Contribute
Register

Reboot loop after finding kernel

Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Reboot loop after finding kernel. Nooooooo

I've got the CustoMac 2011. I just updated from Lion to Mountain Lion. Booted up fine. Then I ran MultiBeast with the settings in the attached screenshot.

I restart, and I can't get any boot. This is what I get without any flags:

Loading Darwin 10.8
Loading kernel cache /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache] 4096 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache] 11792919 bytes.

And then it restarts. Tried -v -x -F -f UseKernelCache=No, nothing works.

If I do UseKernelCache=No, I get this:

Loading Darwin 10.8
Loading kernel mach_kernel
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/mach_kernel] 4896 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/mach_kernel] 8188064 bytes.


Tried rBoot, it wouldn't go into the bootloader. I get Start from CD.... and then a restart.
Tried booting off of my Unibeast USB stick from Chameleon, I get the same loading kernel reboot loop.

Any ideas?
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you solve this problem?

I am having a similar issue at the moment.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
gigabyte z77
CPU
i5
Graphics
intel 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Add me to the list. Have tried all the OP mentioned but can't get out of this loop. Really need help on this one.
Regards
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
84
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77 DS3H-f9
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
9800 GT
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've got the CustoMac 2011. I just updated from Lion to Mountain Lion. Booted up fine. Then I ran MultiBeast with the settings in the attached screenshot.

I restart, and I can't get any boot. This is what I get without any flags:

Loading Darwin 10.8
Loading kernel cache /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache] 4096 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache] 11792919 bytes.

And then it restarts. Tried -v -x -F -f UseKernelCache=No, nothing works.

If I do UseKernelCache=No, I get this:

Loading Darwin 10.8
Loading kernel mach_kernel
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/mach_kernel] 4896 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/mach_kernel] 8188064 bytes.


Tried rBoot, it wouldn't go into the bootloader. I get Start from CD.... and then a restart.
Tried booting off of my Unibeast USB stick from Chameleon, I get the same loading kernel reboot loop.

Any ideas?
Hi, have you tried the PCIRootfix in multibeast?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
gigabyte z77
CPU
i5
Graphics
intel 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Just tried it as a boot flag with it set PCIRootUID=1 and =0. Neither worked. Also tried a new unibeast osx on a usb stick but nothing changed. How can I use multibeast when I can't boot to any operating system?
Regards
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
84
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77 DS3H-f9
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
9800 GT
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
How can I use multibeast when I can't boot to any operating system?
Regards
Sorry, my reply was a little stupid, of course you cant get to multibeast:oops:

However using that flag does the same thing, sorry it didn't work, I'll keep thinking :beachball:

edit: what boot priority have you set in bios?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
gigabyte z77
CPU
i5
Graphics
intel 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have set Usb unibeast as priority boot, but no matter what boot drive I pick from there I can't get past the startup Kernal cache. This all started when I unwittingly yanked the aforementioned usb out without much thought. I have re-installed F16 bios and followed the setup guide here
http://www.tonymacx86.com/99-quick-guide-configuring-uefi-gigabyte-s-7-series-lga-1155-boards.html
I have noticed all my startup drives have the UEFI prefix in bios (including the unibeast); could this be anything to do with it?

regards

Pat
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
gigabyte z77
CPU
i5
Graphics
intel 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Tried this fix for the uefi problem no progress, but I will keep 'hackin'

http://www.tonymacx86.com/mountain-...3602-uefi-but-no-p0-boot-option-z77-ds3h.html

Wait! Disconnected all drives except unibeast installer and dare I say it --- progress

Re-attached main drive, and although i still appears as uefi in bios I can boot from it through unibeast.
Now that i have a working machine again I will leave the usb attached until i find a longer term solution.

Just to reiterate the above link/solution worked

Regards
 
Top