.
So far did not have much success even to read the rom.
Got a little further on Linux, but still cannot write rom back to the card.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,490
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone tried to rebrand AR5BXB112 (ar9380) using tools in this thread?
I need to change subsystem and subvendor ID from Apple to HP to bypass laptop's whitelist.
So far did not have much success even to read the rom.
Got a little further on Linux, but still cannot write rom back to the card.

I don't see why it would not work...

Did you modify iwleeprom correctly?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top