Contribute
Register

Reboot on Bootloader Clover - Kernel Panic..

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi guys,

Having trouble identifying the cause of the issue, when I select boot macOS install from Install macOS High Sierra it loads gets to about halfway and reboots the computer.

BIOS
- VT-d = disabled
- No CFG-Lock in BIOS
- No Secure Boot Mode in BIOS
- No Option to Set OS Mode
- No IO Serial Port option in BIOS
- XHCI Handoff = Enabled
- IOAPIC 24-19 Entries = disabled
Platform Power Management = Disabled
Legacy USB Support = Enabled
Initial Display Output = IGFX


Parts (some from the Customac Pro)

Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming WIFI (using inbuilt Graphics)
Core i7-8700K
Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB DDR4 2400

Corsair RM 650x Watt
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 500GB


debug screenshot is attached. (looks like a kernel panic but can't figure out how to solve this)
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2018-08-02 at 20.19.35.png
    Screen Shot 2018-08-02 at 20.19.35.png
    1.5 MB · Views: 270

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,712
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Use the forum Search tool to find a build guide with similar parts to your own.
Example : https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...7-8700k-rx-580-2x-dell-p2715q-4k-60hz.252989/

so i followed that link and redid everything and redid bios exactly as described, Memory DDR4 is inserted into the correct channels.

with multibeast 10.3

MultiBeast
Quick Start > UEFI Boot Mode
Audio: Leave All Unchecked.Skip installing any audio kexts for now (more on that later)
Disk: Leave All Unchecked.
Misc: Leave the FakeSMC (greyed out) option as the only install
Network: I selected IntelMausiEthernet.kext
USB: I selected 7/8/9 USB Support
Bootloaders >Clover UEFI Boot Mode
Customize: System Definition > iMac14,2

This time the disk doesn't show up on the clover
 

Attachments

  • 20180802_205054.jpg
    20180802_205054.jpg
    757.6 KB · Views: 133

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,712
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
so i followed that link and redid everything and redid bios exactly as described, Memory DDR4 is inserted into the correct channels.

with multibeast 10.3

MultiBeast
Quick Start > UEFI Boot Mode
Audio: Leave All Unchecked.Skip installing any audio kexts for now (more on that later)
Disk: Leave All Unchecked.
Misc: Leave the FakeSMC (greyed out) option as the only install
Network: I selected IntelMausiEthernet.kext
USB: I selected 7/8/9 USB Support
Bootloaders >Clover UEFI Boot Mode
Customize: System Definition > iMac14,2

This time the disk doesn't show up on the clover
Maybe this or something similar :
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/psa-missing-macos-volumes-in-clover.253462/
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,712
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Luck plays no part in the process.

Are you able to boot from your USB installer ?

Yes i can boot to clover...interestingly looking at the installation guide, looks like i need to have the Hard drive formatted prior to install from clover. (this is a new build that I put together)

can you confirm?
 

Attachments

  • 20180802_221354.jpg
    20180802_221354.jpg
    936.4 KB · Views: 130

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,712
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes i can boot to clover...interestingly looking at the installation guide, looks like i need to have the Hard drive formatted prior to install from clover. (this is a new build that I put together)

can you confirm?
If this is an initial install then you boot from your USB installer and when you reach the Utilities screen you format the drive using Disk Utility. You then continue and install the OS onto the newly formatted drive.
An uninitialised disk will not show on the Clover boot screen.

See https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ierra-on-any-supported-intel-based-pc.235474/
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
If this is an initial install then you boot from your USB installer and when you reach the Utilities screen you format the drive using Disk Utility. You then continue and install the OS onto the newly formatted drive.
An uninitialised disk will not show on the Clover boot screen.

See https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ierra-on-any-supported-intel-based-pc.235474/

ok so i definitely don't get to the utilities screen yet... keeps crashing at kernel... i still think the real kernel error is above first line "Kernel Version" is there a way to be able to scroll up or look at it line by line?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2018-08-02 at 20.19.35.png
    Screen Shot 2018-08-02 at 20.19.35.png
    1.5 MB · Views: 165

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,712
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok so i definitely don't get to the utilities screen yet... keeps crashing at kernel... i still think the real kernel error is above first line "Kernel Version" is there a way to be able to scroll up or look at it line by line?
People usually take a video and extract the relevant frames.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top